Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus
Reload this Page >

Have a Simple Question About United Airlines/MileagePlus? Ask Here [2018]

Have a Simple Question About United Airlines/MileagePlus? Ask Here [2018]

    Hide Wikipost
Old Jan 1, 18, 1:57 pm   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: WineCountryUA
Wiki Link
Welcome to this thread to ask your basic, simple questions about United Airlines, its operations, or the MileagePlus program. We know that the airline is complex and we’ve created this thread for new and veteran members to ask those basic questions about United Airlines that you think must have an easy answer but just can’t find it or aren’t sure where to look.

UA Moderator Team
Ocn Vw 1K, l'etoile, J.Edward, goalie, Pat89339, WineCountryUA

These are the two rules for this thread:
  1. Use this thread for a simple, basic question. Moderators may move posts to other threads if the question deserves its own thread.
  2. Any member who can post a constructive, patient answer is welcome to reply.

Generally, there are not long discussions of an issue in this thread. If it appears that is needed, the posts will be moved to an existing thread or used as the start of a new separate thread.

Additional tools for members seeking information about MileagePlus:

United MileagePlus Master Wiki

"New" United Airlines Forum Glossary

Here is a link to recent previous threads:
Have a Simple Question About United Airlines/MileagePlus? Ask Here [2017]

Have a Simple Question About United Airlines/MileagePlus? Ask Here [2016 Part II]

Have a Simple Question About United Airlines/MileagePlus? Ask Here [2016 Part I]

Have a Simple Question About United Airlines/MileagePlus? Ask Here [2015 -Part II]...

Have a Simple Question About United Airlines/MileagePlus? Ask Here [2015 Thread]...
Print Wikipost

Closed Thread

Old Aug 10, 18, 11:43 am
  #1081  
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 7,922
Originally Posted by EmailKid View Post
While I'm unable to find your flight (on a random date), I can almost guarantee you that there WILL be a plane change. Probably same flight number (married segments?), but change of planes.
Not "married segments," but rather a direct flight (with an enroute stop).

The chances that it is the same plane are exactly the same as it would be if the flight numbers changed. There is no advantage to booking a direct flight in terms of making your connection.
jsloan is offline  
Old Aug 10, 18, 12:41 pm
  #1082  
RNE
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: AKC
Programs: UA Electrum, Crown&Anchor Diamond, CaptainsCircle Platinum
Posts: 7,865
Originally Posted by EmailKid View Post
While I'm unable to find your flight (on a random date), I can almost guarantee you that there WILL be a plane change.
December 29.

However, when booking it you should see same seatmap for both flights showing the occupied seats for BOTH legs.
What you're saying only makes sense if the same plane flies both legs. Are you suggesting the "plane change" notation is incorrect?

Originally Posted by findark View Post
Today's UA763 was operated by a 738 on CLE-DEN and a 739 on DEN-SAN, so it could theoretically also involve a change of gauge too.
I agree. All the more reason for there to be two seat maps, not one.

Originally Posted by jsloan View Post
There is no advantage to booking a direct flight in terms of making your connection.
Thanks, but I'm not concerned about my connection. I'm concerned about seat selection. Again, if there are two planes, why is there only one seat map?

RNE, suspecting the "plane change" notation is a proviso UA puts on all direct flights without regard to specific direct flights; it's a catch-all. Perhaps it should say "may require a plane change." And if so, a second seat map would be displayed.
RNE is offline  
Old Aug 10, 18, 12:52 pm
  #1083  
Moderator: Budget Travel forum & Credit Card Programs, FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: YYJ/YVR/SEA
Programs: UA lifetime MM / *A Gold
Posts: 13,030
Originally Posted by RNE View Post

RNE, suspecting the "plane change" notation is a proviso UA puts on all direct flights without regard to specific direct flights; it's a catch-all. Perhaps it should say "may require a plane change." And if so, a second seat map would be displayed.
There is no specific aircraft assigned for those flights on Dec 29, and the two segments show different seat occupied (FC empty on both legs).

Again, if you use multi city, it shows two different seatmaps. You may be charged $5 extra landing fee is booked as multi city.
EmailKid is offline  
Old Aug 10, 18, 1:16 pm
  #1084  
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 7,922
Originally Posted by RNE View Post
Thanks, but I'm not concerned about my connection. I'm concerned about seat selection. Again, if there are two planes, why is there only one seat map?
Because that's yet another downside of direct flights. They cause havoc for seat assignments. The through flight seat map should show only the seats that are available on both legs for advance assignment. The island hopper works the same way.

Originally Posted by RNE View Post
RNE, suspecting the "plane change" notation is a proviso UA puts on all direct flights without regard to specific direct flights; it's a catch-all. Perhaps it should say "may require a plane change." And if so, a second seat map would be displayed.
You're putting way too much thought into this. Whether it's one plane or two, you'd have all the same issues with the seat map; you'd still have passengers flying SAN-DEN and others flying DEN-CLE.
jsloan is offline  
Old Aug 10, 18, 1:20 pm
  #1085  
RNE
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: AKC
Programs: UA Electrum, Crown&Anchor Diamond, CaptainsCircle Platinum
Posts: 7,865
Originally Posted by EmailKid View Post
There is no specific aircraft assigned for those flights on Dec 29, and the two segments show different seat occupied (FC empty on both legs).
So, you're seeing two seat maps that are different? Therefore, in theory, one could determine what the two aircraft might be based on their seat layout? My real question is, how do I select over-wing exit seats that are not the ones father's back? I want to have E+ people sitting behind me, not E-.

Edit: I want to select seats in Row 20 because Row 21 is E+. If I select, say seats 20A&B, will I get those seats on both planes or maybe not? And how do I know both planes have the same Row 20/21 setup? (Yes, I know most 737s have that exit rows arrangement, but not all do, right?)

Last edited by RNE; Aug 10, 18 at 1:36 pm Reason: Added details.
RNE is offline  
Old Aug 10, 18, 1:36 pm
  #1086  
Moderator: Budget Travel forum & Credit Card Programs, FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: YYJ/YVR/SEA
Programs: UA lifetime MM / *A Gold
Posts: 13,030
Originally Posted by RNE View Post
So, you're seeing two seat maps that are different? Therefore, in theory, one could determine what the two aircraft might be based on their seat layout? My real question is, how do I select over-wing exit seats that are not the ones father's back? I want to have E+ people sitting behind me, not E-.
OK, now you are losing me. If it's Row 20 you want to avoid Kettles kicking your seatback at the cost of nonreclining seat, ALL six are available to select right now. Both legs, also visible / available on direct flight with DEN stop / maybe plane change.

Originally Posted by RNE View Post

(Yes, I know most 737s have that exit rows arrangement, but not all do, right?)
Wrong, ALL Boeing and Airbus single aisle aircraft have bulkhead row 7* and exit row 21 with 20 being an exit row on A320 and NON 73G. One of few post mergers changes that I like

This far out frames may be substituted. Case in point, my carefully chosen 7A turned into 8A when UA swapped 738 for 739 with mid cabin lav. I doubt they would go from 739 to 73G or 319, but .....

* OK, there's the 739 with Baño

Last edited by EmailKid; Aug 10, 18 at 1:49 pm Reason: Adding personal example
EmailKid is offline  
Old Aug 10, 18, 2:15 pm
  #1087  
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: DEN
Programs: United Silver, Hilton Silver, Hertz President's Circle
Posts: 615
Originally Posted by EmailKid View Post
OK, now you are losing me. If it's Row 20 you want to avoid Kettles kicking your seatback at the cost of nonreclining seat, ALL six are available to select right now. Both legs, also visible / available on direct flight with DEN stop / maybe plane change.



Wrong, ALL Boeing and Airbus single aisle aircraft have bulkhead row 7* and exit row 21 with 20 being an exit row on A320 and NON 73G. One of few post mergers changes that I like

This far out frames may be substituted. Case in point, my carefully chosen 7A turned into 8A when UA swapped 738 for 739 with mid cabin lav. I doubt they would go from 739 to 73G or 319, but .....

* OK, there's the 739 with Baño
Actually, I flew in a newly configured 757-300 recently in the back exit row, which was row 23. So it looks like there may be at least one exception to this rule.
BBSHOPSINGER is offline  
Old Aug 10, 18, 2:22 pm
  #1088  
Moderator: Budget Travel forum & Credit Card Programs, FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: YYJ/YVR/SEA
Programs: UA lifetime MM / *A Gold
Posts: 13,030
Originally Posted by BBSHOPSINGER View Post
Actually, I flew in a newly configured 757-300 recently in the back exit row, which was row 23. So it looks like there may be at least one exception to this rule.


Oh wow, totally missed this

Guess that is the new slimline config. Also added the two extra 7DE seats that PMUA had (IIRC) making old 7ABC now 8ABC.

I can only assume that they don't plan on swapping 73 for 75 like they did every once in a great while.
EmailKid is offline  
Old Aug 10, 18, 2:46 pm
  #1089  
2019 FlyerTalk Awards
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: SFO
Programs: COdbaUA Platinum 2MM
Posts: 4,920
Originally Posted by BBSHOPSINGER View Post
Actually, I flew in a newly configured 757-300 recently in the back exit row, which was row 23. So it looks like there may be at least one exception to this rule.
In the new high density configuration, only true exit row is row 21. Row 23 is just a regular E+ row. 23 A&F do not have a seat in front of them.

Slimline 757-300 (753) w/ 20 more Y seats & odd interim seatmap
1KChinito is offline  
Old Aug 10, 18, 4:15 pm
  #1090  
RNE
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: AKC
Programs: UA Electrum, Crown&Anchor Diamond, CaptainsCircle Platinum
Posts: 7,865
Originally Posted by EmailKid View Post
If it's Row 20 you want to avoid Kettles kicking your seatback at the cost of nonreclining seat...
Bingo!

...ALL six are available to select right now.
But there are 12 seats in Row 20 because there are two planes. I don't know how to select Row 20 seats for both flights.

P.S. Yes, I know equipment can be substituted at any time from now to the moment of departure and I know United could reassign my seats likewise, so nothing is certain. I get that. Still, I want to select my exit row seats now.
RNE is offline  
Old Aug 10, 18, 4:22 pm
  #1091  
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: MSP
Programs: UA 1K, DL, WN, Global Entry; +others wherever miles/points are found
Posts: 8,275
If you have a single seatmap in your reservation for CLE-SAN, selecting a seat will work for both flights at the same time. This is at the cost of being unable to select any seats which are occupied on either segment (CLE-DEN or DEN-SAN). None of this has any relation to whether there is a change of aircraft in DEN.

I believe that if there is a change to the assignment such that your direct flight has a change of gauge in DEN, then you will be able to select seats on each segment separately, but someone else should back me up on this.
RNE likes this.
findark is offline  
Old Aug 10, 18, 4:37 pm
  #1092  
Moderator: Budget Travel forum & Credit Card Programs, FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: YYJ/YVR/SEA
Programs: UA lifetime MM / *A Gold
Posts: 13,030
Originally Posted by RNE View Post
Bingo!

But there are 12 seats in Row 20 because there are two planes.
I don't know how to select Row 20 seats for both flights.

P.S. Yes, I know equipment can be substituted at any time from now to the moment of departure and I know United could reassign my seats likewise, so nothing is certain. I get that. Still, I want to select my exit row seats now.
OK, now I finally understand what you are trying to accomplish

Originally Posted by findark;30069621

If you have a single seatmap in your reservation for CLE-SAN, selecting a seat will work for both flights at the same time. This is at the cost of being unable to select any seats which are occupied on either segment (CLE-DEN or DEN-SAN). None of this has any relation to whether there is a change of aircraft in DEN
This.

Originally Posted by findark;30069621I [i
believe[/i] that if there is a change to the assignment such that your direct flight has a change of gauge in DEN, then you will be able to select seats on each segment separately, but someone else should back me up on this.
Yup, that should apply.
EmailKid is offline  
Old Aug 11, 18, 1:25 am
  #1093  
 
Join Date: Oct 2015
Location: Ljungby, Sweden
Programs: SAS Diamond, UAMP Platinum, Hilton Gold, Marriott Gold
Posts: 58
Few Questions about PQM, booking mileage tickets/upgrades, purchasing tickets

Hi again, I was just wondering if having premier status, whether silver, gold etc gives you additional PQM when you fly or if the additional mi you accrue are just for the regular earning miles.

My second question involves when booking a ticket/upgrade using miles, I understand a mileage ticket doesn’t earn miles but if you pay for a ticket then upgrade with miles, can you earn any miles at all ?

and lastly, in the interest of maximizing my PQMs quickly, I’m just wondering if booking direct with United matters. Like if I’m booking the exact same itinerary, regardless of whether United or *A or both, would exact same itinerary booked on a 3rd party site, accrue the same mileage as booking direct with United would? Pricing is obviously different with 3rd party being cheaper than UA direct with all flights being equal.

Thank you!!!
Shoredreamer is offline  
Old Aug 11, 18, 1:39 am
  #1094  
Moderator: United Airlines; FlyerTalk Evangelist
2019 FlyerTalk Awards
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SFO
Programs: UA Gold 1.8MM, Hyatt Discoverist, Marriott Gold, Hilton Silver, IHG Gold
Posts: 45,260
Originally Posted by Shoredreamer View Post
[left]Hi again, I was just wondering if having premier status, whether silver, gold etc gives you additional PQM when you fly or if the additional mi you accrue are just for the regular earning miles. ...
PQM earnings is unaffected by status.
RDM (award miles) might be affected by status when flying a few partners (AC, LH, NH, ...) and not on a UA 016 ticket.

Originally Posted by Shoredreamer View Post
My second question involves when booking a ticket/upgrade using miles, I understand a mileage ticket doesn’t earn miles but if you pay for a ticket then upgrade with miles, can you earn any miles at all ? ...
a paid ticket upgraded with miles, GPU, RPU or CPU earns RDMs / PQMs based on the original purchased fare -- unchanged by the upgrade

Originally Posted by Shoredreamer View Post
... , in the interest of maximizing my PQMs quickly, I’m just wondering if booking direct with United matters.....
PQM earning does not matter on ticket stock or from which airline the itin purchase (assuming we are comparing identical itins)
WineCountryUA is offline  
Old Aug 11, 18, 1:45 am
  #1095  
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 7,922
Originally Posted by Shoredreamer View Post
Hi again, I was just wondering if having premier status, whether silver, gold etc gives you additional PQM when you fly or if the additional mi you accrue are just for the regular earning miles.

No additional PQMs, except that a Premier will get a 500 PQM minimum on short routes operated by some airlines, including UA.

Originally Posted by Shoredreamer View Post
My second question involves when booking a ticket/upgrade using miles, I understand a mileage ticket doesn’t earn miles but if you pay for a ticket then upgrade with miles, can you earn any miles at all ?
Yes.

Originally Posted by Shoredreamer View Post
and lastly, in the interest of maximizing my PQMs quickly, I’m just wondering if booking direct with United matters. Like if I’m booking the exact same itinerary, regardless of whether United or *A or both, would exact same itinerary booked on a 3rd party site, accrue the same mileage as booking direct with United would?
It depends upon why the price is different. In general, PQM are the same whether you purchase from United or from another airline. If you're seeing a different price because the underlying fare class is different, the earnings may be different too -- generally more of a problem in economy than in business, though. If it's a different price because the third-party airline is a consolidator, who buys tickets in bulk from United and then re-sells them, you'll want to read the rules carefully before purchase. Some (but not all) bulk tickets disallow earning miles. There's a thread regarding consolidators here: Purchasing UA tickets from consolidator agencies -- downsides, issues?

ETA: For brevity, I agree with what WineCountryUA wrote.
jsloan is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread