Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus
Reload this Page >

Enhanced customer service commitment including free DirecTV on all DTV A/C.

Enhanced customer service commitment including free DirecTV on all DTV A/C.

Old Feb 3, 19, 5:26 pm
  #76  
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: BNA
Programs: HH Gold. (Former) UA PP, DL PM, PC Plat
Posts: 6,589
Originally Posted by magendim View Post
Once these planes get retrofitted with the new seating, DTV will go away in favor of the PDE systems
The entire 737 fleet has the new slimline seats. The airplanes that had DTV kept DTV but now also have PDE as well.
LarryJ is offline  
Old Feb 3, 19, 7:34 pm
  #77  
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Texas
Posts: 632
Originally Posted by bocastephen View Post
Why?
Because those DTV screens are a total nuisance. The sooner they are phased out forever, the better.
Miggles is offline  
Old Feb 3, 19, 9:27 pm
  #78  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: FLL/LAX/YYZ/TPE
Programs: CO Platinum 1K, United 1K, SPG LT Platinum, National Executive Elite, Platinum TSA Hater
Posts: 33,497
Originally Posted by Miggles View Post
Because those DTV screens are a total nuisance. The sooner they are phased out forever, the better.
Well, as I said upthread, if the glare bothers you, use eye covers. Some of us like watching DTV and will continue to do so.

Are you going to ask nearby customers with tablets and laptops to turn those devices off because of the glare? What about the new MAX seats with fold down holders for tablets and phones that place the screens in the same position as today's DTV screens?
bocastephen is offline  
Old Feb 4, 19, 6:04 am
  #79  
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Programs: '19 Global Services, 1.9m+ lifetime CO miles
Posts: 103
two things that would be helpful -
- Train FA to understand in flight WiFi and how to reboot system when everyone says that they cant connect
- Get rid or upgrade their in flight entertainment so that those who use an iPad don't constantly have troubles with 'downloading additional software'

love DirecTV. wish that they had it on all equipment.
raiachat is offline  
Old Feb 4, 19, 7:36 am
  #80  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: FLL/LAX/YYZ/TPE
Programs: CO Platinum 1K, United 1K, SPG LT Platinum, National Executive Elite, Platinum TSA Hater
Posts: 33,497
Originally Posted by raiachat View Post
two things that would be helpful -
- Train FA to understand in flight WiFi and how to reboot system when everyone says that they cant connect
It really depends on the crew - in the past I had some really proactive crews who contacted the flight deck and had them pull and reset the circuit breaker for the wifi system to force a hard reset which usually did the trick vs a normal reboot, but lately when it's not working I've been hearing nonsense gibberish such as last week when they announced Wifi was not working because we were flying over the Gulf of Mexico - when we were still over land along the Louisiana coast and they wouldn't contact the flight deck even though they said they would.

There really needs to be a standardized troubleshooting policy and plan that is published in the ops manual so every crew is expected to follow the same procedure without any arguments or nonsense gibberish explanations.
raiachat likes this.
bocastephen is offline  
Old Feb 4, 19, 11:42 am
  #81  
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: BNA
Programs: HH Gold. (Former) UA PP, DL PM, PC Plat
Posts: 6,589
Originally Posted by bocastephen View Post
in the past I had some really proactive crews who contacted the flight deck and had them pull and reset the circuit breaker for the wifi system to force a hard reset which usually did the trick
We are not allowed to pull/reset circuit breakers inflight unless directed to do so by a non-normal checklist.

On the 737 we have a switch which will depower the internet/wifi/PDE system. That's what we use to reset when part of the system isn't working (usually the internet). Unfortunately, there is no way to reset just the internet without also resetting the wifi and PDE so a reset means everything will be done for seven or eight minutes while it reboots.

I believe that the F/As have the ability to reset the system themselves on the Airbus but I don't know the details. All fleets should have a way to do this without pulling any circuit breakers.

The F/As don't really have a way to monitor the aircraft's position to know when we're overwater or otherwise outside the CONUS coverage area. If they're ambitious, they can check it on their Link on the UA App but that will only work while the internet is working. Geography knowledge isn't really a requirement for their job, though, so some will be a lot better than others at understanding when the internet will, and will not, work.

Last edited by LarryJ; Feb 4, 19 at 12:58 pm
LarryJ is offline  
Old Feb 4, 19, 12:00 pm
  #82  
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: HNL
Programs: UA 1K3MM, MR LT Plat, Hilton Gold
Posts: 1,928
Originally Posted by LarryJ View Post
We are not allowed to pull/reset circuit breakers inflight unless directed to do so by a non-normal checklist.
I'm not a pilot - but that makes total sense.
HNLbasedFlyer is offline  
Old Feb 4, 19, 1:38 pm
  #83  
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: EWR
Programs: Marriott Bonvoy Lifetime Gold, United Mileage Plus, Avis Preferred
Posts: 815
I have purchased DTV on flights when I wanted to see live sports; once, to watch the NFL ST RZ Channel on a Sunday afternoon, another time to watch some live matches on the Tennis Channel. I will always watch this if available.
Air Houston likes this.
JohnneeO is offline  
Old Feb 4, 19, 3:40 pm
  #84  
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Delaware
Programs: UA Mileage Plus, Amtrak Guest Rewards
Posts: 743
When the DTV contract is over, why wouldn't UA leave the equipment installed and just add non-TV content? Is there a way to hook the content on the PDE system into the DTV monitors? I haven't been on a DTV plane in years, and when I was, I never checked for this, but isn't there already non-TV content on the system for traveling outside of the CO-US? Isn't this what is done on the GUM birds???

If this is possible, it would seem to me it would be more benefical to go this route than rip everything out. At least wait until the next generation ultra-paperthin-slim seats arrive.
railmatt likes this.
phkc070408 is offline  
Old Feb 4, 19, 4:43 pm
  #85  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: In a little twisty maze of airline seats, all alike...
Programs: CO, NW & UA forum moderator emeritus
Posts: 28,265
Originally Posted by phkc070408 View Post
When the DTV contract is over, why wouldn't UA leave the equipment installed and just add non-TV content?
IIRC the equipment is wned by DTV.
Xyzzy is offline  
Old Feb 4, 19, 6:59 pm
  #86  
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: KEWR
Programs: Marriott Platinum
Posts: 531
Originally Posted by bocastephen View Post
It really depends on the crew - in the past I had some really proactive crews who contacted the flight deck and had them pull and reset the circuit breaker for the wifi system
There is no WiFi circuit breaker on the 757/767 fleet either.

On the ground we can recycle the utility bus switches to reset the WiFi and IFE. Never have done that airborne however.

Last edited by clubord; Feb 4, 19 at 8:11 pm
clubord is offline  
Old Feb 4, 19, 7:12 pm
  #87  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: FLL/LAX/YYZ/TPE
Programs: CO Platinum 1K, United 1K, SPG LT Platinum, National Executive Elite, Platinum TSA Hater
Posts: 33,497
Originally Posted by LarryJ View Post
We are not allowed to pull/reset circuit breakers inflight unless directed to do so by a non-normal checklist.

On the 737 we have a switch which will depower the internet/wifi/PDE system. That's what we use to reset when part of the system isn't working (usually the internet). Unfortunately, there is no way to reset just the internet without also resetting the wifi and PDE so a reset means everything will be done for seven or eight minutes while it reboots.

I believe that the F/As have the ability to reset the system themselves on the Airbus but I don't know the details. All fleets should have a way to do this without pulling any circuit breakers.
.
Ok that makes sense...it was explained to me years ago as a circuit breaker but the terminology was obviously wrong. Either way it's a method to force a hard reset of the system which in my experience usually fixes the problem.

It should be a pretty standard step in troubleshooting, assuming the softer touches don't do the trick....a FA making up nonsense because they can't be bothered to do something about it is not a valid troubleshooting step.
bocastephen is offline  
Old Feb 4, 19, 9:10 pm
  #88  
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: PHL
Programs: UA 1K, Marriott Gold, IHG Gold, Raddison Gold
Posts: 3,211
Originally Posted by jsloan View Post
The problem with the DTV seats is that nobody knows how to turn them off. If they turned themselves off with inactivity, or if there was an obvious, one-press OFF button, I wouldn't have an issue. Instead, you get a cabin full of screens at full brightness, showing the same looping ads and whatnot, while nobody pays attention.
I often watch the same channel for the whole flight so I would find an auto-off pretty annoying.
The button does say OFF and I suppose it is "one press" if you hold it down long enough. But I agree, a dedicated off button would be better.
Sometimes, I do hear the FA's make an announcement.
Perhaps if it was made more like the regular on-demand screens. Have a home screen (like the tv guide). Let that have an auto-off. But if you go to one of the TV channels, leave it on. They could also default the screens to off after the safety video and for the passenger to turn it on if they want to use it. However, I assume they didn't want to do this to entice people to actually use the system and allow them to make the ad revenue.

I've seen passengers that can't figure out how to turn off a light that was left on (they press directly on the light as if that will do something) and I've found the light bothersome when trying to sleep. I've seen passengers who don't understand how to close the air vents and instead redirect them (sometimes at my head). That is bothersome because it gets cold. I don't expect the airline to remove all lights and vents. Some people don't like window shades being up, that doesnt mean they should remove all the windows. Some passengers can't figure out how to open/close their tray table or unrecline their seats.

In all these cases, I don't see passenger ignorance as a reason to remove something. It is easy enough to ask the FA.
eng3 is offline  
Old Feb 4, 19, 9:53 pm
  #89  
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: AUS after 40+ SFO/OAK
Programs: UA MM (recovering former 1K), Marriott Titanium Lifetime
Posts: 537
It's almost hard to believe (almost!!!) that UA could posture a liability (weight of the DTV equipment, low % of usage, etc.) as a perk. But it does offer a new reason for passengers to complain -- I'm flying a 737 and there was no free DirectTV!
garkster is offline  
Old Feb 5, 19, 5:45 am
  #90  
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Boston MA
Programs: UA 1K/1.5 million miler, SU Gold, JL Sapphire
Posts: 500
Well, at least they are trying. I am a bit apprehensive about what will be taken back because if something was pretty consistent during the Munoz era it is the inconsistency. At times United wants to become more flyer-friendly, in an effort to become a more classy airline, and at other times the focus is on low prices at the expense of everything else.

Somewhere, I guess I understand where we are heading: a really segmented world, just like the real one, with a few lucky guys sitting in front in ever more comfortable seats, and a bunch of poor souls behind in a true "cattle class" - that is a cattle car where each bovine is sandwiched against one another. In the US seems to be the norm.

But even inside these cabins, United has been inconsistent. Remember the wine tasters? Made it unique AFAIK and... ooops, nevermind, gone!

Somewhere this will haunt them one day or another because you just cannot be everything to everyone. You cannot be SQ and Frontier all at once. At some point, you must pick one.
skidooman is online now  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread