Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus
Reload this Page >

UA search no longer taking NYC for airport name?

UA search no longer taking NYC for airport name?

Old Mar 3, 19, 8:48 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NY
Posts: 570
UA search no longer taking NYC for airport name?

Lately, I've noticed that all my UA searches default to EWR when I input NYC.
It used to accept NYC as airport name and search all others, like JFK, EWR, and LGA. Now it omits all but EWR and the others need to be searched separately.
Extremely annoying as that makes it very difficult to search quickly.
Aeroplan and Avianca do the same. ANA allows NYC but doesn't allow one-way searches.
Any ideas what an alternate search engine might be?

Last edited by stevento; Mar 3, 19 at 12:12 pm
stevento is offline  
Old Mar 3, 19, 9:24 am
  #2  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: SFO
Programs: AA EXP; AS 75K; UA 1K 1MM; Marriott Ambassador; Hilton Diamond (Aspire); Hyatt Explorist
Posts: 43,586
It won't take TYO. TYO converts to NRT. As if there were no HND.
Kacee is online now  
Old Mar 3, 19, 10:00 am
  #3  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: MSP
Programs: DL PM, UA Gold, WN, Global Entry; +others wherever miles/points are found
Posts: 11,112
Same for WAS and IAD. Incredibly annoying, as I absolutely want to see the DCA flight mixed in with the IAD ones.
findark is offline  
Old Mar 3, 19, 12:14 pm
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NY
Posts: 570
For NYC, inputting JFK results in a NYC search, actually. NYC results in EWR.
I noticed TYO too, defaults to NRT.
billygoat27 likes this.
stevento is offline  
Old Mar 3, 19, 12:45 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: LAX
Programs: UA 1K
Posts: 2,222
As of a few days ago searching WAS on the app returned me results for DCA and IAD but not BWI.
dkc192 is offline  
Old Mar 3, 19, 1:31 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: New York, London, Sydney
Programs: United GS/2MM, DL*P, VS*G, AA*EXP, Avis CHM, Hertz Platinum, Sixt*D, HH*D, HGP*P, Starwood*P
Posts: 9,768
I don't understand why they need to "fix" things that weren't broken.
stevenshev is offline  
Old Mar 3, 19, 1:58 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Programs: AC E50K, AS MVPG, Hertz PC, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Platinum, Delta/United Gold
Posts: 2,821
Why is this an issue?

Try Google flights if you need to search all there nearby airports in the NYC area.
nancypants likes this.
Repooc17 is offline  
Old Mar 3, 19, 2:36 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Programs: Northwest WorldPerks, Amtrak Guest Rewards
Posts: 711
Originally Posted by Repooc17 View Post
Why is this an issue?

Try Google flights if you need to search all there nearby airports in the NYC area.
I donít know. Maybe because someone wants to fly UA or UA-partnered flights, and Google Flights has its own limitations?
cruisr likes this.
rmadisonwi is offline  
Old Mar 3, 19, 2:43 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Programs: AC E50K, AS MVPG, Hertz PC, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Platinum, Delta/United Gold
Posts: 2,821
Originally Posted by rmadisonwi View Post


I don’t know. Maybe because someone wants to fly UA or UA-partnered flights, and Google Flights has its own limitations?
You can get to the same place faster, and sometime cheaper. Also, certain route combinations UA won't display from its site search, but I can force them from GF.
Repooc17 is offline  
Old Mar 3, 19, 3:03 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Northern California
Programs: I want to be free! Free!
Posts: 3,023
Originally Posted by stevento View Post
For NYC, inputting JFK results in a NYC search, actually.
stumbled across this today too. amazing how so many huge companies manage to do things that causes the usability of their site to degrade.
FlyingNone, kale73 and MrGood like this.
aCavalierInCoach is offline  
Old Mar 3, 19, 3:09 pm
  #11  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: SFO
Programs: AA EXP; AS 75K; UA 1K 1MM; Marriott Ambassador; Hilton Diamond (Aspire); Hyatt Explorist
Posts: 43,586
Originally Posted by Repooc17 View Post
Why is this an issue?

Try Google flights if you need to search all there nearby airports in the NYC area.
Just because it doesn't impact your limited searches or knowledge doesn't mean it's not an issue for others.

Some of us search for award flights, for example, which you cannot do using google flights.
Steve M, joelfreak, cruisr and 2 others like this.
Kacee is online now  
Old Mar 3, 19, 3:16 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Programs: DL DM
Posts: 665
Originally Posted by Kacee View Post
Just because it doesn't impact your limited searches or knowledge doesn't mean it's not an issue for others.

Some of us search for award flights, for example, which you cannot do using google flights.
I like google flights for some uses. Another example when I go to the airline sites might be when Iím also interested in seeing seat map availability, though.
cre95 is offline  
Old Mar 3, 19, 3:35 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: LAX
Programs: UA 1K
Posts: 2,222
Originally Posted by Repooc17 View Post
Why is this an issue?

Try Google flights if you need to search all there nearby airports in the NYC area.
Originally Posted by Kacee View Post
Just because it doesn't impact your limited searches or knowledge doesn't mean it's not an issue for others.

Some of us search for award flights, for example, which you cannot do using google flights.
Also, expert mode on UA.com is the only way to view upgrade and enhanced award (XN, IN, etc.) classes.
cruisr, goodeats21 and Kacee like this.
dkc192 is offline  
Old Mar 3, 19, 4:10 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Our Nation's Capital
Programs: UA 1K, Marriott BonVoy LT Titanium Elite, National Executive Elite
Posts: 831
Originally Posted by dkc192 View Post
As of a few days ago searching WAS on the app returned me results for DCA and IAD but not BWI.
WAS displays IAD results only now.

Incredibly frustrating for those of us in NoVa that use both airports.
Sulley is offline  
Old Mar 3, 19, 4:59 pm
  #15  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: NY
Posts: 570
Originally Posted by Repooc17 View Post
Why is this an issue?

Try Google flights if you need to search all there nearby airports in the NYC area.
And how does one use Google flights to search for awards?
stevento is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: