Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus
Reload this Page >

United app no longer shows available first class seats?

United app no longer shows available first class seats?

Old Aug 25, 19, 1:31 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: SBP
Programs: United MileagePlus / Amtrak Guest Rewards
Posts: 5
United app no longer shows available first class seats?

I’m trying to figure out if this is a temporary glitch or the result of stupid behavior by United management. Although I suspect I already know the answer.

I don't fly enough to worry about ever being upgraded from coach to first so I always just book and pay for first. Now, even though I only select “First or Business Class” as my search option, the UAL app (iPhone/iPad) no longer allows me to browse the FC seats without first selecting a flight for booking. I don’t travel for business so getting on a specific flight is not always the criteria for me, sometimes it really is seat availability. Now, in order to see what’s available, I have to create a fake booking and run through the whole thing just to see where I might want to sit.

Is is this some convoluted method by which United hopes to squeeze more revenue from us stones or is it something else?

Last edited by The Mikado; Aug 26, 19 at 8:22 pm Reason: Spelling/grammar
The Mikado is offline  
Old Aug 25, 19, 1:37 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New York
Programs: UA GS, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Gold
Posts: 2,096
I don’t understand. How else would you see a future flight’s available seat without viewing it during the booking process?
villox is offline  
Old Aug 25, 19, 1:49 pm
  #3  
Moderator: United Airlines; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SFO
Programs: UA Gold 1.85MM, Hyatt Discoverist, Marriott Plat/LT Gold, Hilton Silver, IHG Gold
Posts: 47,551
Could you describe what you did in the past that worked the way you desired?
WineCountryUA is offline  
Old Aug 25, 19, 2:21 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: JAX
Programs: UA 1K, Hilton Gold, Marriott Gold
Posts: 4,567
Searching flights by what seats are available. That's an interesting concept.
TomMM is offline  
Old Aug 25, 19, 2:53 pm
  #5  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: GVA (Greater Vancouver Area)
Programs: DREAD Gold; UA 1.021MM; Bonvoy Au-197; PCC Elite+; CWC Au-197; CCC Elite; WoH Dis
Posts: 49,320
Originally Posted by villox View Post
How else would you see a future flight’s available seat without viewing it during the booking process?
On the website, a search provides all the flights with a "view seats" link that you can use before moving forward with the booking process.
ChinaShrek, CREN and Naldo1984 like this.
mahasamatman is offline  
Old Aug 25, 19, 2:58 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New York
Programs: UA GS, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Gold
Posts: 2,096
Originally Posted by mahasamatman View Post
On the website, a search provides all the flights with a "view seats" link that you can use before moving forward with the booking process.
And so does the app, once you select the flight. That’s how it’s always worked. I don’t recall being able to expand the flight into a seat map from the search results directly.
villox is offline  
Old Aug 25, 19, 3:04 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Francisco/Sydney
Programs: UA 1K/MM, TK Elite, DL Gold, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Platinum, IHG Gold, Hertz PC, Avis First
Posts: 6,905
Search, and you'll get a list of flights. Click on one of the flights, and it'll show the details of the flight.

On the left is a link "Seat Map". In practice, you can actually tap anywhere on the flight details section, not just right on the actual "Seat Map" link and it'll show you the seat map.

Or at least, that's what it does for me on Android...
docbert is offline  
Old Aug 25, 19, 3:06 pm
  #8  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: SBP
Programs: United MileagePlus / Amtrak Guest Rewards
Posts: 5
Originally Posted by WineCountryUA View Post
Could you describe what you did in the past that worked the way you desired?
Yes, I opened the United app on my iPad, I then selected “Book”, selected my departure and arrival airports, selected one-way or round-trip, selected my travel date(s), selected Economy/Premium Economy, Business, or First (in my case, First), selected number of adults, and then “Search flights”.

Once the list of first class or “mixed” flights (those with at least one segment with no FC) appears, I then look at the individual flights available. If I select a flight and choose “seat map”, only the coach seats appear and FC is grayed-out. In order to see the available FC seats, I have to select a flight and run through the process as if I had already made the decision to book that flight.

Up until 2 months ago or so, I was able to look at the full FC and coach seat maps while just browsing the flights.
Originally Posted by TomMM View Post
Searching flights by what seats are available. That's an interesting concept.
So glad you find it so.

Last edited by WineCountryUA; Aug 25, 19 at 4:02 pm Reason: merging consecutive posts by same member
The Mikado is offline  
Old Aug 25, 19, 3:08 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Posts: 1,010
Originally Posted by The Mikado View Post

Yes, I opened the United app on my iPad, I then selected “Book”, selected my departure and arrival airports, selected one-way or round-trip, selected my travel date(s), selected Economy/Premium Economy, Business, or First (in my case, First), selected number of adults, and then “Search flights”.

Once the list of first class or “mixed” flights (those with at least one segment with no FC) appears, I then look at the individual flights available. If I select a flight and choose “seat map”, only the coach seats appear and FC is grayed-out. In order to see the available FC seats, I have to select a flight and run through the process as if I had already made the decision to book that flight.

Up until 2 months ago or so, I was able to look at the full FC and coach seat maps while just browsing the flights.
I've seen this, too, though I think this error has been limited to some UAX flights but not all.
JimInOhio is online now  
Old Aug 25, 19, 3:08 pm
  #10  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2019
Location: SBP
Programs: United MileagePlus / Amtrak Guest Rewards
Posts: 5
Originally Posted by mahasamatman View Post
On the website, a search provides all the flights with a "view seats" link that you can use before moving forward with the booking process.
I’m not talking about the website. I’m talking about a process that used to work just fine on the United app which no longer works.
The Mikado is offline  
Old Aug 25, 19, 3:29 pm
  #11  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 10,181
Originally Posted by The Mikado View Post
Up until 2 months ago or so, I was able to look at the full FC and coach seat maps while just browsing the flights.
The process you describe works fine for me. I have definitely had problems with first class being grayed out when changing an existing economy ticket, but if I do a new search for first class, and click on the seat map, I see it.

If you'd like to give a sample search, people can try to replicate it.

This is probably a good time to point out that there is an entire, large thread about UA changing seat assignments without notification or recourse.
jsloan is offline  
Old Aug 25, 19, 3:32 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: SFO
Programs: UA 1K, AA EXP, Hyatt Glob, Marriott Gold, SBUX Gold
Posts: 279
Just did a few random searches on the UA app and it was showing available J/F seats on the Seat Map. Same as it's always worked for me. Didn't matter if the initial search was for Economy or First.

To be fair, I have also noticed similar behavior on the UA website, but in completely different scenarios. Examples that I can think of are when you are searching for award or upgrade space and all J/F seats will be greyed out if there is no award/upgrade space available. But I haven't ever noticed this for normal revenue bookings.
econ is offline  
Old Aug 25, 19, 3:37 pm
  #13  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: SFO
Programs: UA 1K 1MM; AS MVPG75K; Marriott Titanium; Hilton Diamond (Aspire); Hyatt Refugeeist
Posts: 41,354
It's not uncommon to encounter a temporary UA IT glitch and mistakenly conclude there's been a change in policy.
Kacee is online now  
Old Aug 25, 19, 4:32 pm
  #14  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: GVA (Greater Vancouver Area)
Programs: DREAD Gold; UA 1.021MM; Bonvoy Au-197; PCC Elite+; CWC Au-197; CCC Elite; WoH Dis
Posts: 49,320
Originally Posted by The Mikado View Post
I’m not talking about the website. I’m talking about a process that used to work just fine on the United app which no longer works.
I realize that. I was answering someone else's question.

Originally Posted by Kacee View Post
It's not uncommon to encounter a temporary UA IT glitch and mistakenly conclude there's been a change in policy.
Occam's razor.
mahasamatman is offline  
Old Aug 25, 19, 4:36 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: TX
Programs: UA Plat, Marriott G, Hilton G, SPG G
Posts: 453
Originally Posted by The Mikado View Post
I’m trying to figure out if this is a temporary glitch or the result of stupid behavior by United management. Although I suspect I already know the answer.

I dont fly enough to worry about ever being upgraded from coach to first so I always just book and pay for first. Now, even though I only select “First or Business Class” as my search option, the UAL app (iPhone/iPad) no longer allows me to browse the FC seats without first selecting a flight for booking. I don’t travel for business so getting on a specific flight is not always the criteria for me, sometimes it really is seat availability. Now, in order to see what’s available, I have to create a fake booking and run through the whole thing just to see where I might want to sit.

Is is this some convoluted method by which United hopes to squeeze more revenue from us stones or is it something else?
yes I’ve noticed that sometimes the app will
show FC seat map and sometimes it won’t depending on how it is viewed and accessed. This
is different from before.
txaggiemiles is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread