Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus
Reload this Page >

UA initiates Account Security Update (Security Q&A authentication added 2016)

UA initiates Account Security Update (Security Q&A authentication added 2016)

Old Feb 12, 16, 3:19 pm
  #76  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 69,211
FWIW, the decision to not prompt everyone for a new password was made on purpose.

[W]e’re only going to prompt members to create new passwords if their existing ones don’t meet the new requirements of being a minimum of eight characters, including at least one letter and one number.
Doesn't help if you don't remember your old password, of course, but that is what United wanted it to be. I guess the moral of the story is make sure you know or reset your PW before doing the 5 questions.

n.b. The link above is to my blog or to one which I am a regular contributor. FT rules require that I disclose that in the post.
sbm12 is offline  
Old Feb 12, 16, 3:24 pm
  #77  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lahaina, HI & Los Angeles, CA
Programs: UA GS
Posts: 2,390
Is there anyway to change the answers to your security questions? These questions were so bizarre, I have already forgotten my answers.
LAXOGG is offline  
Old Feb 12, 16, 3:26 pm
  #78  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lahaina, HI & Los Angeles, CA
Programs: UA GS
Posts: 2,390
Originally Posted by sbm12 View Post
...........I guess the moral of the story is make sure you know or reset your PW before doing the 5 questions.
Which would have been helpful for United to add to your quoted text above.

Last edited by LAXOGG; Feb 12, 16 at 3:33 pm
LAXOGG is offline  
Old Feb 12, 16, 3:40 pm
  #79  
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: West Coast USA
Programs: UA GS/4 MM, AA Exec Plat, Lifetime Hilton D, Hyatt G, Marriott Titanium earned Ambassador
Posts: 7,553
Too much flying last year! Like forgetting which floor you parked the car on.

Originally Posted by LAXOGG View Post
Is there anyway to change the answers to your security questions? These questions were so bizarre, I have already forgotten my answers.
RTWSTARALLIANCE is offline  
Old Feb 12, 16, 3:40 pm
  #80  
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Pacific
Programs: UA GS, Lifetime 4 MM, BA Gold, , Marriott Lifetime Titanium Elite, Marriott Ambassador Elite
Posts: 476
Who makes up these inane questions?

Blindly, I set and answered the 5 security questions. Honestly, who remembers the color of their house growing up? White? Umm... gray? I never noticed? Do you remember what fruit or vegetable you enjoyed when you were young?

Having said that, changing my password was not painful. I am glad to get rid of the 4 digit PIN.
MostlyUA is offline  
Old Feb 12, 16, 3:48 pm
  #81  
Company Representative, United Airlines
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Chicago, Houston, or somewhere in between
Posts: 2,178
Hi everyone,

A few of you have posted regarding setting up a new password and why you’re not seeing a prompt to create one.

You’ll only be prompted to create a new password if your existing password doesn’t already meet the requirements of being a minimum eight characters including at least one letter and one number.

Here are some tips that may come in handy if you do need to create a new password:
• The password should have a minimum of eight characters, including at least one letter and one number.
• Ideally, it should be a combination of letters, numbers and special characters.
• The password should not be easy to guess and should be different than passwords used for accounts on other websites.

If your password meets these criteria, all you need to do is to select your five security questions and provide answers.

Once you update your account with a strong password and security questions, you'll no longer be able to use your PIN to sign in.

Please review our updated post here.

Last edited by UA Insider; Feb 23, 16 at 11:36 am Reason: Provided update to most recent post
UA Insider is offline  
Old Feb 12, 16, 3:51 pm
  #82  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 3,072
Worked fine for me. My old password was already compliant.

My only complaint is that the questions are too basic and probably don't provide that much added security. In my case, at least half of the questions could be answered if someone simply Googled me, and I don't even have a Facebook page where I blab about such things.

I hope, whenever UA requires someone to answer the questions, a minimum of three or four correct answers is required rather than just one question/answer.
jsk1973 is offline  
Old Feb 12, 16, 3:57 pm
  #83  
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: CHS
Programs: UA GS, Bonvoy Amabassador, Hertz PC
Posts: 2,495
I never had a password only a PIN, wasn't given an option, I could not login at all without answering the 5 questions and selecting a new password
Hipplewm is offline  
Old Feb 12, 16, 3:58 pm
  #84  
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: CHS
Programs: UA GS, Bonvoy Amabassador, Hertz PC
Posts: 2,495
Originally Posted by MostlyUA View Post
Who makes up these inane questions?

Blindly, I set and answered the 5 security questions. Honestly, who remembers the color of their house growing up? White? Umm... gray? I never noticed? Do you remember what fruit or vegetable you enjoyed when you were young?

Having said that, changing my password was not painful. I am glad to get rid of the 4 digit PIN.
None of the answer were brick...it was only colors
Hipplewm is offline  
Old Feb 12, 16, 4:17 pm
  #85  
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Programs: UAL-1K/MM, Marriott-Lifetime Platinum, SPG - Platinum
Posts: 66
Angry ...

Just got off the phone with United.

I made the changes this morning. This afternoon, I did the "Forgot Password" and was stuck in the security question loop.

I called Web support, the first response was essentially "You are doing something wrong"..So they tried and received the same answer. Told me an email will be sent when the issues are resolved.

No timeline. I asked what to i do in the meantime to make a reservation. "Call us and get charged a fee".

The mobile app lets me see my reservation, but once i try to to anything with it, I receive "United data services not available"
ORDBound is offline  
Old Feb 12, 16, 4:24 pm
  #86  
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Location: South Coast NSW, Australia
Programs: UA and SQ; Hilton, Fairmont, Marriott, Rydges Priority
Posts: 262
Just updated my and my wife's MP accounts security details without a problem.
5 minute job.
They even had an Australian make of car as one of the answers to the first car question.
grapegrower is offline  
Old Feb 12, 16, 4:32 pm
  #87  
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 18
Originally Posted by LAXOGG View Post
Is there anyway to change the answers to your security questions? These questions were so bizarre, I have already forgotten my answers.
Yup. Go into your account and "Manage your profile." Then click on "Change security questions."
fortunecooki is offline  
Old Feb 12, 16, 4:48 pm
  #88  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Posts: 3,072
The most monstrous thing about all of this is that Jack Russell Terriers didn't make the cut for "favorite dog breed."
jsk1973 is offline  
Old Feb 12, 16, 5:16 pm
  #89  
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: ORD
Programs: UA Silver, Marriott Platinum/LT Platinum, Hilton Gold
Posts: 5,544
No problems here setting up the password.

I agree with others on the security questions though. After the first 3 choices, I had some difficulty picking answers that were meaningful to me and I'd remember. Really silly way to do reminder questions. Hopefully I don't forget my password...ever.
JBord is offline  
Old Feb 12, 16, 5:21 pm
  #90  
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Seattle, WA
Programs: DL Diamond, UA 1K MM, SPG Plat For Life, Marriott Plat, Nexus/GlobalEntry
Posts: 9,198
Originally Posted by ORDBound View Post
Just got off the phone with United.

I made the changes this morning. This afternoon, I did the "Forgot Password" and was stuck in the security question loop.

I called Web support, the first response was essentially "You are doing something wrong"..So they tried and received the same answer. Told me an email will be sent when the issues are resolved.

No timeline. I asked what to i do in the meantime to make a reservation. "Call us and get charged a fee".

The mobile app lets me see my reservation, but once i try to to anything with it, I receive "United data services not available"
My Android phone installed a new version (2.1.5) of the United app yesterday which had a pop up window that said I needed to log out and log back in for it to work properly...I also was getting that "United data services" error message for a little while until I did that (although at the time I still logged in with my old PIN). I'd suggest that you update the app, logout and back in. It was fine after I did that.

One of the features of the new app version is to be able to change your password.. I just read that now..didn't pay attention yesterday.
SEA1K4EVR is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread