FlyerTalk Forums

FlyerTalk Forums (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/index.php)
-   United Airlines | MileagePlus (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/united-airlines-mileageplus-681/)
-   -   Should I switch to UA from AA? What differences to expect? (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/united-airlines-mileageplus/1982997-should-i-switch-ua-aa-what-differences-expect.html)

rdurlabhji Jan 16, 2017 8:55 am

Should I switch to UA from AA? What differences to expect?

I'm based in Chicago and my travel pattern has been around 30-40k BIS miles every year. I've been using AA for a few years after some (several) bad experiences on UA and because they used to have mileage based FFP, which of course is now gone. Now that it's a new year and I only have a couple segments booked on AA I figure its time for a reassessment. I have UA Silver via Marriott Platinum so jumping ship would be easier since I'd have at least some status.

Anyway, I've done some pros/cons, let me know if I'm off base.

Non-stops out of ORD - UA > AA - they have a bigger operation.

Connecting Points - AA > UA - I'd much rather connect in DFW or PHX than DEN or SFO, EWR/PHL is a wash, and I think CLT is probably better than IAD - internationally I'm not sure but LHR is awful. I wouldn't have much occasion to connect at either MIA or IAH.

FFP - Wash

Partners - UA > AA now that AA has devalued too, UA has more available partners and booking online/finding availability seems to be easier

Operations - Not sure? AA has had a lot more MX lately, but this was where I always had trouble with UA.

Customer Service - Again not sure? It's been a while since I've taken UA, and while I've never had any trouble with AA, it seems like they are going downhill as well.

IT - UA > AA, AA's IT is trash. You can't do 1/3 of what you can do on the UA app on the AA app.

My travel is 1-2 RTs a month domestic and maybe 1-2 TPAC/TATL trips a year.