Geopolitical rerouting in Asia

Old Apr 15, 18, 6:37 pm
  #1  
iwc
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 479
Geopolitical rerouting in Asia

Just noticed that todays flight UA 48 EWR-BOM is showing on flight aware as blocked for 17 h 31m.

Looks like they are avoiding Russian airspace.
iwc is offline  
Old Apr 15, 18, 6:46 pm
  #2  
Moderator: United Airlines; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SFO
Programs: UA Plat 1.85MM, Hyatt Discoverist, Marriott Plat/LT Gold, Hilton Silver, IHG Gold
Posts: 52,065
Originally Posted by iwc View Post
Just noticed that todays flight UA 48 EWR-BOM is showing on flight aware as blocked for 17 h 31m.

Looks like they are avoiding Russian airspace.
Multiple news reports on USA air carriers doing this
such as American Airlines warns pilots some Asia flights could be rerouted amid tensions with Russia - causing technical stops in some cases due to fuel or crew timeouts.
All the frequency flyer boggers are also reporting this.

Flights over syria and elsewhere may be impacted also.
WineCountryUA is offline  
Old Apr 15, 18, 7:55 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Programs: Hertz PC
Posts: 644
Geopolitical rerouting in Asia

Does United have routes that go over Russia?

AA announced it will may start rerouting around Russia for geopolitical reasons.
bhunt is offline  
Old Apr 15, 18, 7:56 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Programs: UA 1K (Million Miler). AA Gold (lifetime 1 Million). TK Elite Gold
Posts: 782
Originally Posted by bhunt View Post
Does United have routes that go over Russia?

AA announced it will may start rerouting around Russia for geopolitical reasons.
EWR-NRT overflies Russia
EWR-HKG overflies Russia
ORD-HKG overflies Russia
tagamakati888 and tuolumne like this.

Last edited by cagcag; Apr 15, 18 at 8:05 pm
cagcag is offline  
Old Apr 15, 18, 8:10 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Programs: AS MVPG, Hertz PC, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Platinum + LT Silver, Delta/United Gold
Posts: 3,252
Originally Posted by bhunt View Post
Does United have routes that go over Russia?

AA announced it will may start rerouting around Russia for geopolitical reasons.
Most of its TPAC flights use the Russian airspace, since the polar route is the most efficient in terms of distance.
Repooc17 is offline  
Old Apr 15, 18, 8:11 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Jan 2017
Location: Portland OR
Programs: United 1K 1MM, Marriott Bonvoy Platinum, Hilton HHonors Gold
Posts: 560
Originally Posted by bhunt View Post
Does United have routes that go over Russia?
Lots. EWR to China, Hong Kong and India to name a few.

AA rerouted DFW-PEK and DFW-HKG via LAX yesterday. But today they're back to flying non stop today.
usbusinesstraveller is offline  
Old Apr 15, 18, 8:12 pm
  #7  
Used to be MBS PremExec
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Saginaw, MI USA (MBS)
Programs: UA 1K 1.9MM, Marriott Plat w/Lifetime Gold, Hilton LT ♢, National Exec, Sixt Plat
Posts: 5,320
Originally Posted by bhunt View Post
Does United have routes that go over Russia?
Many. At least a dozen daily, maybe even closer to 2 dozen.

Just about every US-China flight touches Russian airspace. But on flight aware and UA’s “where is this aircraft currently”, today’s flights like ORD-HKG, SFO-HKG, SFO-PVG, ORD-PVG, EWR-PVG and the PEK flights are all flying in Russian airspace, as they did yesterday. The flight plan is, however, zig-zagging them around [omni comment removed by moderator] Pyongyang.

Last edited by l etoile; Apr 15, 18 at 9:06 pm Reason: omni comment removed
MBS MillionMiler is offline  
Old Apr 15, 18, 8:18 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: NYC (Primarily EWR)
Programs: UA 1K / *G; Marriott Bonvoy Gold; ALL Gold; Hertz PC
Posts: 7,823
Originally Posted by Repooc17 View Post
Most of its TPAC flights use the Russian airspace, since the polar route is the most efficient in terms of distance.
Not always. I flew TPE-JFK on BR 2 months ago, and we didn't fly over Russian airspace at all despite it being the scientifically shortest route. I imagine that the issue will mostly come into play for westbound TPAC routings from the East Coast. I expect my LAX-SIN flight next month to have no issues.
PsiFighter37 is offline  
Old Apr 15, 18, 8:22 pm
  #9  
Moderator: United Airlines; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SFO
Programs: UA Plat 1.85MM, Hyatt Discoverist, Marriott Plat/LT Gold, Hilton Silver, IHG Gold
Posts: 52,065
Originally Posted by PsiFighter37 View Post
Not always. I flew TPE-JFK on BR 2 months ago, and we didn't fly over Russian airspace at all despite it being the scientifically shortest route.....
Upper atmosphere winds, jet stream is usually the cause not to fly great circle routing.
zspitzer and ContinentalFan like this.
WineCountryUA is offline  
Old Apr 15, 18, 8:30 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: NYC (Primarily EWR)
Programs: UA 1K / *G; Marriott Bonvoy Gold; ALL Gold; Hertz PC
Posts: 7,823
Originally Posted by Repooc17 View Post
Most of its TPAC flights use the Russian airspace, since the polar route is the most efficient in terms of distance.
Originally Posted by WineCountryUA View Post
Upper atmosphere winds, jet stream is usually the cause not to fly great circle routing.
Hence my comment about westbound flights
PsiFighter37 is offline  
Old Apr 15, 18, 8:44 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: MRY - CNX - TXL
Programs: UA 1K / *G / Marriott PE / Expedia Gold+ / Hertz PC
Posts: 7,060
I follow a maps IG (not exclusively aviation) which posted this today.
tagamakati888 and muji like this.
JVPhoto is offline  
Old Apr 15, 18, 9:48 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Programs: All of them, UA-Plat, 1MM*G
Posts: 835
Note that Russia collects large overflight fees (in hard currency) from flights that go over its territory -- so unless they want to shoot the golden goose, they likely won't mess with them.
UAL250 likes this.
seenitall is offline  
Old Apr 15, 18, 10:24 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Aug 2017
Posts: 84
Pretty much all flights from China to northern part of the US goes through Russia if they fly the shortest route. Some routes from China (especially southern part of china, anything south to PVG) to southern part of the US (SFO, LAX, etc) fly over the pacific. Russia actually surrounds China in the north, so if you want to fly to PEK from north, east, you HAVE to go through Russia, or you can reroute through North Korea which is not appealing. Rerouting through South Korea/Japan increases distance significantly for PEK-US routes, but is a usual routine for PVG-US flights.
Flyingwasabi is offline  
Old Apr 16, 18, 12:46 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: PMD
Programs: UA*G, NW, AA. WR, HH, IHG, Accor. TT-GE.
Posts: 2,242
Originally Posted by MBS MillionMiler View Post
The flight plan is, however, zig-zagging them around [omni comment removed by moderator] Pyongyang.
No, that zig-zag is a plotting bug. Some point in Siberia or Manchuia is mistakenly plotted over Japan. DPRK has always been avoided. Nothing to zig-zag around. As for US-ICN, depending on winds, you either come in through Oakland/Anchorage Oceanic airspace over Honshu or through Russian/Chinese airspace through Shandong.
HkCaGu is offline  
Old Apr 16, 18, 1:38 am
  #15  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 13,708
Originally Posted by cagcag View Post
EWR-NRT overflies Russia
EWR-HKG overflies Russia
ORD-HKG overflies Russia
LAX-SIN and SFO-SIN sometimes also fly over Russia for a few hundred miles.
ContinentalFan is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: