Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus
Reload this Page >

UA initiates Account Security Update (new Security Q&A authentication added)

UA initiates Account Security Update (new Security Q&A authentication added)

Reply

Old Feb 11, 16, 9:20 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lahaina, HI & Los Angeles, CA
Programs: UA GS
Posts: 2,154
Exclamation UA initiates Account Security Update (new Security Q&A authentication added)

Just got this when logging in

Account Security Update

We’re enhancing the security of MileagePlus accounts by asking you to create a new password and answer some security questions. You have 30 days to make these updates. If you don’t make the updates within this timeframe, then you will be guided through the process the next time you access your account.

Obediently complied and Answered 5 security questions. I was next put back on the login screen, and when I enter my MP number, I get a response that my MP # is invalid. On hold for the past 10 minutes. Apparently this is happening a lot

MPSC said this is the first day of the roll-out and they started with elites. Now on hold with web support.

Last edited by LAXOGG; Feb 11, 16 at 11:01 pm Reason: Correct SP
LAXOGG is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 16, 9:23 pm
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: SFO
Programs: UA 1K 1MM; DL Plat; Marriott/SPG Plat; Hilton Diamond (Aspire); Hyatt Refugeeist
Posts: 34,368
I got the five questions but never an opportunity to set a new password.

I sense a major cf on the way here
Kacee is online now  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 16, 9:27 pm
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lahaina, HI & Los Angeles, CA
Programs: UA GS
Posts: 2,154
Yep. Word to the wise.......defer making the update. You have 30 days
LAXOGG is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 16, 9:28 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New York
Programs: UA GS, Hilton Diamond, Marriott & SPG Platinum
Posts: 1,846
It looks like they are finally removing the ability to sign in with your pin. The app now just says "password" not "password or pin". .com still says both but will only accept password.
villox is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 16, 9:37 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: SFO
Programs: UA 1K / GlobalEntry / 1.2MM
Posts: 687
Just saw this when I noticed the last 4 digits of my phone number were wrong during a mileage booking and tried to update it. Strange things are happening but I'm all for the enhanced security as someone fraudulently used over a million miles from my account last year.
snowed is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 16, 9:43 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Programs: Continental OnePass
Posts: 608
So I answered the 5 questions but was never given a chance to select a password.

I logged out and tried to log in again (with PIN) but it wouldn't let me, so I used the Forgot Password option to choose a new password and now I can get in by using my Mileage Plus Number and Password.

Last edited by swiftaw; Feb 11, 16 at 9:49 pm
swiftaw is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 16, 9:48 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Chicago, IL
Posts: 18
I think if you already have a "good" password you might not need to make a new one? https://hub.united.com/en-us/news/lo...s-members.aspx

But for those of us who might have set up a password way back when but having been getting by on our PINs forever (and therefore have forgotten our passwords or even that we HAVE passwords), we do need to go the route swiftaw suggested. (Thanks!)

Last edited by fortunecooki; Feb 11, 16 at 9:53 pm
fortunecooki is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 16, 9:51 pm
  #8  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Lahaina, HI & Los Angeles, CA
Programs: UA GS
Posts: 2,154
Originally Posted by swiftaw View Post
So I added the 5 questions but was never given a chance to select a password.

I logged out and tried to log in again (with PIN) but it wouldn't let me, so I used the Forgot Password option to choose a new password and now I can get in by sueding my Mileage Plus Number and Password.
Won't work for me. When I try to use the "Forgot Password" link, I am required to enter my MP # which triggers the response that the number is invalid. Web support says wait 24 hours and try again. Your UA IT at its best.


Update: I was able to locate the password created many moons ago and it worked.

Last edited by LAXOGG; Feb 11, 16 at 10:14 pm
LAXOGG is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 16, 10:10 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 226
I updated my security settings and the "Forgot Password" page worked for me. It asked 2 out of the 5 questions that were set up.
blackllotus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 16, 10:13 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: YEG
Programs: UA 1K, AC
Posts: 392
I answered the new five questions (and I like how they pre-fill answers for you)

No password reset needed for me here in the great white north!!
whitethunder is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 16, 10:14 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Apr 2002
Location: BOS
Programs: DL GM/MM, UA Gold, AA GLD/1MM, Nat'l Exec, Marriott Gold, Vino Volo Reserve
Posts: 2,948
i got thru the process and was never prompted to enter a password, but i was logged in. (i'm generally recognized by the website from this machine..) i used edit profile to set a username and a password. the username doesn't work yet, but now the only way i can log in is with my MP number and new password. the PIN is no longer valid. progress!
Seat1A is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 16, 10:19 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: May 2003
Location: Slightly to the left of center
Posts: 3,397
Surely such a critical security enhancement would have included extensive internal and external testing before releasing to all members?

Or maybe we are those external Guinea pigs since there hasn't been an official email blast or UA Insider announcement of it here.
DBCme is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 16, 10:22 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Posts: 226
Originally Posted by DBCme View Post
Surely such a critical security enhancement would have included extensive internal and external testing before releasing to all members?

Or maybe we are those external Guinea pigs since there hasn't been an official email blast or UA Insider announcement of it here.
This is the company that allowed people to log in with a 4 digit pin number lol. I was disappointed but not surprised to see that the security question answers had to be selected from a dropdown .
blackllotus is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 16, 10:38 pm
  #14  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: GVA (Greater Vancouver Area)
Programs: DREAD Gold Card holder; UA 1.021MM; SPG/MR Au-197; PCC Elite+; CWC Au-197; WoH Exp
Posts: 48,099
Originally Posted by DBCme View Post
Surely such a critical security enhancement would have included extensive internal and external testing before releasing to all members?
I think they take their cue from Microsoft. Use the public as beta testers!
mahasamatman is offline  
Reply With Quote
Old Feb 11, 16, 10:52 pm
  #15  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Programs: WN AL+/CP, IHG AMB/Plat, HH/Mar Gold, UA Dirt
Posts: 45,064
United initiates new Mileage Pluss Account Security Update

Glad I never set a PIN

I still login using my UA original MP number too, just for my own petulance sake.

Last edited by goalie; Feb 11, 16 at 11:10 pm Reason: Removed trolling reference
uastarflyer is offline  
Reply With Quote

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
 
  • Ask a Question
    Get answers from community experts
Question Title:
Description:
Your question will be posted in: