iOS10 public beta and UA app-incompatible

Old Jul 9, 16, 9:37 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: What I write is my opinion alone..don't read into it anything not written.
Posts: 9,595
iOS10 public beta and UA app-issues for some-fixed for me

Iphone is in public betas of OS10.0.0 UA app will launch, then kick you to "desktop". App is still running in background but if you try to bring it to the front it will crash you to "desktop" again.

Yes, it's a beta.

If you rely on your UA app on an iphone, be cautious if you install (public) beta iOS10 until this is resolved

A couple of other non UA app related OS bugs I've submitted, but this is the UA forum, not iOS

edited-it appears some people are not having issues, YMMV

Last edited by fastair; Jul 27, 16 at 11:34 am Reason: others are habing success
fastair is offline  
Old Jul 9, 16, 10:23 pm
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: ORD
Programs: UA 1K
Posts: 16,009
I'd expect widespread app failures and not just UA. Move to a beta anything with caution.
milepig is online now  
Old Jul 9, 16, 11:37 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Programs: UA 1k
Posts: 103
the app works fine for me on ios10. But many other apps dont.

Its not recommended to us bet software on your main device, but rather a secondary device you dont rely on.
Maximilion is offline  
Old Jul 10, 16, 3:59 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 215
iOS 10 Beta #2 and the UA app work for me; no issues.
DrewGzy is offline  
Old Jul 10, 16, 8:10 am
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: What I write is my opinion alone..don't read into it anything not written.
Posts: 9,595
Good to hear that it isn't across the board.
fastair is offline  
Old Jul 10, 16, 10:42 am
  #6  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: GVA (Greater Vancouver Area)
Programs: DREAD Gold; UA 1.021MM; Bonvoy Au-197; PCC Elite+; CWC Au-197; CCC Elite; WoH Dis
Posts: 49,455
Originally Posted by fastair View Post
Good to hear that it isn't across the board.
From a software development standpoint, it would be better if it were.
mahasamatman is offline  
Old Jul 10, 16, 11:49 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: Houston (IAH,HOU) / Kāʻanapali (JHM,OGG)
Programs: UA GS 2MM, AA P 2MM, DL PM, US P, VS G, SPG LT P, HH D, HYATT P, PC P, AVIS PC, HERTZ PLAT
Posts: 963
Originally Posted by mahasamatman View Post
From a software development standpoint, it would be better if it were.
Sounds like its going to be a fun bug hunt. I'm sure UA has great test coverage for the app and their test suite will reveal the problem right away as soon as they upgrade their iOS simulator.
bdraco is offline  
Old Jul 10, 16, 12:05 pm
  #8  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: What I write is my opinion alone..don't read into it anything not written.
Posts: 9,595
Originally Posted by bdraco View Post
Sounds like its going to be a fun bug hunt. I'm sure UA has great test coverage for the app and their test suite will reveal the problem right away as soon as they upgrade their iOS simulator.
Aye, I'm submitting the errors to apple, I don't know if they provide the feedback to the app developers.

For other beta testers, the home/power switch doesn't screenshot (just puts phone to sleep.) Do you have this issue, or is there another method to use?
fastair is offline  
Old Jul 10, 16, 1:44 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: SF
Programs: UA1K .6MM
Posts: 2,263
Originally Posted by fastair View Post
Iphone is in public betas of OS10.0.0 UA app will launch, then kick you to "desktop". App is still running in background but if you try to bring it to the front it will crash you to "desktop" again.

Yes, it's a beta.

If you rely on your UA app on an iphone, be cautious if you install (public) beta iOS10 until this is resolved

A couple of other non UA app related OS bugs I've submitted, but this is the UA forum, not iOS

edited-it appears some people are not having issues, YMMV
I am having the same issue on a Sprint iPhone 6s 64GB.

Edit: My intl. unlocked iPhone 6s 128GB works fine.

Last edited by tuolumne; Jul 10, 16 at 3:30 pm
tuolumne is offline  
Old Jul 10, 16, 2:55 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: DEN
Posts: 83
No problems here - have been able to book and manipulate tickets as usual using the app since my recent upgrade.
benfro6 is offline  
Old Jul 20, 16, 12:21 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: WAS
Programs: UA Gold, low tier elite at several hotel programs named w/ made-up words
Posts: 854
Has anyone had streaming video work correctly in the United app when using ios10? I get the message Browser or Device Unsupported because it is 64-bit when I click play and the app reopens.

Last edited by Say Vandelay; Jul 20, 16 at 12:21 pm Reason: typo
Say Vandelay is offline  
Old Jul 27, 16, 11:00 am
  #12  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: What I write is my opinion alone..don't read into it anything not written.
Posts: 9,595
Today's update UA 2.1.9 fixed my issues.
fastair is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread