Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus
Reload this Page >

At what point do you cut your losses when trying to get UA to honor a fare?

At what point do you cut your losses when trying to get UA to honor a fare?

Reply

Old May 15, 19, 6:00 pm
  #1  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Programs: UA Plat 2MM. DL Plat, AS MVP
Posts: 12,210
At what point do you cut your losses when trying to get UA to honor a fare?

Dear UA Sages,

UAL.com had a fare I like. But the page errorred out when I finalized. Happened three times.

I called ual.com, and I got a great agent who honored the fare (as opposed the the fare that was $400 higher). But she booked the wrong departure. I realized it right away and told her. She asked me to hold while she fixed it. But after a while she asked to put me on hold. I explained that I needed to start a meeting. She said she would fix it and that she would send me an email within 10 minutes.

An hour later, no email.

So I called back and the agent pulled up the record with the wrong flight. There were no notes, so I explained the situation. She put me on hold for 10 minutes, then the call dropped.

I called back. Next agent saw a new note that my fare could not be honored. But he tried hard to find another similar fare. But there was nothing. The fare bucket just wasn't there to pull from.

I went back on line and saw the fare still being offered. So I called again. Agent had me on hold for 15 minutes. She then said, "I got it for you!" Then the line cut out again.

I can persist, and I will probably get the fare. But to what end? I value my time, and it could take a couple of hours to push this through.

Is it worth it?
zrs70 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 19, 6:03 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: May 2012
Programs: UA
Posts: 777
My question is why does your line keep cutting out?

I'd try one more time from a landline or just try to SDC.
jsloan, SFO 1K and Icydubloon like this.
thejaredhuang is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 19, 6:08 pm
  #3  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Programs: UA Plat 2MM. DL Plat, AS MVP
Posts: 12,210
Originally Posted by thejaredhuang View Post
My question is why does your line keep cutting out?

I'd try one more time from a landline or just try to SDC.
It was a land line. If it were a cell phone, I would have a better excuse, right?!
zrs70 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 19, 6:20 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: HNL
Programs: UA 1K3MM, MR LT Plat, Hilton Gold
Posts: 1,677
Originally Posted by zrs70 View Post
It was a land line. If it were a cell phone, I would have a better excuse, right?!
Sounds like you need a new land line phone provider first.....
jsloan likes this.
HNLbasedFlyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 19, 6:51 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: COS
Programs: UA Gold (.85 MM), HH Diamond, SPG Platinum (LT Gold), Hertz PC, National EE
Posts: 2,498
Originally Posted by HNLbasedFlyer View Post
Sounds like you need a new land line phone provider first.....
Sounds like my old boss, always on my end in his opinion for dropped calls. Never mind the 4 conference calls per day that are perfect, until I call him. Arenít many agents working from home now with UA? I would imagine they have an IP phone, and Iím betting they donít have fiber into their home as I do.
COSPILOT is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 15, 19, 8:23 pm
  #6  
Moderator: United Airlines; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SFO
Programs: UA Gold 1.8MM, Hyatt Discoverist, Marriott Gold, Hilton Silver, IHG Gold
Posts: 45,526
Ask for Web Support in cases like this and get a better landline provider.
WineCountryUA is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 19, 3:31 pm
  #7  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: BOS/EAP
Programs: UA 1K, MR LTT, HH Gold, Amex Plat
Posts: 23,694
Originally Posted by WineCountryUA View Post
Ask for Web Support in cases like this and get a better landline provider.
yeah, web support is the way to go. Also, sometimes booking it without paying and calling in just for that can be the way to go.
cfischer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 19, 4:51 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Programs: United GS; AA EXP; Marriott Ambassador
Posts: 145
Originally Posted by zrs70 View Post
It was a land line. If it were a cell phone, I would have a better excuse, right?!
Then you need to call from your cell phone... or any phone other than your landline. :-)

Anyway​​​​​​ I would persist and try to finalize the booking as soon as possible.
bdw1120 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old May 16, 19, 5:26 pm
  #9  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Nov 2017
Programs: United Gold, BA Exec Club, Via Rail
Posts: 2,798
Did you try booking through an OTA like Expedia. I know sometimes I have to do that when UA won't show me US market fares when I enter my Canadian billing address.
j2simpso is offline  
Reply With Quote

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Thread Tools
Search this Thread