Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus
Reload this Page >

United IOS App data / cache file size????

United IOS App data / cache file size????

Old Aug 25, 20, 7:51 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Programs: United
Posts: 129
United IOS App data / cache file size????

I was cleaning out my phone and noticed that the United app takes up 1.8gigs!
....the app is 300meg
... and I have 1.5 gig in text and data?

why so much?
insights?

-michael
mfirst is offline  
Old Aug 25, 20, 7:55 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: YVR
Programs: UA 1K
Posts: 497
I have 229.7MB app size and 221MB documents & data.
Over time your documents and data will add up, which unfortunately cannot be deleted unless you delete the app as well.

So, to free that space up, you're going to have to delete the app and re-install it.
kevflyer is offline  
Old Aug 25, 20, 8:33 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: Morris County, NJ
Programs: UA 1K/*G, Avis Pres, Marriott Plat
Posts: 1,740
Good question. The app size is fine, but 2GB in documents seems excessive, yeah?

dmurphynj is offline  
Old Aug 25, 20, 9:10 pm
  #4  
Moderator: United Airlines; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SFO
Programs: UA Plat 1.85MM, Hyatt Discoverist, Marriott Plat/LT Gold, Hilton Silver, IHG Gold
Posts: 51,793
My Andriod App is 200 MB executable and 90+MB data.

Do you ever delete temp files?
ajGoes likes this.
WineCountryUA is offline  
Old Aug 25, 20, 9:13 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NYC, FLL
Programs: UA 1K MM, Marriott Bonvoy LTE, BA Bronze
Posts: 4,762
Historical searches? Past trip records?

My App is 229 MB
Documents & Data only 130 MB.
iOS.
seanp7 is offline  
Old Aug 25, 20, 9:56 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Bellingham/Gainesville
Programs: UA-G MM, Priority Club Platinum, Avis First, Hertz 5*, Red Lion
Posts: 1,884
Originally Posted by mfirst View Post
I was cleaning out my phone and noticed that the United app takes up 1.8gigs!
....the app is 300meg
... and I have 1.5 gig in text and data?

why so much?
insights?

-michael
Probably larglyy a cache of the ife streamed by the app. If it wasn't coded to be scrubbed then it has to be cached somewhere on your device.
DJ_Iceman and MatthewLAX like this.
prestonh is offline  
Old Aug 26, 20, 5:53 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: NoVA
Programs: UA Global Services 2.92+ MM, Hyatt Globalist
Posts: 2,882
Hi,

My app is 230.5 MB but my Documents & Data are 2.6 GB. I save all of my boarding passes in the Apple Wallet app; I wonder if that keeps them in the app cache as well.
meducate is offline  
Old Aug 26, 20, 9:05 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Floating around
Programs: UA 1K (1MM), DL Silver (1MM), Marriott Amb (LT Titanium)
Posts: 8,501
The app stores every image, every piece of data you ever used I believe. At one point I also had over 2GB of data on my iOS app. So I deleted it, re-installed it and viola...cleared up a ton of space. The UA app is an awful iOS "citizen" and should be clearing its cache of useless images, old data, etc.

I probably last did this a couple of months ago, I'm traveling way less than normal (figure about 50%) and I'm back up to 1.35GB of documents & data already.

-RM
RobOnLI is offline  
Old Aug 26, 20, 11:36 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: WAS
Programs: UA 1K, AA EP, WN A-List Pref & CP, Hyatt Glob, Marriott (LT) Plat, Hertz PC
Posts: 1,005
Whoa I have almost 9GB!
Duke777 is offline  
Old Aug 26, 20, 2:23 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Programs: United Global Services, Amtrak Select Executive
Posts: 3,212
On Android you can easily delete cached data for any app. I take it from this discussion that iOS doesn't let you do this? I wonder if it will automatically delete cached app data if the device storage gets close to full?
ajGoes and st3 like this.
physioprof is offline  
Old Aug 26, 20, 2:38 pm
  #11  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: BOS/EAP
Programs: UA 1K, MR LTT, HH Gold, Amex Plat
Posts: 25,628
... checking right now. Thanks for altering me! Probably a lot of space I can free up on my iPad.
cfischer is offline  
Old Aug 26, 20, 2:57 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: YVR
Programs: UA 1K
Posts: 497
Originally Posted by physioprof View Post
On Android you can easily delete cached data for any app. I take it from this discussion that iOS doesn't let you do this? I wonder if it will automatically delete cached app data if the device storage gets close to full?
iOS doesn't automatically delete. You need to delete the app to clear cache then reinstall. In fact, iOS lets you delete app but keep cache, it will not let you delete cache only.
kevflyer is offline  
Old Aug 26, 20, 5:40 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Houston, TX, USA
Programs: SPG Gold, AA Lifetime Platinum, UA Platinum, DL Platinum, HHonors Diamond, Hyatt Platinum
Posts: 7,402
I'm at just under 200MB of cached data. I never use the IFE feature, and along with others that have suggested it, that's my guess as to what's causing some people's data figures to be so high.
ajGoes and SPN Lifer like this.
Steve M is offline  
Old Aug 26, 20, 7:53 pm
  #14  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Programs: United
Posts: 129
any major downside to deleting the app and reinstalling?
mfirst is offline  
Old Aug 27, 20, 11:11 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Floating around
Programs: UA 1K (1MM), DL Silver (1MM), Marriott Amb (LT Titanium)
Posts: 8,501
Originally Posted by Steve M View Post
I'm at just under 200MB of cached data. I never use the IFE feature, and along with others that have suggested it, that's my guess as to what's causing some people's data figures to be so high.
I never use the IFE/PFE feature of the app and I regularly delete my "flight status" list when things get old. However, I still wind up with gigs of data stored on iOS, even after a couple of months as referenced above.

No doubt IFE is not helping the problem. But that doesn't appear to be the main culprit IME.

-RM
RobOnLI is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: