Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus
Reload this Page >

Is United still processing CPU before T24?

Is United still processing CPU before T24?

Old Mar 5, 19, 1:52 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: NY
Programs: UA Plat, Marriott Titanium, IHG Gold, National Exec Elite
Posts: 96
Is United still processing CPU before T24?

So I am flying RDU-EWR tomorrow night and they have not upgraded anyone. I have noticed that most of my CPUs have been inside T24. Has United said anything about changing their policies?

AW
AugustW is offline  
Old Mar 5, 19, 2:01 pm
  #2  
Hilton Contributor BadgeMarriott Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: TOA
Programs: HH Diamond, Marriott LTPP/Platinum Premier, Hyatt Lame-ist, UA !K
Posts: 7,085
No. No change in policies. I was upgraded for a short segment (EWR-IAD) on Friday evening at T-96 as a 1K with the flight occurring in a few hours from now. UA processes some CPUs before T-24 if it thinks it will not sell out a domestic F cabin and will then hopefully push demand (and prices) by others when they see the cabin is filling up.

David
Kannai and perkele like this.
DELee is offline  
Old Mar 5, 19, 2:07 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: New Jersey
Programs: UA MM 1K, AA MM Gold, Marriott Titanium (LT Plat), Hilton Gold
Posts: 2,753
I've been on several E70 and E75 flights that were wide open in FC but no upgrades until T-24. I usually check in at T-24 on the dot and often don't get upgraded. Then I check back an hour later and I am upgraded. So in those cases, the upgrade occurred just inside the T-24 window.
Kannai likes this.
tarheelnj is offline  
Old Mar 5, 19, 2:26 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Anywhere but home
Programs: UA 1K/MM, AA PP, DL SM/MM, HH Dia, All Plat, PC Plat, MR Gold
Posts: 4,323
Last week I was on a 738 with 10 open seats (J9 C9 D9 P9) and my CPU cleared just inside of T-24. Seems like UA is increasingly delaying CPUs. In fact, I don't remember the last time I CPUed earlier than T-24.
FlytheTail is online now  
Old Mar 5, 19, 2:37 pm
  #5  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 10,966
I got upgrade OGG-LAX 2 weeks ago on award ticket at T-96, but LAX-LAS night before. My chances of upgrade on both were (IMHO) same, so UA’s decision on CPU timing seems arbitrary sometimes.

One would think they’d run OGG-LAX process at last minute since they’d have good chance of selling ToDs on a 5-hour redeye. There’s a chance they did ( to detriment of lower status flyers), but I didn’t watch once I got mine.
IAH-OIL-TRASH is offline  
Old Mar 5, 19, 2:43 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Programs: Northwest WorldPerks, Amtrak Guest Rewards
Posts: 738
As a plat, I’ve had three CPUs in the past month clear 2-3 days ahead of time. Didn’t pay close enough attention to note whether it was T-72 exactly or whatnot, but it was early enough.
rmadisonwi is offline  
Old Mar 5, 19, 3:13 pm
  #7  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: MSP
Programs: DL PM, UA Gold, WN, Global Entry; +others wherever miles/points are found
Posts: 11,348
Many more reports of things like this in recent months, but it's not a blanket policy. I have received T-96 upgrades also.
findark is offline  
Old Mar 5, 19, 4:03 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: BOS<>NYC<>BKK
Programs: UA 4.1MM LT-GS; AA1MM; Amtrak S+; MAR LT TITAN; PC Plat; HIL DIA; HYA GLOB
Posts: 4,004
And I've had a few (but rare) T-120 as a GS.
wxguy is offline  
Old Mar 5, 19, 4:07 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Takoma Park, MD
Programs: Marriott Plat, UA Premier Platinum
Posts: 487
In the scenario you show, I, as a Premier Platinum member would expect to be upgraded at T-72. However what happens most of the time would be that I would be #1 on the upgrade list and then magically either 12 people get upgraded without making it to the upgrade list or I would suddenly drop to #1 3 on the list 5 hours before the flight and not get upgraded.
DLrunner is offline  
Old Mar 5, 19, 4:19 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: CHS
Programs: UA GS, Bonvoy Amabassador, Hertz PC
Posts: 2,259
I routinely get them 3-4 days out

Hipplewm is offline  
Old Mar 5, 19, 4:21 pm
  #11  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 14,708
Originally Posted by DLrunner View Post
In the scenario you show, I, as a Premier Platinum member would expect to be upgraded at T-72. However what happens most of the time would be that I would be #1 on the upgrade list and then magically either 12 people get upgraded without making it to the upgrade list or I would suddenly drop to #1 3 on the list 5 hours before the flight and not get upgraded.
None of this is "magic" -- it just means that the GS and/or 1K passengers on your flight didn't get upgraded at the opening of their windows either.
drewguy and Kannai like this.
jsloan is offline  
Old Mar 5, 19, 4:27 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: LAX
Programs: UA:1k; MR: PLT; Hilton: Gold
Posts: 1,324
It's nearly impossible to know whether UA is processing CPUs before T-24. Obviously you can know whether YOU were upgraded, but they know longer show people with a green check before T-24 (somebody can correct me, It may even be if they're upgraded before gate control). This is the rare case when obviously we can all know that nobody got upgraded because F is booked 0.
jsloan likes this.
jmanirish is offline  
Old Mar 5, 19, 4:33 pm
  #13  
Hilton Contributor BadgeMarriott Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: TOA
Programs: HH Diamond, Marriott LTPP/Platinum Premier, Hyatt Lame-ist, UA !K
Posts: 7,085
Originally Posted by jmanirish View Post
It's nearly impossible to know whether UA is processing CPUs before T-24. Obviously you can know whether YOU were upgraded, but they know longer show people with a green check before T-24 (somebody can correct me, It may even be if they're upgraded before gate control). This is the rare case when obviously we can all know that nobody got upgraded because F is booked 0.
Confirm no green check mark for my T-96 upgrade on UA1139. I don't even show up on the Upgrade list let alone that I was upgraded.

David
DELee is offline  
Old Mar 5, 19, 4:52 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 110
CPU for my Newark-Chicago flight at T-96 this week
BeeeJay is offline  
Old Mar 5, 19, 5:17 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: Sunnyvale, Ca
Programs: UA GS and 1.5MM, Marriott Lifetime Platinum Primier E;ite
Posts: 12
I received my CPU for my Friday flight SFO to SAN 2 days ago. i also received CPU today on my return flight to SAN to SFO. (flight scheduled for this Sunday)
gtsukimu is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: