Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus
Reload this Page >

Adding a TSA / KTN / Redress Pre check number to a UA ticket

Adding a TSA / KTN / Redress Pre check number to a UA ticket

    Hide Wikipost
Old Oct 14, 19, 3:15 am   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: IBJoel
Wiki Link
Adding a TSA / KTN / Redress numbers

To your account profile or other travel profiles in your account:
  1. Go to your UA MP Account Profile on united.com
  2. Select Personal Information
  3. Select Travel identification documents

To your ticket:
  1. Go to Reservations on united.com
  2. Go to Change or view reservations
  3. Select Manage Trip for the appropriate ticket
  4. Find "Known traveler number/Redress" and select Edit
Print Wikipost

Old Mar 24, 17, 4:53 pm
  #31  
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Soprano Land / North Jersey
Programs: MSC Diamond, NCL Platinum Plus, RCCL Platinum, IHG Platinum Elite
Posts: 153
Adding a TSA / KTN Pre check number

Does any one know how to add your TSA Pre check number thru the website?

Thanks..!
Harmoncove is offline  
Old Mar 24, 17, 5:02 pm
  #32  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: DCA
Programs: UA US CO AA DL FL
Posts: 50,269
You can add any KTN to your UA profile and it will be applied to all future bookings and may be applied to existing bookings. If you have just received a KTN and have existing bookings, it is best to go into each booking and add it. You will see a field for a KTN next to the Redress #. Be certain to leave the Redress # blank.
Often1 is offline  
Old Mar 24, 17, 5:08 pm
  #33  
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: AVP & PEK
Programs: UA 1K 1.6MM, Hertz PC
Posts: 4,582
- united.com and login
- View Account (top right of page)
- on the bottom of the page under Profile: Edit Traveler Information
- click the plus sign in front of Known Traveler Number/Pass ID: enter your number
- click Continue on bottom of page

"If you are a U.S. citizen currently enrolled in any of the U.S. Customs and Border Protection Trusted Traveler programs (Global Entry™, NEXUS or SENTRI), please provide your Known Traveler Number or Pass ID. (You are not required to enter one of these numbers.) "
narvik is offline  
Old Mar 24, 17, 6:31 pm
  #34  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: SFO/SJC
Programs: UA Silver, Marriott Gold, Hilton Gold
Posts: 13,705
If its for a current reservation, I believe you do it from the "edit traveler information" link.
emcampbe is offline  
Old Mar 24, 17, 8:56 pm
  #35  
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 1,319
Occasionally it does not "stick" even if added to reservation (especially if this is a 3rd party ticket with UA segments) - then your only option is to call.
br2k is offline  
Old Jun 26, 19, 7:09 am
  #36  
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Left Coast
Posts: 843
Apologies for resurrecting this thread, but it seemed preferable to starting a new one.

A family member is enrolled in Global Entry and has their KTN entered in their UA profile. They are flying with a group on UA with a UA ticket and part of their itinerary has individual PNRs, but part is under a group reservation. The initial boarding pass for the individual leg did not have Pre-Check indicated, but when checking in to print luggage tags, it was entered into the kiosk during the transaction and the revised boarding pass did have Pre-Check indicated.

First-world problem, for sure, but why wasn't the KTN incorporated when the PNR was attached to this person's UA profile? Just wondering for future reference.
zippy the pinhead is offline  
Old Jun 26, 19, 7:18 am
  #37  
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: MBS/FNT/LAN
Programs: UA 1K, HH Gold, Mariott Gold
Posts: 9,409
Originally Posted by zippy the pinhead View Post
Apologies for resurrecting this thread, but it seemed preferable to starting a new one.

A family member is enrolled in Global Entry and has their KTN entered in their UA profile. They are flying with a group on UA with a UA ticket and part of their itinerary has individual PNRs, but part is under a group reservation. The initial boarding pass for the individual leg did not have Pre-Check indicated, but when checking in to print luggage tags, it was entered into the kiosk during the transaction and the revised boarding pass did have Pre-Check indicated.

First-world problem, for sure, but why wasn't the KTN incorporated when the PNR was attached to this person's UA profile? Just wondering for future reference.
Was it booked with UA or a travel agent?
zippy the pinhead likes this.
jhayes_1780 is offline  
Old Jun 26, 19, 7:38 am
  #38  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: DCA
Programs: UA US CO AA DL FL
Posts: 50,269
This is a question better asked of the group organizer. Did your family member provide their KTN to the group organizer?
zippy the pinhead likes this.
Often1 is offline  
Old Jun 26, 19, 11:15 am
  #39  
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Left Coast
Posts: 843
Originally Posted by jhayes_1780 View Post
Was it booked with UA or a travel agent?
No idea. I'm guessing the former.

Originally Posted by Often1 View Post
This is a question better asked of the group organizer. Did your family member provide their KTN to the group organizer?
No we did not. To be direct, if they had asked, I probably would have considered it as something not to be given, maybe a little like a social security number, probably because I was assuming that once the PNR was "claimed" by a UA profile with the KTN, all would proceed as when I purchase a ticket directly (Pre-Check would be indicated).
zippy the pinhead is offline  
Old Jun 26, 19, 12:15 pm
  #40  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: MSP
Programs: DL PM, UA Gold, WN, Global Entry; +others wherever miles/points are found
Posts: 12,535
Originally Posted by zippy the pinhead View Post
probably because I was assuming that once the PNR was "claimed" by a UA profile with the KTN, all would proceed as when I purchase a ticket directly (Pre-Check would be indicated).
It doesn't work like that; the KTN is part of the PNR and is not changed when you add the PNR to your list of trips (or add your FF account).
zippy the pinhead likes this.
findark is offline  
Old Jun 26, 19, 12:31 pm
  #41  
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Programs: UA MM 1K
Posts: 2,881
Originally Posted by zippy the pinhead View Post
No idea. I'm guessing the former.



No we did not. To be direct, if they had asked, I probably would have considered it as something not to be given, maybe a little like a social security number, probably because I was assuming that once the PNR was "claimed" by a UA profile with the KTN, all would proceed as when I purchase a ticket directly (Pre-Check would be indicated).
I don't think it works like that for Mileage Plus numbers, either. United doesn't just throw a number in there by some kind of name matching (which could go wrong).

edit: To hopefully make a clearer answer, I don't think United ever "claims" a profile. It has a profile by the passenger providing a Mileage Plus number (often through being logged into their Mileage Plus account).
zippy the pinhead likes this.

Last edited by JimInOhio; Jun 26, 19 at 12:37 pm
JimInOhio is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread