Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus
Reload this Page >

United App: discussion, bugs, ... (Android , IOS, ...)

United App: discussion, bugs, ... (Android , IOS, ...)

Old Jan 29, 2022, 7:24 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Denver, CO
Programs: UA 1K 25 years/2MM, Honors LT Diamond, AVIS & Hertz Prez Club
Posts: 4,751
Anyone else have old trips stay on iOS Home Screen?



I have logged out and back in and even deleted the app, rebooted and reinstalled and it came back.

Advice?
SFO 1K is offline  
Old Jan 31, 2022, 1:50 pm
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Between AUS, EWR, and YTO In a little twisty maze of airline seats, all alike.. but I wanna go home with the armadillo
Programs: CO, NW, & UA forum moderator emeritus
Posts: 35,385
Originally Posted by SFO 1K
Anyone else have old trips stay on iOS Home Screen?


I have logged out and back in and even deleted the app, rebooted and reinstalled and it came back.

Advice?
I've had boarding passes stick around on my Andrid...
Xyzzy is online now  
Old Feb 1, 2022, 12:31 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: SFO
Programs: UA 1K, AA EXP, Hyatt Glob, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Plat, Total Wine & More Reserve
Posts: 4,486
Originally Posted by SFO 1K
I have logged out and back in and even deleted the app, rebooted and reinstalled and it came back.

Advice?
I think I've seen this before occasionally, but even then I don't recall it sticking around very long.

Maybe try selecting Travel-Ready Center and see if that resets anything? Or change phone date temporarily to far out in future and re-open app.

Last resort: Book a new flight for a few days out to replace that one.
econ is offline  
Old Feb 1, 2022, 12:45 am
  #4  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Hilton Contributor BadgeMarriott Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: TOA
Programs: HH Diamond, Marriott LTPP/Platinum Premier, Hyatt Lame-ist, UA !K
Posts: 20,061
Originally Posted by econ
Last resort: Book a new flight for a few days out to replace that one.
Love it - FT solution: buy another ticket.

David
Xyzzy and econ like this.
DELee is offline  
Old Feb 3, 2022, 4:17 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: SEA/NYC/IAD
Programs: UA 1K, Marriott Titanium, Hyatt Explorist
Posts: 1,916
Seems there's a new iOS "Countdown" widget. Tapping it brings you to the next/upcoming itinerary.
Polytonic is online now  
Old Feb 9, 2022, 9:20 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: YYZ
Programs: UA1K MM, JL JMB SAPPHIRE, Marriott Titanium/LTP, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 1,267
I am an Android guy but was setting up UA app for a friend on iPhone today, I couldn't seem to find available fare classes from flight search result, is this only available on android App?



gokeeper is offline  
Old Feb 9, 2022, 9:23 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Dec 2019
Location: Chicago
Programs: AA Gold
Posts: 562
I can still see it?
leftysauce is offline  
Old Feb 9, 2022, 9:36 pm
  #8  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: SFO/SJC
Programs: UA Silver, Marriott Gold, Hilton Gold
Posts: 14,882
Originally Posted by gokeeper
I am an Android guy but was setting up UA app for a friend on iPhone today, I couldn't seem to find available fare classes from flight search result, is this only available on android App?



working for me on iPhone…looks very similar.

had your friend logged into the app yet with their credentials? Do they have expert mode enabled in their account settings (think this needs to be done on the actual website).
emcampbe is offline  
Old Feb 9, 2022, 9:43 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: YYZ
Programs: UA1K MM, JL JMB SAPPHIRE, Marriott Titanium/LTP, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 1,267
Originally Posted by emcampbe
working for me on iPhone…looks very similar.

had your friend logged into the app yet with their credentials? Do they have expert mode enabled in their account settings (think this needs to be done on the actual website).
Weird, my friend logged in and couldn't see the information, I then tried to use my account and the area is empty as well (attached). I have expert mode enable on the website, and have no problem on my Android phone.
gokeeper is offline  
Old Feb 10, 2022, 12:21 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: SFO
Programs: UA 1K, AA EXP, Hyatt Glob, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Plat, Total Wine & More Reserve
Posts: 4,486
Originally Posted by gokeeper
Weird, my friend logged in and couldn't see the information, I then tried to use my account and the area is empty as well (attached). I have expert mode enable on the website, and have no problem on my Android phone.
Works for me. Still plenty of PZ/I space left.
gokeeper likes this.
econ is offline  
Old Feb 10, 2022, 8:23 am
  #11  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 11,451
Originally Posted by gokeeper
Weird, my friend logged in and couldn't see the information, I then tried to use my account and the area is empty as well (attached). I have expert mode enable on the website, and have no problem on my Android phone.
img
Try log out and log in again with same account.

Seems like the same issue I had once:
https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/33555347-post124.html
https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/33555382-post125.html
https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/33555432-post126.html
gokeeper likes this.
fumje is offline  
Old Feb 10, 2022, 8:42 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: YYZ
Programs: UA1K MM, JL JMB SAPPHIRE, Marriott Titanium/LTP, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 1,267
Thanks for all the replies, I tried again after 30 minutes on the same device, the availability just showed up without me changing anything.
gokeeper is offline  
Old Feb 10, 2022, 9:28 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NTTB
Programs: UA Plat, Marriott Plat
Posts: 4,649
Interesting update to the iOS flight status tab. Rather than clicking traditional "Where is this aircraft coming from?", the initial flight status screen now directly provides information on the inbound flight. However, I think the UI is clunky. For example, in the screenshot below, one could get confused that the airplane is in Denver as the outbound segment (ORD-DEN) is repeated. Will get better over time I'm sure.

FightingIlliniUAL is offline  
Old Feb 10, 2022, 9:33 am
  #14  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Programs: UA 1K 1MM (finally!), IHG AMB-Spire, HH Diamond
Posts: 60,155
While I always check on where my plane is coming from, putting it right on the page could confuse less savvy travelers. I think it should stay an option and not a default
uastarflyer is offline  
Old Feb 10, 2022, 9:37 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: NTTB
Programs: UA Plat, Marriott Plat
Posts: 4,649
Originally Posted by uastarflyer
While I always check on where my plane is coming from, putting it right on the page could confuse less savvy travelers. I think it should stay an option and not a default
Agreed. The information is not intuitively presented.
SPN Lifer likes this.
FightingIlliniUAL is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread

Contact Us - Manage Preferences - Archive - Advertising - Cookie Policy - Privacy Statement - Terms of Service -

This site is owned, operated, and maintained by MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. Copyright © 2024 MH Sub I, LLC dba Internet Brands. All rights reserved. Designated trademarks are the property of their respective owners.