Redesigned United App -- Now Available!

    Hide Wikipost
Old Mar 30, 19, 3:52 pm   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: jayzala
Wiki Link
List common bugs/issues here:
- I still can't figure out how to delete flights in the "Flight Status" tab. You can add flights by toggling the "Push Notifications" on the Flight Status Details page. But then you can't remove flights on the "Flight Status" tab.
Print Wikipost

Reply

Old Jan 24, 19, 8:44 am
  #226  
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Programs: UA 1K; *G, AA Plat
Posts: 1,670
Originally Posted by narvik View Post
My main complaint is that v3.0.0 shows the city name only, and not the airport code under MY TRIPS without going into details (and only the city name on all PAST flights with no option for further details, although I believe PAST flights wasn't even available in the older version of the APP, or was it?).
Got it.

Past was never available in the older version of the app. =/
laxmillenial is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 19, 8:44 am
  #227  
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SFO
Programs: UA
Posts: 122
Originally Posted by BThumme View Post
Seems a lot like LH's new color.

I'm slightly above neutral. I'm really grateful all the functionality is still there, and I certainly understand why the changes were made that were made.
Maybe they can take the JV to the next step and have a single app
bman1002 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 19, 8:45 am
  #228  
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Programs: UA 1K; *G, AA Plat
Posts: 1,670
i hate how you can't scroll/swipe right to go back to the previous page / close an open screen.

seriously!??!?! LOL. #firstworldproblems
traveling bijorn likes this.
laxmillenial is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 19, 8:47 am
  #229  
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: SFO
Programs: UA
Posts: 122
Originally Posted by laxmillenial View Post
i hate how you can't scroll/swipe right to go back to the previous page / close an open screen.

seriously!??!?! LOL. #firstworldproblems
I recommend creating a shirt stating this complaint and the issue should be addressed promptly once you wear it on to a UA flight.
seanp7, Silver Fox, narvik and 3 others like this.
bman1002 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 19, 8:55 am
  #230  
Moderator: Smoking Lounge; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: SFO, CDG, PBI
Programs: Lifetime (for now) Gold MM, HH Gold, Giving Tootsie Pops to UA employees, & a retired hockey goalie
Posts: 28,293
Originally Posted by Kacee View Post
I don't like the home page. I know I'm flying Friday, you don't need to fill 2/3 of the screen with that. Also don't like nonremovable marketing at the bottom of the page, and can't minimize worthless "Mile Play" banner as could previously.

OTOH, I do like that it saves notifications.

Overall jury still out here.
Bolding mine: Completely agree!

Originally Posted by dkmatter View Post
App is good but the MileagePlus Card display is worse. It's microscopic and then just blows up the back of the card when you click on it. Other airlines, particularly in places like China, don't know what 1K is. For lounge purposes the app should clearly show: Star Gold, Name, UA-number and the Expire date.

This is also a flaw in the iphone wallet pass which doesn't show star gold status.
Agreed that the MP card should show the front of the card and, at least for me on my ipad [but not my iphone], the MP card when tapped to enlarge has the bar code completely distorted/stretched and wondering if that won't be scanable-not that I would use my ipad to show my mp card as I would use my phone-just being a..

And at least for me on my iphone and ipad, I cannot sign in using touch I/D
goalie is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 19, 9:08 am
  #231  
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: NYC, FLL
Programs: UA 1K, Marriott Bonvoy LTE, BA Silver
Posts: 4,310
Originally Posted by COSPILOT View Post
Ok, incredibly boring, but hit your little face tab at the top right and it pulls up your status, including *G. Agree that it should give the full card as an option. Simply stupid.
That's only if you're signed in or have an active WiFi connection. We all know when you are travelling overseas (or United WiFi is down on board and you're begging for your 1K free drink), that's not always the case

The MP card should be able to be enlarged, offline. I agree with you and other posters on this.
seanp7 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 19, 9:13 am
  #232  
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Programs: UA 1K; *G, AA Plat
Posts: 1,670
Originally Posted by bman1002 View Post
I recommend creating a shirt stating this complaint and the issue should be addressed promptly once you wear it on to a UA flight.
will do. I will give out complimentary shirts to 1Ks to support this momentous cause. No GS members. #DYKWIA !!!!!
laxmillenial is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 19, 9:17 am
  #233  
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: COS
Programs: UA Gold (.85 MM), HH Diamond, SPG Platinum (LT Gold), Hertz PC, National EE
Posts: 2,702
Originally Posted by laxmillenial View Post
will do. I will give out complimentary shirts to 1Ks to support this momentous cause. No GS members. #DYKWIA !!!!!
Do prior 1K's, likely to make it back to 1K this year count? Asking for a friend...
Dublin_rfk likes this.
COSPILOT is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 19, 9:19 am
  #234  
 
Join Date: Feb 2017
Programs: United GS; AA EXP; Marriott Ambassador
Posts: 159


Now I can track evolution of flight delays in “Inbox”!
bdw1120 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 19, 9:45 am
  #235  
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: DAY/CMH
Programs: UA MileagePlus
Posts: 2,183
Originally Posted by seanp7 View Post
The MP card should be able to be enlarged, offline. I agree with you and other posters on this.
I agree. A simple workaround in recent Android versions is to use the Zoom feature. You have to enable magnification. With that done, a triple tap enlarges the card to a very legible width on my Pixel 2XL. Another triple tap un-zooms the screen.
ajGoes is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 19, 11:21 am
  #236  
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Washington, DC
Programs: UA Plat, HH Diamond, MR Gold
Posts: 1,080
Originally Posted by shelby101 View Post
Mine has not updated and the app does not show an upgrade for United. What am i missing?
I'm having the same issue. My app has not updated and I cannot see an upgrade for the app...

EDIT: Went into the app store and I now have the option to updated. I needed to actually click on the app in the store, not just view it in the search results list.
coolbeans202 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 19, 11:31 am
  #237  
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Location: SEA | LAX | IAD
Programs: SQ *G, UA, AS
Posts: 329
Installed the update just now -- I had to open the App Store and manually pull-to-refresh on iOS for the update to appear. It seems like it's largely a re-skin of the previous interface? Tapping the Hamburger Menu to navigate reveals what appears to be the same scrolling navigation from before.

Does anyone else find it weird that if you tap the head icon in the upper right, it shows you "My Profile" whereas tapping your name from the main interface brings you to the MileagePlus Summary?

It seems these two options should perform similar actions. While we're at it, Membership/Club Passes could scroll vertically and be full size, rather than be tiny thumbnails that scroll horizontally, while 50% of my screen real estate is wasted.

Minor gripes though. As long as boarding passes in Apple Wallet still work, I think I'm fine.
Polytonic is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 19, 11:45 am
  #238  
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: NorCal - 1K 2MM
Posts: 1,983
RPU/GPU tally?

Does the new app display current RPU/GPU balance anywhere?
seanp7 likes this.
Starman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 19, 11:49 am
  #239  
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: DTW/MBS/AZO
Programs: UA 1K,AA Plat, Marriott Platinum, HHonors Diamond, Starbucks Gold
Posts: 2,896
Originally Posted by Starman View Post
Does the new app display current RPU/GPU balance anywhere?
It would be nice if it showed up under the "MileagePlus (R) Summary" page. That seems logical to me.
BThumme is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Jan 24, 19, 12:03 pm
  #240  
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Washington, DC
Programs: United Premier 1K 1MM; AA Plat; SPG Plat; Hyatt Discoverist; Marriott Titanium; Hertz Pres Cirlce
Posts: 2,269
Just downloaded the updated app this AM. I like the look and feel. Will get a test ride of some of its functionality next week. All in all I think it's a good update despite some of the concerns expressed earlier in this forum.
mh3265a is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread