New look to select flight page

Old May 19, 17, 12:16 am
  #1  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2000
Location: Los Angeles
Programs: UA Plat 2MM. DL Plat, AS MVP
Posts: 12,329
New look to select flight page

I'm not versed in posting screen shots. But check out the new look.

I'm not about to debate the plusses and minusses that will inevitably erupt here. Change is change, and at the end of the day, the issues are so minute compared to the important issues in the world.

If I am late to the party in reporting this, pardon me!

Last edited by zrs70; May 19, 17 at 12:46 am
zrs70 is offline  
Old May 19, 17, 12:33 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: LAX, EWR, LHR
Programs: UA 1K
Posts: 227
Must have just launched. I didn't see it this afternoon.



FL390 is offline  
Old May 19, 17, 5:13 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Floating around
Programs: UA 1K (1MM), DL Silver (1MM), Marriott Amb (LT Titanium)
Posts: 8,568
I guess for the people who couldn't figure out to click on the price displayed for a particular flight they added the 'select' button. What's stupid is we now have to hit that select button. You can't click on the price any longer.

-RM
RobOnLI is offline  
Old May 19, 17, 5:29 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Posts: 575
I wouldn't have even noticed that change.
flyerbaby19 is offline  
Old May 19, 17, 6:23 am
  #5  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: CVG
Programs: UA Silver, AA, DL, Marriott Silver
Posts: 12,076
I noticed that last night, too. Silly - I think - did people not realize to just click the price before? IIRC, even when the new page was originally launched, I don't think it took me two seconds to figure this out. And now it just makes the row bigger, forcing more 'below the fold'

alao noticed, maybe a week ago, the tile on the home page with the login changed the way it displayed with the semi-logged in state - it invites you to fully log in now.
emcampbe is offline  
Old May 19, 17, 8:35 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,319
Ugh, those buttons are *really* annoying - all that clutter makes it difficult to quickly scan prices. May be that's the intention?
br2k is offline  
Old May 19, 17, 8:53 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: TX
Programs: UA Plat, Marriott G, Hilton G, SPG G
Posts: 491
Originally Posted by FL390 View Post
Must have just launched. I didn't see it this afternoon.
Ya it had to have happened sometime between 4 and 10 central.

Another change I noticed about 5 days ago is when you do an award search certain flights will have "Available to you as a premier member and cobranded credit card holder" or something similar near certain flights. I know this has always been true, I just don't remember them explicitly pointing out those flights previously.
txaggiemiles is offline  
Old May 19, 17, 9:00 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: PHL
Programs: UA 1K, Marriott Gold, IHG Platinum, Raddison Gold
Posts: 3,681
I guess people getting confused about how to select a flight directly affects their revenue so they push out a fix/workaround quickly

Something like upgrade award searches not working right or instruments no longer auto-redepositing is something that doesnt affect their revenue so they are left to languish for years.
eng3 is offline  
Old May 19, 17, 9:14 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Apr 2017
Location: San Francisco
Programs: UA Gold, AS MVP Gold, Marriott Titanium, AA Plat Pro
Posts: 393
Maybe it's just me, but this new version seems to take longer to load...
zymm is offline  
Old May 19, 17, 11:17 am
  #10  
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: DTW and ORD
Posts: 655
I like it - it's a clearer call to action and doesn't require the user to hover over the book to click. It makes it clear what you need to do.
DetroitFlyer is offline  
Old May 19, 17, 12:22 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: In between IAD and DCA
Programs: UA Plat 1.1MM , Marriott Gold Elite, Hyatt Discoverist
Posts: 2,133
I like it better than the old version. I think it actually looks pretty clean.

Still miss my favorite one, when UA had the tulip and flights for both the outbound and inbound would show with the price in the middle, sorted by schedule. Bring that back.
UAL250 is offline  
Old May 19, 17, 1:34 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: CLE
Programs: UA Silver, Starbucks Gold, PF Chang's Warrior, Wine Century 100
Posts: 792
The My Trips tile on the home page is screwed up. I have a CLE-IAH-SAT flight tomorrow and the tile shows it as CLE-CLE.
paule123 is offline  
Old May 19, 17, 1:39 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: SFO
Posts: 3,437
Ditto ...

Originally Posted by paule123 View Post
The My Trips tile on the home page is screwed up. I have a CLE-IAH-SAT flight tomorrow and the tile shows it as CLE-CLE.
malgudi is offline  
Old May 19, 17, 2:15 pm
  #14  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: MSP
Programs: DL PM, UA Gold, WN, Global Entry; +others wherever miles/points are found
Posts: 11,338
The rows are taller so fewer results fit on my screen, and I swear there is less contrast between rows.. makes it much harder for me to scan a result page. I do not like the change
findark is offline  
Old May 19, 17, 5:34 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Programs: WN, AA, UA, DL
Posts: 1,313
Bummer. One of my favorite parts of the new design was not having to click a button. Much easier to select a tile. This clutters the page. I suppose some people couldn't figure out the previous way, but still...

Originally Posted by UAL250 View Post
Still miss my favorite one, when UA had the tulip and flights for both the outbound and inbound would show with the price in the middle, sorted by schedule. Bring that back.
Same. I miss being able to see both out and inbound flights together.
minnyfly is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: