Lufthansa GPUs Go Electronic {Archive}

    Hide Wikipost
Old Feb 11, 19, 5:21 pm   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: WineCountryUA
Wiki Link
This is the archive thread, the active thread is Lufthansa GPUs Go Electronic (How to use, will it clear?, issues w/flight credit,...)

For general information on upgrading ANA or Lufthansa flights with a GPU, see Upgrading Flights Operated by ANA or Lufthansa. You actually request the upgrade through the online form, here: Request a GPU for a Select Partner Airline.

Per United web support, you only need to fill in the required* info.

**The LH flight you are upgrading must be an LH flight, not a UA codeshare flight. If you have a UA codeshare flight, you can call websupport and they will (put you on hold and] change your itinerary to one with an LH flight#.

Note that UA websupport might give you a new ticket # when you do the above, but if the original ticket # was 016 UA stock, it will remain so, and thus you will still be earning RDMs at the UA rate (11x for a 1K), not the *A rate. In case of a $6000 biz fare for LAX-FRA that you are trying to upgrade to F for example, as a 1K you would earn 66,000 UA RDM if booked as a UA flight. And even though after booking you get them to change the UA flight # from a UA codeshare flight to an LH flight, the 016 ticket stock sticks, and you earn 66,000 RDMs.

(FYI, had the ticket stock been an LH stock, the RDM's earned would be 5790 miles x 150% = 8685 RDMs. Big difference)

Note that sometimes the online upgrading does not work, and you may get an error message to call an 877 number, which is now defunct but still resides on .bomb...Ignore it and just call web support. They might put you on hold while they call LH but they will get the job done.

Eligible Economy Fares to Apply a GPU

Upgradeable to business fares include U/H/Q the lowest eligible economy fares. G&E the two top premium economy fares and Y/B/M the most expensive economy fares. (http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/24219165-post205.html)
While UA has not changed their T&Cs, LH appears to have expanded the potential fare classes
Originally Posted by oliver2002 View Post
For C->F upgrade, J, D, C fares are eligible, Z and P fares are not.
Originally Posted by andywaw View Post
Effective April 20th, 2018, all Lufthansa revenue Business Class fares, including P and Z, are eligible to be upgraded to First Class using miles or eVouchers. ...
LH booking class P, Z upgreadable for miles and eVouchers
Appears this also applies to use of UA GPUs IF booked as native flight number on LH or UA ticket stock.
Presently UA is not converting codeshare to native flight numbers, as required for this process, if P or Z fare
From April to September 2018 it was possible to confirm and waitlist P ,Z-class LH flights with a GPU. Confirming and waitlisting is no now longer possible, but previously waitlisted segments will continue to clear as/if available.

Checking for Upgrade Availability

Upgrades to E, C and F come from the N, I and O fare bucket, but its a subset, which theoretically is not the same as the award subset. If awards are available it is a strong indication the upgrade is available too. (http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/24861289-post342.html)

In case of upgrade clearing but eticket refresh problems:

Originally Posted by oliver2002
Both longhaul LH segments cleared into I after being on waitlist . The first didnt get stickered, so the DCS ( amadeus altea ) rejected online and agent checkin . The eticket helpdesk had to manually update the first coupon for the DCS to accept the coupon. My seat in C was safe, since the PNR was updated correctly, just the ticket was not updated completely to the satisfaction of the DCS. Everyone looking at the booking agreed the upgrade was legit, so you will not be denied boarding or downgraded, just budget enough time
Originally Posted by oliver2002
The LH GA must have called the eticket helpdesk and pointed out the * SSR remark in your reservation that shows an upgrade was applied and the e-ticket just needed a fix/sticker. See my experience above.
Checking for availability prior to calling
Originally Posted by oliver2002 View Post
Upgrades to E, C and F come from the N, I and O fare bucket, but its a subset, which theoretically is not the same as the award subset. If awards are available it is a strong indication the upgrade is available too.
Use ANA or even united.com to see availability.

To check if C/F upgrades may open up, ask in this thread: Determining LH Y/C/F loads? [the help me guesstimate loads thread]

Regarding ticket stock, Oliver reports:
Originally Posted by oliver2002 View Post
Any ticket stock will do.
Each LH flight segment requires a separate GPU
A single GPU can be used to only upgrade a single LH flight segment, And that GPU cannot be extended to include another LH flight segment or another UA flight segment.


Problems getting mileage credit for upgraded LH segments

Numerous reports of denial of mileage credits (RDMs, PQMs, PQSs, PQDs) for upgraded tickets. This issue is probably due to LH uses the same fare bucket for mileage awards and upgrades. It seems patience, persistence, and documentation of the originally paid fare are needed to get credit.

You probably won't get credit by simply submitting the online form or asking a CSR to do so for you. A CSR needs to submit a System Issue Form, together with the mileage request, explaining that you flew in I class, but you paid for a mileage-earning booking class.

T-10

While the original system did not allow the upgrade waitlist to carry on past t-10 hours, the have been multiple reports that this is no longer the case. If not cleared in advance - the upgrade wait-list will last all the way until the door closing. UA has not updated the text on the LH GPU upgrades to reflect this change.

Archive Thread: Lufthansa GPUs Go Electronic {Archive}

Related Thread
How to upgrade with UA miles on Star Alliance carriers
Print Wikipost

Closed Thread

Old Jan 14, 15, 6:25 am
  #181  
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Programs: UA 1K, PC RA, HH Gold
Posts: 177
I had the issue arise today of the electronic system withdrawing 2 GPUs for one segment. Called shortly after and had it redeposited, they fixed this surprisingly quickly.

Went to apply my last GPU and the system says "The number of travelers entered exceeds the number of available Global Premier Upgrades". I guess I'll try to call again to see what they can do...
95 Z/28 LT1 is offline  
Old Jan 14, 15, 11:11 pm
  #182  
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 172
Just to make sure, a 016 number with a UA flight #, can I do the upgrade online? Also, any updates on which bucket to look for upgrade inventory? I see they have a R bucket. Not sure if it's UP inventory as by UA.
ILman is offline  
Old Jan 15, 15, 1:37 am
  #183  
Moderator: United Airlines; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SFO
Programs: UA Gold 1.8MM, Hyatt Discoverist, Marriott Gold, Hilton Silver, IHG Gold
Posts: 46,249
Originally Posted by ILman View Post
Just to make sure, a 016 number with a UA flight #, can I do the upgrade online? ...
theat has been reported as successful

Originally Posted by ILman View Post
... Also, any updates on which bucket to look for upgrade inventory? I see they have a R bucket. Not sure if it's UP inventory as by UA.
is not R for upgrades on LH, it is the same bucket as a business class award, I.
WineCountryUA is offline  
Old Jan 15, 15, 3:26 am
  #184  
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: LAX
Programs: UA:1K; SPG: Gold; MR: Gold; Hilton: Gold
Posts: 1,316
Originally Posted by ILman View Post
Just to make sure, a 016 number with a UA flight #, can I do the upgrade online?
Originally Posted by WineCountryUA View Post
theat has been reported as successful
I don't think WineCountry saw that you had a UA flight #. If your 016 ticket has the UA codeshare flight number for the flight you're trying to upgrade, you need to call in.
As others (and myself) have stated upthread, they will convert the UA flight # to the LH #, but will keep the 016 ticket. They can then apply the GPU for you over the phone, or you could theoretically do it online at that point (but I'd definitely have them do it in case there is a problem, so you don't have to waste time calling back). Expect at least 30 mins to do this with wait time.

Last edited by jmanirish; Jan 15, 15 at 3:34 am
jmanirish is offline  
Old Jan 15, 15, 9:09 am
  #185  
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Washington, D.C.
Programs: UA Premier 1K: PlAAtinum; DL SM, MM; Marriott Gold; CO Plat Emeritus; NW Plat Emeritus
Posts: 4,568
Tried to upgrade a couple of flights booked on YCA fares, and agent said they couldn't because they won't do the shift to LH-designation. And I see they've now slipped that onto the info page (OK, might have been there before, but I didn't notice).

A nice slap in the face from Jeff to those serving our country.

Time to reappraise...
Alpha Golf is offline  
Old Jan 15, 15, 9:58 am
  #186  
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Posts: 172
Thanks guys! Any data if their own I availability is enough? Or I need the partner I availability?
ILman is offline  
Old Jan 15, 15, 10:21 am
  #187  
Moderator: Lufthansa Miles & More, External Miles & Points Resources
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: MUC
Programs: LH SEN
Posts: 36,558
Originally Posted by Alpha Golf View Post
Tried to upgrade a couple of flights booked on YCA fares, and agent said they couldn't because they won't do the shift to LH-designation. And I see they've now slipped that onto the info page (OK, might have been there before, but I didn't notice).

A nice slap in the face from Jeff to those serving our country.

Time to reappraise...
Not so much Jeff, but the 'FlyAmerica' act which stipulates that it has to be ticketed with a UA codeshare number...
oliver2002 is offline  
Old Jan 15, 15, 10:57 am
  #188  
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Washington, D.C.
Programs: UA Premier 1K: PlAAtinum; DL SM, MM; Marriott Gold; CO Plat Emeritus; NW Plat Emeritus
Posts: 4,568
Originally Posted by oliver2002 View Post
Not so much Jeff, but the 'FlyAmerica' act which stipulates that it has to be ticketed with a UA codeshare number...
I know, but there's no reason they can't fix the clumsy system that requires the LH flight number for upgrade to clear. (I know it's Star, I actually mentioned it to Star people at the first Megado, over five years ago. They agreed it was an unintended problem).

Never had a problem redeeming the paper certs with UA flight numbers, many times -- in fact had a 100% success rate.
Alpha Golf is offline  
Old Jan 15, 15, 2:27 pm
  #189  
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: CLE
Programs: UA GS, HH Diamond
Posts: 33
I just booked a J fare FRA-MAA-FRA for next week on a UA codeshare. I'd love to use my GPUs to waitlist GF, but not clear about PQM and PQD for M+ -- will I get qualifying miles and $$ for this leg of my itinerary?

Also, is it even worth it, it only shows 3 or 1 empty GF seat on the seat map right now. Thanks!
happytobeme is offline  
Old Jan 15, 15, 2:32 pm
  #190  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: SFO
Programs: UA 1K 1MM; AS MVPG; Marriott Plat Premier; Hilton Diamond (Aspire); Hyatt Refugeeist
Posts: 39,930
Originally Posted by happytobeme View Post
I just booked a J fare FRA-MAA-FRA for next week on a UA codeshare. I'd love to use my GPUs to waitlist GF, but not clear about PQM and PQD for M+ -- will I get qualifying miles and $$ for this leg of my itinerary?

Also, is it even worth it, it only shows 3 or 1 empty GF seat on the seat map right now. Thanks!
Waitlisting for an upgrade will not affect your PQM or PQD. They accrue based on your original fare class.

There's no real downside to waitlisting, except for the time you're going to spend on the phone.

There is no Global First on Lufthansa. It's simply first class.
Kacee is offline  
Old Jan 15, 15, 5:11 pm
  #191  
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: East Coast
Programs: UA 1k & MillM
Posts: 561
Originally Posted by 95 Z/28 LT1 View Post
I had the issue arise today of the electronic system withdrawing 2 GPUs for one segment. Called shortly after and had it redeposited, they fixed this surprisingly quickly.
Still waiting to have the overcharged GPU redeposited. Tried emaling 1kvoice to no avail. Odd bug.
reinballe is offline  
Old Jan 15, 15, 10:55 pm
  #192  
Moderator: Lufthansa Miles & More, External Miles & Points Resources
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: MUC
Programs: LH SEN
Posts: 36,558
Originally Posted by Alpha Golf View Post
I know, but there's no reason they can't fix the clumsy system that requires the LH flight number for upgrade to clear. (I know it's Star, I actually mentioned it to Star people at the first Megado, over five years ago. They agreed it was an unintended problem).

Never had a problem redeeming the paper certs with UA flight numbers, many times -- in fact had a 100% success rate.
No carrier loads award inventory on a codeshare, nothing peculiar to *A there, its more the underlying structure of of what a codeshare is all about (so called 'commercial duplicate') and what the codeshare agreement is about. This is audited by the people that administer the 'fly america' system and in turn allow you to fly a foreign carrier because they revenue share with a murrican carrier.

Be that as it may be, the codeshare PNR is converted to the operational flight number when checkin opens. (aprox T-72h) There must be a way to file for an upgrade at that point without reqriting the ticket...
oliver2002 is offline  
Old Jan 16, 15, 5:50 am
  #193  
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Programs: UA GS; Marriott Plat; IHG Plat Amb
Posts: 79
Is it possible to upgrade from Lufthansa Premium Economy (E) to business with GPU?
LatinAmericaFlyer is offline  
Old Jan 16, 15, 8:10 am
  #194  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: SFO
Programs: UA 1K 1MM; AS MVPG; Marriott Plat Premier; Hilton Diamond (Aspire); Hyatt Refugeeist
Posts: 39,930
Originally Posted by LatinAmericaFlyer View Post
Is it possible to upgrade from Lufthansa Premium Economy (E) to business with GPU?
Yes. Fare classes G and E are upgradeable. N is not.
Kacee is offline  
Old Jan 21, 15, 5:50 pm
  #195  
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: CO
Programs: UA OG-1K, Marriott Plat, Hertz PC
Posts: 1,220
'I' is the upgrade inventory, correct? Where can I see that? I don't see it in the expert mode on the UA site and I don't see anything about fare classes on LH's site.
PushingTin is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread