Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus
Reload this Page >

How often do you complain about the Wifi?

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

How often do you complain about the Wifi?

Search this Thread

Old Jan 14, 2019, 3:52 pm

Programs: UA MM Plat, UA 1MM, Hilton Lifetime Gold, Marriott Gold, Hertz Gold, CLEAR, AS MVP Gold
Originally Posted by MostlyUA
I have a global subscription. I don't expect connectivity between the Philippines and Japan, Greenland and St. Johns/Maine, Hawaii and Pacific atolls, and other bits of unpopulated vast oceans. I'm also happy if I get connectivity 50% of the time.

In the past year, I have complained twice and received ETCs. But I don't think it's really worth complaining. I want to reserve my complaints for real stuff -- like when I sat on a wet seat! Or there's trash in the front pocket.
On the TPAC flights and flights in and out of Hawaii the FAs will often announce to not waste your time, effort, and money on the wi-fi as the service is "spotty at best".
Old Jan 14, 2019, 4:03 pm

Programs: Delta PlM, 1M
Originally Posted by hotelboy
Cant you just disconnect for the 2-3 hours? I find my time in the air quite peaceful without internet.
I would rather disconnect when I am home with friends and family. When in prison in an aluminum tube, might as well work if possible. Get the work done then so I can take Friday off.

I do think though that air wifi is marginal and one should not expect much. I try to have work I can do off-line setup prioer to the flight.
dok_indo and AirMiles2001 like this.
Old Jan 14, 2019, 4:35 pm

Programs: UA 1K, 1MM
Originally Posted by prometa

Others have reported that after a certain number of complaints, the ETCs will stop. I stopped filing customer care complaints some time ago but will request a refund if it doesn’t work greater than 50% of the flight. They always refund (without any confirmation).