Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus
Reload this Page >

[Consolidated] Chance of upgrade clearing on my flight

[Consolidated] Chance of upgrade clearing on my flight

    Hide Wikipost
Old Jun 22, 19, 6:13 am   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: WineCountryUA
Wiki Link
Print Wikipost

Reply

Old Oct 30, 18, 7:27 am
  #376  
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 3
Good Morning,

I have no status with United and am currently booked with a L fare class ticket between IAD and LAS for this Thursday at 8:15am.

Current available fare classes: J2, JN2, C2, D1, Z1, ZN1, P0, PN0, PZ0, IN0, I0, Y3, YN3, B3, M3, E2, U1, H1, HN0, Q1, V1, W1, S0, T0, L0, K0, G0, N3, XN0, X0.

I've put in for a miles upgrade request @ 20k miles.

Do I have any chance of getting upgraded? Just want to mentally prepare and am new to all of this. Thank you for your help!
Stulgs is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 18, 12:22 pm
  #377  
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 8,957
Originally Posted by Stulgs View Post
Do I have any chance of getting upgraded? Just want to mentally prepare and am new to all of this. Thank you for your help!
Not really, no. Youíll be behind Global Services members on complimentary upgrades, and (likely) every single other passenger with an instrument waitlisted (upgrade cerificate or miles + copay, as youíve done). Thatís because those requests are ordered first by status and then by fare class.

As there are only two seats currently available, itís a pretty good bet that they will sell them between now and then, or someone whoís booked into first class will change to that flight. They will also offer to sell those seats at check-in to everyone seated in economy.

Your best bet is to hope for a large number of misconnecting passengers ó or to look for an appealing offer during check-in.

Good luck!
jsloan is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 18, 2:37 pm
  #378  
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Programs: United
Posts: 30
Originally Posted by cesco.g View Post
Depending on flexibility you could also SDC via IAD, LHR, FRA, MUC, AMS, BRU etc, given the many TATL flights out of EWR/IAD.
Good luck!
Well, this is exactly what I ended up doing. Gather round and hear the story, kids.

I had two separate reservations - roundtrips from IAD-EWR and EWR-ZRH.

Return flight ZRH>EWR had two first class seats at 24h in, so pretty much not gonna happen. Was offered new itinerary of ZRH>IAD>EWR when I checked in and ZRH>IAD had 8 available seats with inventory for immediate upgrade on a shiny new 787 to boot. I called United, who helpfully told me if I wanted to just stop in IAD rather than taking ZRH>IAD>EWR>IAD that I would have to pay a change fee. I thanked them for their oh-so-helpful customer service, shifted to the new flight online, got my upgrade, and when I landed in IAD, ripped off my bag tags before clearing customs and asked them to re-check my bags to the non-international baggage claim after clearing customs. Luggage ops guy gave me a little guff but issued me a white tag and it ended up (30 minutes later) on the regular luggage carousel.

No nastygram from United yet, but I'm not going to take it from them as a newly-minted 1K with 90+ PQS (most being paid CONUS first).
AirborneCattleCar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 18, 2:42 pm
  #379  
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: MSP
Programs: UA 1K, DL PM, WN, Global Entry; +others wherever miles/points are found
Posts: 8,863
Originally Posted by AirborneCattleCar View Post
when I landed in IAD, ripped off my bag tags before clearing customs and asked them to re-check my bags to the non-international baggage claim after clearing customs. Luggage ops guy gave me a little guff but issued me a white tag and it ended up (30 minutes later) on the regular luggage carousel.
That's.. bold. I probably would have just hopped up to EWR and checked out the Polaris lounge, but ymmv.
findark is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 18, 2:52 pm
  #380  
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Programs: United
Posts: 30
Originally Posted by findark View Post
That's.. bold. I probably would have just hopped up to EWR and checked out the Polaris lounge, but ymmv.
​​​​​​​Perhaps, but I've really just had it with UAL between IAD-EWR and IAD-ORD. Fully 75% of my flights between these airports this year have been late according to my search for united "flight delay" in my Gmail.

Sure enough, I saw that had I taken the flight, the return from EWR>IAD was so late that it didn't take off until after it was supposed to have landed in IAD.

Customs didn't give a crap, they actually assisted me in getting it tagged correctly to the main terminal carousel.

EDIT: I will say the Polaris lounge is amazing at EWR and am looking forward to using it on an upcoming paid-F OCONUS trip. Just tired of the incessant flight delays and the no-good-reason for not being able to just stop in IAD.
AirborneCattleCar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 18, 2:58 pm
  #381  
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 8,957
Originally Posted by AirborneCattleCar View Post
the no-good-reason for not being able to just stop in IAD.
You mean, besides the fact that you didnít have a ticket to IAD?
jsloan is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 18, 3:06 pm
  #382  
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Programs: United
Posts: 30
Originally Posted by jsloan View Post

You mean, besides the fact that you didnít have a ticket to IAD?
Besides the fact I did because A) I was there and B) had an additional ticket there from EWR later that day?
AirborneCattleCar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 18, 3:12 pm
  #383  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: BOS/EAP
Programs: UA 1K, MR LTT, HH Gold, Amex Plat
Posts: 23,940
Originally Posted by AirborneCattleCar View Post
Well, this is exactly what I ended up doing. Gather round and hear the story, kids.

I had two separate reservations - roundtrips from IAD-EWR and EWR-ZRH.

Return flight ZRH>EWR had two first class seats at 24h in, so pretty much not gonna happen. Was offered new itinerary of ZRH>IAD>EWR when I checked in and ZRH>IAD had 8 available seats with inventory for immediate upgrade on a shiny new 787 to boot. I called United, who helpfully told me if I wanted to just stop in IAD rather than taking ZRH>IAD>EWR>IAD that I would have to pay a change fee. I thanked them for their oh-so-helpful customer service, shifted to the new flight online, got my upgrade, and when I landed in IAD, ripped off my bag tags before clearing customs and asked them to re-check my bags to the non-international baggage claim after clearing customs. Luggage ops guy gave me a little guff but issued me a white tag and it ended up (30 minutes later) on the regular luggage carousel.

No nastygram from United yet, but I'm not going to take it from them as a newly-minted 1K with 90+ PQS (most being paid CONUS first).
It is bold and risky. Of course United does not offer any First TATL, so I am not sure how you are claiming to be flying that on UA all the time. 1K w/ 90 PQS is nothing in their books; they are known to show GS the door when they are caught violating rules. You will probably get away with this, but if you make it a habit ... they will come after you. Trust me ... and your shiny new 1K status will be gone faster than you can refresh your screen
cfischer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 18, 3:22 pm
  #384  
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Programs: United
Posts: 30
Originally Posted by cfischer View Post
It is bold and risky. Of course United does not offer any First TATL, so I am not sure how you are claiming to be flying that on UA all the time. 1K w/ 90 PQS is nothing in their books; they are known to show GS the door when they are caught violating rules. You will probably get away with this, but if you make it a habit ... they will come after you. Trust me ... and your shiny new 1K status will be gone faster than you can refresh your screen
Maybe before that, I should status match on Delta and have half a chance of being on time more often, who knows?

I have no doubt if I made it a habit they'd boot me. Hopefully they don't for this one case.

EDIT: Sorry just caught this
Originally Posted by cfischer View Post
It is bold and risky. Of course United does not offer any First TATL,
Almost all of my travel this year (so far) is grinding miles in CONUS first. Q4 ended up being where all of my international travel got stuck.

Last edited by AirborneCattleCar; Oct 30, 18 at 3:31 pm
AirborneCattleCar is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 18, 4:41 pm
  #385  
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: WAS
Programs: UA Platinum, AA Gold
Posts: 85
Originally Posted by shutter41 View Post
IAD-ZRH UA 52 (13/39 booked; P9 PN9 PZ9; 2-2-2)
IAD-FRA UA 989 (15/48 booked; P9 PN9 PZ9; 2-4-2)
IAH-AMS UA 20 (25/50 booked; P9 PN9 PZ9; 2-2-2)
ORD-FRA UA 907 (25/48 booked; P9 PN9 PZ8; 2-4-2)
IAH-LHR UA 880 (34/50 booked; P7 PN0 PZ0; 2-2-2)
Originally Posted by Kacee View Post
Yeah that's a really good sign for IN opening. I'd waitlist IAH-AMS then keep an eye on it.
Originally Posted by jsloan View Post
OP: Assuming none of those flights have I space, thereís really no difference between IAH-AMS and IAD-ZRH. They both have about the same number of available seats, so I donít think youíre being foolish to select one over the other. It seems UA doesnít really think they can sell all of the seats on either; hence, the PZ space.
Originally Posted by cfischer View Post
+1 IAH-AMS is a very easy award/upgrade
Originally Posted by findark View Post
Yeah, +1 for IAH-AMS also because it's the longer flight.
Thanks for the help everyone! Upgrade cleared on IAH-AMS about 12 hours after waitlisting.
shutter41 is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 18, 10:30 pm
  #386  
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Programs: *A "Top 1000 2015", FB Lifetime Plat., UA 1K; Marriott Gold; Hilton Gold.
Posts: 383
strangeness in expert mode: direct vs indirect flights

I'm guaging my chances of upgrading to the UK this Friday with a GPU. At present no PZ availability on any routing that I can spot. But I have noted what I think are inconsistencies whilst searching. If I search with expert mode for SFO-LHR then it just shows J1 on UA930. But if I search PHX-LHR and look at the option that goes via SFO and the UA930 then it shows J3. I really don't understand why the direct flight shows fewer biz seats available. I would have thought the same, or at least more. - Either way my chances aren't great of course, so I'm gettting ready for a SDC to a gateway with better chances. Any explanation greatefullly accepted (along with advice as to which figure to believe! At present there are 4 seats free in the seat map, which of course doesn't really mean anything. Thanks.
Leedsflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 30, 18, 11:19 pm
  #387  
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: MSP
Programs: UA 1K, DL PM, WN, Global Entry; +others wherever miles/points are found
Posts: 8,863
Could have been an expiring hold or a cancel - I think you just saw different inventory between your searches. I see J3 Y8 for 02-Nov-18 SFOLHR UA930, and the same if searched from Phoenix. Yes, you're not likely to clear of course.

Ed. to add flight status shows 44 (+3 blocked)/50 and the equipment is currently a Polaris/PE 772 with one (middle) seat left in the PE cabin. I think that's just over by 3 in Y on the basis of the Y8, but it's hard to tell.

Last edited by findark; Oct 30, 18 at 11:26 pm
findark is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 18, 5:13 am
  #388  
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: MCO
Programs: UA GS 1MM ★G | DL Silver | Marriott LT Ti | Hilton ♦ | Hertz PC | Global Entry TSA Pre
Posts: 2,617
Originally Posted by Leedsflyer View Post
I'm guaging my chances of upgrading to the UK this Friday with a GPU. At present no PZ availability on any routing that I can spot. But I have noted what I think are inconsistencies whilst searching. If I search with expert mode for SFO-LHR then it just shows J1 on UA930. But if I search PHX-LHR and look at the option that goes via SFO and the UA930 then it shows J3. I really don't understand why the direct flight shows fewer biz seats available. I would have thought the same, or at least more. - Either way my chances aren't great of course, so I'm gettting ready for a SDC to a gateway with better chances. Any explanation greatefullly accepted (along with advice as to which figure to believe! At present there are 4 seats free in the seat map, which of course doesn't really mean anything. Thanks.
Chances slim. I would bet routing through SFO would be a higher-reward risk since there are often missed connections there. If you are booked in a more expensive fare class in Y, you will likely be near top of the list (behind GS of course) and have a shot. If you're on a W fare, chances are slim....
jjmoore is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 18, 8:01 am
  #389  
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Yorkshire, UK
Programs: *A "Top 1000 2015", FB Lifetime Plat., UA 1K; Marriott Gold; Hilton Gold.
Posts: 383
thanks for the replies. I'm in H, so quite a bit better chance than W. I did flip back and forth several times between searching direct and indirect and got discrepancies each time, but today it's showing J3 however I search. Switching to ORD on the UA938 now looks like my best bet now as there is J9 PZ6 -- but I'll have to pay change fee to grab that now or hope it's still there on thursday pm when I can SDC. But it only shows J9 PZ7 when I search direct; if I search from PHX, it shows J7 PZ0 if connecting with UA523 at 1120 and J2 PZ0 if connecting on the UA2000 at 1440. These last two are in the same search, so how come it shows J7 with one connection and J2 with the other, let alone J9 PZ6 on a separate direct search???
Leedsflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Oct 31, 18, 9:32 am
  #390  
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: MSP
Programs: UA 1K, DL PM, WN, Global Entry; +others wherever miles/points are found
Posts: 8,863
Originally Posted by Leedsflyer View Post
thanks for the replies. I'm in H, so quite a bit better chance than W. I did flip back and forth several times between searching direct and indirect and got discrepancies each time, but today it's showing J3 however I search. Switching to ORD on the UA938 now looks like my best bet now as there is J9 PZ6 -- but I'll have to pay change fee to grab that now or hope it's still there on thursday pm when I can SDC. But it only shows J9 PZ7 when I search direct; if I search from PHX, it shows J7 PZ0 if connecting with UA523 at 1120 and J2 PZ0 if connecting on the UA2000 at 1440. These last two are in the same search, so how come it shows J7 with one connection and J2 with the other, let alone J9 PZ6 on a separate direct search???
I'd say the odds of the PZ7 vanishing overnight are pretty small, but there's always a risk. The reason you see what you're seeing is because UA523 is J7 PZ0 and UA2000 is J2 -- when you search multiple segments the inventory is "married" (usually just the set intersection but it could be more complicated).

Also worth noting that because UA930 is over by 3, there are actually 6 seats in J left are some are "protected" from TODs by the oversell. I think the fluctuation you saw from J1 to J3 is because loading the Polaris 772 added 2 premium seats.
findark is online now  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread