Family access: UC Membership vs 1 time passes

Old Mar 18, 17, 3:17 pm
Original Poster

Programs: AA EXP, Delta Gold, Mariott Gold, Hilton Diamond, Avis Presidents Club
Family access: UC Membership vs 1 time passes

Family of 4 (spouse, 2 children under 12) with a 5 hour layover in Houston both ways to international leg. Interested is using the club.

Looking at day passes, the cost is (59 X 4) X 2. The lounge membership is 550.

I am a AA guy normally, and I have never had an issue getting the family into the club with my membership, however I have no experience with United.

Additionally, if it matters, have a 3 hour layover in AKL and will be visiting SYD and BNE.

Will United have any issue with 4 people on one membership, or will I have to deal with "sorry we are full". According to the rules, I should be able to bring in the spouse and dependents with no issue.

Also, Can I use the club as a member in cities where I'm still flying AA (assuming I can get to the united terminal on those days)?

Thanks
Old Mar 18, 17, 3:31 pm

Programs: UA 1K, HH Gold, Mariott Gold
Yes your membership will get you and your immediate family in.

​​​​​​It will also get you access when not flying UA (As you already know provided you have access to different terminals).

imho, get a platinum amex, much better experience for about same $$$.
Old Mar 18, 17, 3:37 pm
Moderator: United Airlines; FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: UA Plat 1.85MM, Hyatt Discoverist, Marriott Plat/LT Gold, Hilton Silver, IHG Gold
UC membership family access

United Club members may bring their spouse and dependent children under 21, or up to two guests, into any United Club location. Members must accompany their family and guests during their United Club visit.
Note this is either or.

However this is only true for UA UC and not partner lounges. It will be limited to 1 guest.

Originally Posted by jhayes_1780 View Post
... imho, get a platinum amex, much better experience for about same $$$.