Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus
Reload this Page >

Complimentary upgrades when UA's international premium / Polaris cabin(s) are open?

Complimentary upgrades when UA's international premium / Polaris cabin(s) are open?

    Hide Wikipost
Old Jan 7, 21, 3:41 am   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: WineCountryUA
Wiki Link
There are no complimentary upgrades on "Polaris" or premium transcon service or Hawaii (to/from ORD/EWR/IAD/IAH) flights for elites. Elites need to support their upgrades with upgrade certs or miles+copay. A complete table is here

Some international flights are CPU eligible (mainly North American)

On very rare occasions if a lower cabin is overbooked, some passengers (usually by elite status) will be operational upgraded (op-up'ed)
Consolidated - Chance of Operational Upgrade (Op-Up) on my flight?
Print Wikipost

Old Feb 28, 16, 4:11 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NC
Programs: UA Gold; 1MM; Marriot Lifetime Platinum
Posts: 372
Complimentary upgrades when UA's international premium / Polaris cabin(s) are open?

Hi everyone,

I've not flown internationally with United since before the merger with Continental and am trying to understand the new upgrade procedures. I am Gold Status (as a result of the 1MM highflying days) and will be flying from IAD to Tokyo (NRT). Does United still give complimentary upgrades? I understand my chances are slim to none since I am no longer a 1K but just curious whether this is even done anymore.
lianluo is offline  
Old Feb 28, 16, 4:12 pm
  #2  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: GVA (Greater Vancouver Area)
Programs: DREAD Gold; UA 1.021MM; Bonvoy Au-197; PCC Elite+; CWC Au-197; CCC Elite*; WoH Dis
Posts: 50,058
Originally Posted by lianluo View Post
I am Gold Status (as a result of the 1MM highflying days) and will be flying from IAD to Tokyo (NRT). Does United still give complimentary upgrades?
United has never given complimentary upgrades on intercontinental flights.
mahasamatman is offline  
Old Feb 28, 16, 4:13 pm
  #3  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 10,951
Originally Posted by lianluo View Post
Hi everyone,

I've not flown internationally with United since before the merger with Continental and am trying to understand the new upgrade procedures. I am Gold Status (as a result of the 1MM highflying days) and will be flying from IAD to Tokyo (NRT). Does United still give complimentary upgrades? I understand my chances are slim to none since I am no longer a 1K but just curious whether this is even done anymore.
There are no complimentary upgrades on TPAC flights. Gold does get you lounge access at both IAD and NRT.
IAH-OIL-TRASH is offline  
Old Feb 28, 16, 4:14 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: TPE, SF, DC
Programs: UA Lifetime GS 4mm
Posts: 849
No comp upgrade for intercontinental flights. Your gold status allows you free access to UA/ Star Alliance lounge when flying same-day international flight.
npei is online now  
Old Feb 28, 16, 6:56 pm
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NC
Programs: UA Gold; 1MM; Marriot Lifetime Platinum
Posts: 372
Thanks for the replies all. I did used to get automatic upgrades between HNL and NRT years ago 2007-2010 time frame. Used my Systemwide Upgrades when I had them, but 99% of the time was upgraded...but I was 1k back then. As I recall it, I requested it online and they would take some miles, but no copay (so yes, I suppose that wasn't complimentary, but it usually only cost me 10K miles). Once got upgraded twice, from Economy to Business, then as I walked past the gate agent, she stopped me and handed me a ticket to Intl First (NRT - SFO). They probably needed the space and I wasn't about to complain. :-)

These days I am just happy that I can get access to Economy Plus.
lianluo is offline  
Old Feb 28, 16, 11:06 pm
  #6  
Moderator: United Airlines; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SFO
Programs: UA Plat 1.85MM, Hyatt Discoverist, Marriott Plat/LT Gold, Hilton Silver, IHG Gold
Posts: 53,985
Originally Posted by lianluo View Post
....As I recall it, I requested it online and they would take some miles, but no copay (so yes, I suppose that wasn't complimentary, but it usually only cost me 10K miles). ...
Mileage upgrades on full fare economy Y/B fares then and now can be done with miles only. It is up to 20K or 30K miles now.
But mileage upgrades on discounted fares require more miles and co-pays. And in the past most discount fare were not eligible for mileage upgrades.

But since miles were required, it was not complimentary.
WineCountryUA is offline  
Old Feb 29, 16, 5:13 am
  #7  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: NC
Programs: UA Gold; 1MM; Marriot Lifetime Platinum
Posts: 372
Originally Posted by WineCountryUA View Post
Mileage upgrades on full fare economy Y/B fares then and now can be done with miles only. It is up to 20K or 30K miles now.
But mileage upgrades on discounted fares require more miles and co-pays. And in the past most discount fare were not eligible for mileage upgrades.

But since miles were required, it was not complimentary.
Ah that's right, I used to fly primarily YCA flights. Oh well, those days are in the past, can't see having another job that requires me to fly that much anymore, and I miss it! Oh well, can't complain, I found tickets on UA from Dulles to NRT for 700.00! Economy Plus will just have to do!

Thanks again for the replies, I'm rusty on my FF info..used to be up on all the latest when I was flying alot. Now I'm virtually a Kettle!
lianluo is offline  
Old May 4, 17, 6:29 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 68
united complimentary upgrade when International / Polaris First is open?

i'm flying SFO->PEK tomorrow. first class is completely open, with no seats booked an no one on the upgrade list. does United ever upgrade anyone from bus to first on their own in a case like this?
dag16 is offline  
Old May 4, 17, 6:46 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Posts: 177
No. CPUs are domestic only.
LangerhansCellHistiocytosis is offline  
Old May 4, 17, 6:51 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: ORF, RIC
Programs: UA LT 1K, 3 MM; Marriott Platinum; IHG Platinum
Posts: 4,007
If both economy and business cabins are overbooked, United will move some business pax to First. Operational upgrade happens very often on SFO-PEK route, according to my friend living in the Bay area. Good luck.
Kmxu is online now  
Old May 4, 17, 7:07 pm
  #11  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: PHX/SFO
Programs: AA EXP; AS 75K; WN A List; UA 1K 1MM; Hyatt Globalist; Marriott AMB; Hilton Diamond (Aspire)
Posts: 46,104
It's blocked to 6, so there may be some op-ups to clear space in the business cabin. Op-ups would likely be done by status, GS then 1K.
Kacee is offline  
Old May 4, 17, 7:08 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Posts: 68
thanks everyone. I'm GS, so maybe there's a chance
dag16 is offline  
Old May 4, 17, 7:11 pm
  #13  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Sep 2009
Location: Minneapolis: DL DM charter 2.3MM
Programs: A3*Gold, SPG Plat, HyattDiamond, MarriottPP, LHW exAccess, ICI, Raffles Amb, NW PE MM, TWA Gold MM
Posts: 92,171
Originally Posted by dag16 View Post
thanks everyone. I'm GS, so maybe there's a chance
Good luck and have fun regardless of whether you end up sitting in FC or business.
MSPeconomist is offline  
Old May 4, 17, 7:12 pm
  #14  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: PHX/SFO
Programs: AA EXP; AS 75K; WN A List; UA 1K 1MM; Hyatt Globalist; Marriott AMB; Hilton Diamond (Aspire)
Posts: 46,104
Originally Posted by dag16 View Post
thanks everyone. I'm GS, so maybe there's a chance
I think there is then.
Kacee is offline  
Old May 4, 17, 7:26 pm
  #15  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: DCA
Programs: UA US CO AA DL FL
Posts: 50,270
Bear in mind that the OPUP is only to avoid an oversale, so even if J is overbooked, that does not mean an oversale. All it takes is one J misconnect and the need to OPUP someone goes away.

I also question whether if F is truly empty and there are no nonrevs to fill it, whether UA will OPUP someone before it downgrades someone on an award or GPU to Y (presuming space in Y).
Often1 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: