Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus
Reload this Page >

ORD - Can I access T5 with a UA domestic boarding pass?

ORD - Can I access T5 with a UA domestic boarding pass?

Reply

Old Oct 11, 18, 12:48 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: SBA
Programs: UA Gold 1MM, Marriott Gold, IHG Gold, Hertz PC
Posts: 267
ORD - Can I access T5 with a UA domestic boarding pass?

Hi Everyone - trying to find out more info on this, I have about 3 hours to kill while going through ORD. Can I go to the International terminal with a United domestic boarding pass? I know in LAX you can, which is nice for the lounges and shopping.

Thanks,
- Tom
tstauck is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 18, 1:13 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: DTW/MBS/AZO
Programs: UA 1K,AA Plat, Marriott Platinum, HHonors Diamond, Starbucks Gold
Posts: 2,613
Originally Posted by tstauck View Post
Hi Everyone - trying to find out more info on this, I have about 3 hours to kill while going through ORD. Can I go to the International terminal with a United domestic boarding pass? I know in LAX you can, which is nice for the lounges and shopping.

Thanks,
- Tom
There is a transfer shuttle bus, but they will only let you board with a valid departing T5 boarding pass. You can exit and take the train over, however, it's just not worth the hassle (then you'd have to do that again coming back). And this is coming from someone who loves lounge hopping. LAX is, IMO, the best place in the country for lounges and lounge hopping and shopping (IAD #2 to me). ORD is about as basic as it gets.
BThumme is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 18, 1:18 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Programs: AA
Posts: 8,998
Originally Posted by BThumme View Post
You can exit and take the train over, however, it's just not worth the hassle (then you'd have to do that again coming back).
And that's assuming it's on one of the days the train is running. Currently it is down part of the time for maintenance (I can't remember if it's weekends or weekdays when it is running), and when it is down you have to take a landside bus to/from T5.
wrp96 is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 18, 1:20 pm
  #4  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Los Angeles / Basel
Posts: 24,520
I agree, not worthwhile. SK and LX lounges are hardly compelling.
MatthewLAX is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 18, 1:37 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Programs: AC E50K, AS MVP, Hertz PC, Hilton Diamond, Delta/Marriott/SPG/UA Plat
Posts: 1,004
Agreed. T5 is not worth the trek over.

Also, no TSA Pre, so you may get stuck behind a long line to go through security. There is a separate line for premium cabin pax but you'd still go through security scan with the general public.
Repooc17 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 18, 1:49 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 3,041
Originally Posted by MatthewLAX View Post
I agree, not worthwhile. SK and LX lounges are hardly compelling.
Not worth spending 90 minutes going back and forth for some mini hot dogs and budweiser (or gummy bears and no seat)?
fumje is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 18, 2:00 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: SFO / HGH
Programs: UA 1K, AS MVPG 75K, Marriott Gold, Hertz PC
Posts: 1,324
Originally Posted by tstauck View Post
Hi Everyone - trying to find out more info on this, I have about 3 hours to kill while going through ORD. Can I go to the International terminal with a United domestic boarding pass? I know in LAX you can, which is nice for the lounges and shopping.

Thanks,
- Tom
Yes, you can.
pushmyredbutton is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 18, 2:11 pm
  #8  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: SBA
Programs: UA Gold 1MM, Marriott Gold, IHG Gold, Hertz PC
Posts: 267
Thanks everyone for the feedback, sounds like I'll just stay in the United terminal and check out some of the restaurants there!
tstauck is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 18, 2:22 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: ORD/IND
Programs: UA Platinum, Avis Preferred, Hertz PC, Hyatt Discoverist , Marriott/SPG Platinum
Posts: 732
Add another to the list that thinks it is not worth the hassle to go over to T5. There is plenty to do in terminals 1, 2, and 3, and you can get to all of them airside (it's around a 3 mile walk if walk to the end of each terminal/concourse). T5 at ORD is nothing like TBT at LAX.
JDS747 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 11, 18, 3:09 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Francisco/Sydney
Programs: UA 1K/MM, TK Elite, DL Gold, Hilton Diamond, Marriott/SPG Gold, IHG Gold, Hertz PC, Avis First
Posts: 6,122
Having done this, I can confirm it can be done.

There's one potential exception to the comments above, and that's if you're arriving on an international flight into ORD. In that case, you're going to be at T5 anyway (landside), and you're going to have to catch the train anyway, so the only real impact is one additional trip through security.

Whilst there is an airside bus from TO T5, there is no airside bus back FROM T5 (logic being that if you're connecting from T5 then you're an international arrival so you're already landside). To catch the airside bus you need to show a boarding pass or other proof that you have a flight out of T5.
docbert is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 18, 7:13 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Posts: 561
Originally Posted by Repooc17 View Post
Agreed. T5 is not worth the trek over.

Also, no TSA Pre, so you may get stuck behind a long line to go through security. There is a separate line for premium cabin pax but you'd still go through security scan with the general public.
Correction to this, all lanes are considered TSA Pre now. TSO's will handle it on an individual basis per lane.
ords is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 18, 7:37 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Programs: AC E50K, AS MVP, Hertz PC, Hilton Diamond, Delta/Marriott/SPG/UA Plat
Posts: 1,004
Originally Posted by ords View Post
Correction to this, all lanes are considered TSA Pre now. TSO's will handle it on an individual basis per lane.
Aka TSA Pre lite. You would still get stuck with everyone else - at times the wait would be 30 minutes or more during the evening rush, for example. The only difference is going through security scan, but then again some TSA agents would ask you to take off your shoes anyway.

TSA Pre lite =/= TSA Pre
Repooc17 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 18, 7:48 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Programs: BA Silver, United 1K, HH Gold, SPG Platinum, Marriott Platinum
Posts: 2,253
Originally Posted by Repooc17 View Post
Aka TSA Pre lite. You would still get stuck with everyone else - at times the wait would be 30 minutes or more during the evening rush, for example. The only difference is going through security scan, but then again some TSA agents would ask you to take off your shoes anyway.

TSA Pre lite =/= TSA Pre
Then that would be the same system as some times of the day in Terminal A in EWR. I had the experience of wasting 45 minutes in that line.

I only flew 3 times out of Terminal 5: the lines for security were always extremely long and extremely disorganized. So, no, I would never go there just for tourism.
StuckinITH is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 18, 7:51 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: Chicago IL US
Programs: UA 1K; Hertz PC & Hotels Galore
Posts: 352
An FYI (I was looking for this answer recently and did not easily find it):

It works in the reverse as well. You can access T1 with a T5 BP. Great for visiting Polaris Lounge before *A T5 flights if you've got the time.
onthesam is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 12, 18, 7:56 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: DTW/MBS/AZO
Programs: UA 1K,AA Plat, Marriott Platinum, HHonors Diamond, Starbucks Gold
Posts: 2,613
Originally Posted by onthesam View Post
An FYI (I was looking for this answer recently and did not easily find it):

It works in the reverse as well. You can access T1 with a T5 BP. Great for visiting Polaris Lounge before *A T5 flights if you've got the time.
So that's a perfect scenario of when this would be applicable and I would argue very worthwhile. Especially if it's an airline that participates in precheck. You get a full precheck line, the polaris lounge (or any regular lounge for non longhaul J/*G), and you have the opportunity to take the shuttle bus over.
BThumme is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: