FlyerTalk Forums

FlyerTalk Forums (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/index.php)
-   United Airlines | MileagePlus (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/united-airlines-mileageplus-681/)
-   -   Earning UA mileage credit for Air NZ flights (https://www.flyertalk.com/forum/united-airlines-mileageplus/1926464-earning-ua-mileage-credit-air-nz-flights.html)

Carl235 Aug 22, 2015 9:46 am

UA Miles for Virgin Australia flight on Air New Zealand Metal?

Newbie here and I have found a ton of great info on this forum. I am looking at an itinerary that includes a flight from CHC to SYD on Virgin Australia flight (VA7402 code share) on Air New Zealand metal. Given that ANZ is Star Alliance, can I get United PQM and/or Award Miles for this flight? Thanks in advance.

mduell Aug 22, 2015 9:54 am

Yes, UA MP (and *A in general) earning is always by operating carrier.

mahasamatman Aug 22, 2015 10:04 am

Welcome to FT, Carl235!

Originally Posted by Carl235 (Post 25310725)
Given that ANZ is Star Alliance, can I get United PQM and/or Award Miles for this flight?

Yes. Mileage earning is based on operating carrier, so the fact that there's a VA flight number is irrelevant as long as it's operated by NZ. (I think mduell misread the question.)

transportprof Aug 22, 2015 10:15 am

It's actually more complicated....

Although you could be eligible to earn miles basd on NZ being the operating carrier, whether you will earn miles, or not, depends on the fare class that your ticket is flown in. There is a list of eligible fare classes here:

http://www.united.com/CMS/en-US/mark...spx?ItemId=379

Note that there are different eligibility for domestic, trans-Tasman, and International trips. Also note that the fare class you purchase through VA may map into a different fare class on NZ.