IAD - CLE : 737-900? Wow

Old Mar 16, 17, 7:42 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Cleveland, Ohio, USA
Programs: UA PM, DL PM, Bonvoy Titanium, HH Gold
Posts: 1,229
IAD - CLE : 737-900? Wow

I don't think I've ever seen a mainline aircraft from IAD to CLE. June 26 has one (maybe other dates also, but that's the one I'm looking at). Flight 2026 at 5.15 PM is a 737-900. Been flying that route for years and was happy when they even gave us the CRJ-700. :-)
DawgmanOH is offline  
Old Mar 16, 17, 11:26 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: San Francisco
Programs: UA GS, UA 1MM, Hilton Lifetime Gold, Marriott Gold, Hertz Gold, CLEAR
Posts: 2,026
Years ago when I was based out of CLE and UA still had a hub there that was actually a very busy route. Sad what has happened to CLE with UA. I still travel there a couple times a year and it is indeed getting tougher and tougher to get direct flights in. Also many flights are now UX CRJ's (DEN-CLE, Uggghhh).

I have heard that UA is not releasing the unused gates in CLE that they lease so that competition can't come in. They supposedly got some sweetheart deal and feel it is probably better for them to pay the rent on them than release them to new competition out of CLE.
nomad420 is offline  
Old Mar 16, 17, 2:33 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Cle
Posts: 436
iAd

Your are correct this is the most seats in this market since
both Ua and Co were both in the market.

Summer Ua schedule shows:
Cle- Iad 4 daily (mainline 1 daily from Iad)
Cle Dca 5
Cle Lga 6
Cle Ewr 6 (5 mainline)
Cle Bos 4
Cle Mke 2
Cle Ord 9 (7 mainline)
Cle Den 3 (3 mainline)
Cle Iah 6 (1 mainline)
Cle -Lax 2 mainline
Cle-Sfo 2 mainline
Cle Mco 1 mainline
Cle Chs 1 wkly
Cle Cancun 2 weekly mainline
trk1 is offline  
Old Mar 16, 17, 4:08 pm
  #4  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: San Francisco/Tel Aviv/YYZ
Programs: CO 1K-MM
Posts: 10,382
Its weird, I saw a CLE-CRW or something like that near the banjo a few weeks ago.

I'm a little surprised they haven't figured out how to grab a bit more O/D.
entropy is offline  
Old Mar 16, 17, 4:16 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: CLE
Programs: UA,WN,AA,DL, B6
Posts: 3,532
Back in 1986 when UA started the IAD hub have 5 daily mainline fights CLE-IAD.
buckeyefanflyer is offline  
Old Mar 16, 17, 4:50 pm
  #6  

2019 Secret Santa
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: New England
Programs: DL GM, UA, B6, AA, WN, AS, AGR
Posts: 3,757
Originally Posted by nomad420 View Post
I have heard that UA is not releasing the unused gates in CLE that they lease so that competition can't come in. They supposedly got some sweetheart deal and feel it is probably better for them to pay the rent on them than release them to new competition out of CLE.
I'd be surprised if this were the case. The old UA concourse (D) is simply closed off and abandoned. Concourse C, which is where UA, AC, and B6 operates out of has plenty of vacant gates with the jetbridges removed. They appear to be common use gates since the podiums don't contain (or appear to have any remnants of) anything UA/CO related, and the signs on these "abandoned" gates all have the airport logo on them. I'd be more inclined to believe that Cleveland is simply in a slump at this time.

Even when CO operated BOS-CLE, the majority of the flights were express flights on the ERJ-145. They probably did this to increase frequency. IIRC the ERJ flights did go out full though.
diburning is offline  
Old Mar 16, 17, 5:23 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 10
How about a 737-900ER ORD-MKE? Daily service, turns right around and does MKE-ORD.
RandyX is offline  
Old Mar 16, 17, 6:35 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: San Francisco
Programs: UA GS, UA 1MM, Hilton Lifetime Gold, Marriott Gold, Hertz Gold, CLEAR
Posts: 2,026
Originally Posted by diburning View Post
I'd be surprised if this were the case. The old UA concourse (D) is simply closed off and abandoned. Concourse C, which is where UA, AC, and B6 operates out of has plenty of vacant gates with the jetbridges removed. They appear to be common use gates since the podiums don't contain (or appear to have any remnants of) anything UA/CO related, and the signs on these "abandoned" gates all have the airport logo on them. I'd be more inclined to believe that Cleveland is simply in a slump at this time.

Even when CO operated BOS-CLE, the majority of the flights were express flights on the ERJ-145. They probably did this to increase frequency. IIRC the ERJ flights did go out full though.
I guess they are holding UA for the $110 million due on the abandon old concourse D. Also, from what the article states UA was tying up some of the gates and not allowing the city to negotiate with other airlines for them.

http://www.cleveland.com/travel/inde...es_gate_o.html
nomad420 is offline  
Old Mar 16, 17, 8:48 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: CAK/CLE
Programs: UA Plat/AA,DL Dirt/HH Gold,Hyatt Something-ist/Hz Prez,Avis Pres Club
Posts: 629
The move of AA to concourse C has never shown any sign of progress, although it would sure be nice to be able to use the United Club when flying AA and not have to schlep all the way across the airport. Every now and then there is a trip to PHL or something where using AA just makes the most sense.

It is surprising how only one CLE-IAH is mainline. That used to be all mainline all the time.

CLE-BOS was all ERJ-145 except for one 737 a day back in the day. It's surprising that they have kept it with all 145s considering that the 145s were the big problem with the hub operation. It would be nice to get the 170s and 175s in there and the 145s out to keep the route going.
UAzip is offline  
Old Mar 17, 17, 1:10 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: San Francisco
Programs: UA GS, UA 1MM, Hilton Lifetime Gold, Marriott Gold, Hertz Gold, CLEAR
Posts: 2,026
Originally Posted by UAzip View Post
The move of AA to concourse C has never shown any sign of progress, although it would sure be nice to be able to use the United Club when flying AA and not have to schlep all the way across the airport. Every now and then there is a trip to PHL or something where using AA just makes the most sense.
Haven't been there for probably a year but the UC at CLE was one of the nicest! It was and old CO Presidents Club that converted. Very nice layout of the club with some areas remaining quite if you needed to work.

Last edited by WineCountryUA; Mar 17, 17 at 7:51 pm Reason: repaired quote
nomad420 is offline  
Old Mar 17, 17, 2:11 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Cleveland, OH
Programs: UA-GS 1MM), Hertz Pres Circle, Starriott Titanium)
Posts: 1,647
Originally Posted by nomad420 View Post
Originally Posted by UAzip View Post
The move of AA to concourse C has never shown any sign of progress, although it would sure be nice to be able to use the United Club when flying AA and not have to schlep all the way across the airport. Every now and then there is a trip to PHL or something where using AA just makes the most sense.
Haven't been there for probably a year but the UC at CLE was one of the nicest! It was and old CO Presidents Club that converted. Very nice layout of the club with some areas remaining quite if you needed to work.
Unfortunately you can't use the united club anymore unless you are flying united...even if you are a full member.

Last edited by WineCountryUA; Mar 17, 17 at 7:52 pm Reason: repaired quote
LordHamster is offline  
Old Mar 17, 17, 2:34 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: TPA
Programs: UA Gold
Posts: 341

Unfortunately you can't use the united club anymore unless you are flying united...even if you are a full member.
This is a special rule for CLE? I do it all the time when OAL at other airports.

Last edited by FTstudent; Mar 20, 17 at 3:14 pm
FTstudent is offline  
Old Mar 17, 17, 2:36 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: DAY
Programs: UA 1K 1MM; Marriott LT Plat Premier (+AMB); Amex MR; Chase UR; Hertz PC; Global Entry
Posts: 7,401
Originally Posted by LordHamster View Post
Unfortunately you can't use the united club anymore unless you are flying united...even if you are a full member.
That is not correct. You must have a boarding pass, but it can be from any airline.

Effective August 18, 2016, a same-day boarding pass for all United Club customers, including members, will be required for United Club access.

Will I be able to come in if I’m flying on another carrier?
Yes, you may use a same-day boarding pass on any carrier.


http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/unite...me-day-bp.html

Last edited by WineCountryUA; Mar 17, 17 at 7:53 pm Reason: repaired quote
goodeats21 is offline  
Old Mar 17, 17, 2:50 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: San Francisco
Programs: UA GS, UA 1MM, Hilton Lifetime Gold, Marriott Gold, Hertz Gold, CLEAR
Posts: 2,026
I go to the UC club(S) in DEN when not flying UA and haven't been hassled. When in CLE I was always flying UA anyhow.
nomad420 is offline  
Old Mar 17, 17, 2:52 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: CLE
Programs: AA Exec Plat, Marriott Plat , Hilton Diamond, Hyatt Diamond, Hertz PC
Posts: 5,443
Originally Posted by goodeats21 View Post

That is not correct. You must have a boarding pass, but it can be from any airline.

Effective August 18, 2016, a same-day boarding pass for all United Club customers, including members, will be required for United Club access.

Will I be able to come in if I’m flying on another carrier?
Yes, you may use a same-day boarding pass on any carrier.


http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/unite...me-day-bp.html
I have recently used the CLE club with other carrier tickets. No problem.

Last edited by WineCountryUA; Mar 17, 17 at 7:54 pm Reason: repaired quote
Surface Interval is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread