Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus
Reload this Page >

Pre Check has suddenly stop working?? (Fixed?)

Pre Check has suddenly stop working?? (Fixed?)

Old Dec 17, 18, 7:35 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Raleigh
Programs: United GS 2MM,, Marriott/Starwood Lifetime Platinum
Posts: 753
Pre Check has suddenly stop working?? (Fixed?)

After 100+ segments and over 200,000 PQM this year with no issues - now United seems incapable of showing my trusted traveler/ pre-check on my boarding pass. This has occurred on my last two itineraries. When I check in, the app asks for my birthdate, pass ID, gender, etc as if i didnít have all of that saved. But even after adding my pass ID I still am not getting precheck. Not a fun way to end the year.
SAN 1K is offline  
Old Dec 17, 18, 7:38 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Bay Area, CA
Posts: 210
Originally Posted by SAN 1K View Post
After 100+ segments and over 200,000 PQM this year with no issues - now United seems incapable of showing my trusted traveler/ pre-check on my boarding pass. This has occurred on my last two itineraries. When I check in, the app asks for my birthdate, pass ID, gender, etc as if i didnít have all of that saved. But even after adding my pass ID I still am not getting precheck. Not a fun way to end the year.
Are you getting SSSS? Or just nothing?
bman1002 is online now  
Old Dec 17, 18, 7:40 pm
  #3  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 10,896
Is your 5 years up?
IAH-OIL-TRASH is offline  
Old Dec 17, 18, 7:50 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: AVP & PEK
Programs: UA 1K 1.6MM, Hertz PC
Posts: 4,111
Originally Posted by IAH-OIL-TRASH View Post
Is your 5 years up?
That was what I was thinking also.
Maybe it has simply expired?
narvik is offline  
Old Dec 17, 18, 7:57 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: IAH
Programs: UA Silver
Posts: 432
Duh!!
geo979 is offline  
Old Dec 17, 18, 8:03 pm
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Raleigh
Programs: United GS 2MM,, Marriott/Starwood Lifetime Platinum
Posts: 753
Hmmm...

Wish it were that easy. But in actuality it renewed when I got Nexus just a few months ago. According to the website it’s good until 2023...

Last edited by WineCountryUA; Dec 17, 18 at 9:12 pm Reason: merging consecutive posts by same member
SAN 1K is offline  
Old Dec 17, 18, 8:12 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Programs: UA 1K; *G, AA Plat
Posts: 1,696
Speak to an agent at check-in. Explain what's going on.
On a reservation when I suddenly didn't get 'pre-check' they verified that my birthday was off by 40+ years, despite it being right in my profile for the past 3 years. I would just double check with an agent when you check-in just in case.

Other than that, I dunno! Hopefully it doesn't continue
laxmillenial is offline  
Old Dec 17, 18, 8:26 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: SFO, GIG
Programs: UA 1K, MM
Posts: 88
This happened to me too. I've never NOT had pre-check until this past Thursday when I flew EWR - LAX. I noticed my mobile boarding pass didn't have pre-check, so I called and United said that the Known Traveler number is still in my profile, but sometimes TSA randomly doesn't issue pre-check. That's when I noticed that the Known Traveler number wasn't IN the reservation. I tried to add it on the app, but the number wouldn't save. At the check-in kiosk, I tried to add it, but the kiosk wouldn't take it either. The agent suggested that I go talk to the TSA Pre-Check desk on Level 2. She wouldn't help me because I received the Known Traveler number through Global Entry. I take the train over to Terminal B to talk to the Global Entry desk/room and they verified that my Known Traveler number is still valid. I go back to Terminal C and wait for 30 minutes to get through security arriving the gate at boarding time. The same situation occurred on the way back to EWR last night from SAN. I used Saver Award miles for the trip. I just checked my profile and it looks like my birthdate was changed by 11 years?!?!?

Has anyone else had a similar experience?
exclamationman is offline  
Old Dec 17, 18, 8:50 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: AVP & PEK
Programs: UA 1K 1.6MM, Hertz PC
Posts: 4,111
Originally Posted by troygorczyca View Post
...United said that the Known Traveler number is still in my profile, but sometimes TSA randomly doesn't issue pre-check.
Unfortunately that is United's standard answer. It's a good one too, because it means they can immediately stop helping you investigate the issue further after they utter that statement.



Originally Posted by troygorczyca View Post
I just checked my profile and it looks like my birthdate was changed by 11 years?!?!?

Has anyone else had a similar experience?
Apparently the poster before you:
Originally Posted by laxmillenial View Post
On a reservation when I suddenly didn't get 'pre-check' they verified that my birthday was off by 40+ years...
delpiero223 likes this.
narvik is offline  
Old Dec 17, 18, 9:19 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Floating around
Programs: UA 1K (1MM), DL Silver (1MM), Marriott Amb (LT Titanium)
Posts: 8,632
Originally Posted by SAN 1K View Post
When I check in, the app asks for my birthdate, pass ID, gender, etc as if i didnít have all of that saved. But even after adding my pass ID I still am not getting precheck. Not a fun way to end the year.
I *just* had this happen to me as well on my itinerary today. It's one of the very few itineraries I booked through my corporate TA. But even the other ones I've done this year through the TA did not give me an issue.

Thinking something was very wrong I decided to wait to do check in from my desktop PC. It worked fine there and didn't ask me for anything extra. My Known Traveler # was still in the reservation so when I checked in I got Pre-Check.

My advice: if you see this happen again just check-in through a web browser. I suspect something broke in the mobile app.

-RM
Silver Fox likes this.
RobOnLI is online now  
Old Dec 18, 18, 12:37 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: Atlanta Metro
Programs: DL Gold Medallion, AA, UA, BA, Hhonors Gold
Posts: 1,490
I know that having some of your identifying documents expire (driver's license, etc.) that you used to establish your PreCheck account can cause problems, but doesn't sound like the case here.
hotturnip is online now  
Old Dec 18, 18, 10:02 am
  #12  
vga
 
Join Date: Nov 2018
Programs: yes
Posts: 53
Fliers only know that they have PreCheck once a boarding pass is generated. ... Many of the problems stem from travel agencies who incorrectly copy
vga is offline  
Old Dec 18, 18, 10:11 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: San Francisco, CA
Posts: 1,235
Originally Posted by RobOnLI View Post
Thinking something was very wrong I decided to wait to do check in from my desktop PC. It worked fine there and didn't ask me for anything extra. My Known Traveler # was still in the reservation so when I checked in I got Pre-Check.

My advice: if you see this happen again just check-in through a web browser. I suspect something broke in the mobile app.

-RM
This. Same thing happened to me yesterday. Went to check in on the app and it asked for all my secure traveller data (gener, birthday, known traveller ID). Closed the app and logged into the desktop web browser and no problems...and once i checked in, the boarding pass showed up just fine on the mobile app including pre-check.

I also tried reprinting my boarding pass at the kiosk in case my phone battery died and got the same problem of no stored secure traveller data. So something is up with their system...but so far the desktop browser seems to not be broken.
boolean64 is offline  
Old Dec 18, 18, 11:16 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Programs: UA 1K; *G, AA Plat
Posts: 1,696
Originally Posted by narvik View Post
Unfortunately that is United's standard answer. It's a good one too, because it means they can immediately stop helping you investigate the issue further after they utter that statement.
But it's also true. There is no promise that just because you've paid $85/100 that you're going to get Pre-check even if you've gotten it for the past [insert number of years] here.

https://www.tsa.gov/travel/frequentl...ited-screening
laxmillenial is offline  
Old Dec 18, 18, 11:31 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: New York
Programs: AA Exp / Marriott Titanium / MLife Gold / Hilton Gold / Hyatt Explorist / United Silver
Posts: 900
Originally Posted by SAN 1K View Post
After 100+ segments and over 200,000 PQM this year with no issues - now United seems incapable of showing my trusted traveler/ pre-check on my boarding pass. This has occurred on my last two itineraries. When I check in, the app asks for my birthdate, pass ID, gender, etc as if i didn’t have all of that saved. But even after adding my pass ID I still am not getting precheck. Not a fun way to end the year.
@ASKTSA on Twitter is your friend! They can look it up and tell you what's wrong vs airlines' standard answer of "we don't control the process" I've had issues with my precheck earlier this year, and they fixed it within an hour.

samwise6222 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: