No fares available - guidance requested

Old Aug 31, 17, 9:49 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: CLE
Programs: United, Hilton, Marriott, Hertz, National
Posts: 151
No fares available - guidance requested

Hello all - I'm sure the nature of this question has been discussed ad nauseam, but I've not been able to find a thread to put my question in after searching for 15 minutes. Anyway...

I booked the flight CLE-EWR-BHX / LHR-IAD-CLE in business. I need to book the same itinerary for another person; however, Concur and United.com are showing no business fares available for the CLE-EWR-BHX segment. I'm only given the option of economy (U). In expert mode, there are business class inventory buckets available - see below. For the one flight I was able to purchase, I'm in Y for the CLE-EWR segment and D for the EWR-BHX segment. The first segment is on a RJ145 while the second segment is on a B752.

I know expert mode is not 100% indicative of seats available for purchase, but can I assume that a seat will open up? While I have the ability to change my flight, it will result in a very long layover at EWR - which I would like to avoid.

Am I reading expert mode inventory buckets incorrectly? Is there some other way I can structure my search to get the business class seat? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Attached Images   
BasedinCLE is offline  
Old Aug 31, 17, 10:01 am
  #2  
Original Member
 
Join Date: May 1998
Location: CT/NY
Programs: UA Gold/MM, Marriott LT Titanium, Hyatt Discoverist
Posts: 4,469
On United.com, search under economy fare, and it will offer business class options by default.
PTahCha is offline  
Old Aug 31, 17, 10:45 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: DFW
Programs: UA 1K, AA peon
Posts: 1,103
Originally Posted by BasedinCLE View Post
Hello all - I'm sure the nature of this question has been discussed ad nauseam, but I've not been able to find a thread to put my question in after searching for 15 minutes. Anyway...

I booked the flight CLE-EWR-BHX / LHR-IAD-CLE in business. I need to book the same itinerary for another person; however, Concur and United.com are showing no business fares available for the CLE-EWR-BHX segment. I'm only given the option of economy (U). In expert mode, there are business class inventory buckets available - see below. For the one flight I was able to purchase, I'm in Y for the CLE-EWR segment and D for the EWR-BHX segment. The first segment is on a RJ145 while the second segment is on a B752.

I know expert mode is not 100% indicative of seats available for purchase, but can I assume that a seat will open up? While I have the ability to change my flight, it will result in a very long layover at EWR - which I would like to avoid.

Am I reading expert mode inventory buckets incorrectly? Is there some other way I can structure my search to get the business class seat? Any advice would be greatly appreciated.
Call United and tell them you are unable to book your flight online. ???
If there is ask them to waive it as you cannot book it online.
Michael D is offline  
Old Aug 31, 17, 11:06 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: CLE
Programs: UA:1K Marriott:Gold Hilton:Silver IHG:Gold
Posts: 67
Originally Posted by BasedinCLE View Post
rching for 15 minutes.

I booked the flight CLE-EWR-BHX / LHR-IAD-CLE in business. I need to book the same itinerary for another person; however, Concur and United.com are showing no business fares available for the CLE-EWR-BHX segment.
I've had similar issues with Concur to book J to TPE from CLE. For United, it only shows economy, even when United.com shows inventory. Concur does ok with India. When I call the corporate TA, they see correct inventory and can book it. Bit of a pain for trip planning / costing though.

I submitted a complaint via our TA and now the SFO-TPE shows up as J, but from CLE to SFO, it's in the back.
50Kthehardway is online now  
Old Aug 31, 17, 12:39 pm
  #5  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: MSP
Programs: DL PM, UA Gold, WN, Global Entry; +others wherever miles/points are found
Posts: 11,256
Dates?
findark is online now  
Old Aug 31, 17, 1:07 pm
  #6  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: CLE
Programs: United, Hilton, Marriott, Hertz, National
Posts: 151
Originally Posted by findark View Post
Dates?
Flying out ex-CLE on September 16; flying back ex-LHR on September 24.
BasedinCLE is offline  
Old Aug 31, 17, 1:31 pm
  #7  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: MSP
Programs: DL PM, UA Gold, WN, Global Entry; +others wherever miles/points are found
Posts: 11,256
Best I can tell, in order to delegate the D fare to Y on the single-cabin segment, it needs to validate Y space on that segment alone. But...

Code:
16SEP17 CLEEWR UA4255: Y0 .. N0
You could try yelling at the rate desk, but you might be out of luck until there is Y space for you on that segment.
findark is online now  
Old Aug 31, 17, 2:05 pm
  #8  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: DCA
Programs: UA US CO AA DL FL
Posts: 46,687
Originally Posted by 50Kthehardway View Post
I've had similar issues with Concur to book J to TPE from CLE. For United, it only shows economy, even when United.com shows inventory. Concur does ok with India. When I call the corporate TA, they see correct inventory and can book it. Bit of a pain for trip planning / costing though.

I submitted a complaint via our TA and now the SFO-TPE shows up as J, but from CLE to SFO, it's in the back.
Concur is just compliance software which your employer licenses for use by your TA. It is programmable at your employer's direction. E.g., booking premium tickets, refundable, or whatever.

What you may be seeing are broken fares. Simplest is to call UA and ask for the ticket to be quoted. UA will not charge a phone fee for tickets which can't be booked online.
Often1 is offline  
Old Aug 31, 17, 2:18 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Programs: Hertz PC
Posts: 623
Part of the issue the equipment? RJ145 does it have First/business seat?
bhunt is offline  
Old Aug 31, 17, 2:24 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Apr 2012
Location: DTW/MBS/AZO
Programs: UA 1K,AA Plat, Marriott Platinum, HHonors Diamond, Starbucks Gold
Posts: 3,045
Originally Posted by bhunt View Post
Part of the issue the equipment? RJ145 does it have First/business seat?
Not quite. As mentioned above the CLE-EWR segement would book into Y, but the flight is apparently showing Y0 for that flight if you were to just look CLE-EWR.
BThumme is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: