Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus
Reload this Page >

General GPU earning & usage questions [Consolidated]

General GPU earning & usage questions [Consolidated]

    Hide Wikipost
Old Sep 16, 19, 1:47 pm   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: Kacee
Wiki Link
This thread is for general GPU usage questions. ----- Previous Thread was Specific GPU and RPU usage questions thread and Consolidated Global Premier Upgrade (GPU) Questions Thread [With Wiki]
Questions like "will my upgrade clear" are better placed in
[Consolidated] Chance of upgrade clearing on my flight [2016]

General comments on utility / value are better placed in
"Upgrade certificates are useless nowadays" - Hah!

Global Premier Upgrades (GPUs) are one-way, one-cabin upgrades, confirmable as early as time of ticketing on all UA/UX, Copa Airlines-operated, ANA/NH-operated flights and LH-operated flights systemwide. When used on a flight that is also RPU-eligible, their are usable on all paid fare. When the flight is non-RPU eligible, they are restricted to certain fares (Y, B, M, E, U, H, V, W ). See upgrade region chart for details.
For more on required fares and how to use see Global Premier Upgrades
For use on LH see the above link and Lufthansa GPUs Go Electronic
For use on NH (ANA) see this thread GPU may now be used at ANA
For LH & NH, GPUs can only used for a single segment and there is no waitlisting.
Using GPUs/RPUs on Copa Airlines.

GPUs are earned by elites -- (Re-)qualifying for Premier 1K/GS earns 6 GPUs good for the rest of the year, all of the next year and then thru 31 January of the following year. You can then earn 2 more GPUs for each additional 50K PQMs. Starting in 2019, United will provide 6 GPUs at 100k PQMs and 1 additional GPU for each additional 25k PQMs.

UA has offered to extend up to 2 unused GPUs for re-qualifying 1Ks to April in most years. Need to specifically request the extension -- the window for request usually opens in mid-Nov.

GPUs can be used for other individuals / friends / family but the upgrade priority is based on the status of the flyer not the earning elite.

RPUs require R PZ space to clear (except for GS RPUs which clear into PN space).

Note: the term journey is used here to denote travel between a pair of cities, with one or more layovers, and all segments of the journey are part of the same ticket, confirmation number, and record locator. A one way ticket has one journey. A round trip has two journeys. A multicity ticket has three or more journeys.

Can I apply a GPU to UA metal that is ticketed on non-UA ticket stock?
Yes -- there were some issues early post merger but seems to work well today -- however, if codeshare the equivalent UA fare classes still needs to qualify/
http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/19321483-post23.html says you can.
http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/19324013-post25.html says not always.

Can I use a GPU on flights operated by other airlines?
Yes, Copa, NH and LH.

On Copa, the rules are the same as for flights operated by UA. It can't be done online, so you have to call. The regular Premier desk can't do it, though, even though Copa uses MP as its loyalty program--you'll need to call (or be transferred to) the Star Alliance Help Desk to complete the process. (And it's an involved process for the agents--they have to duplicate the Copa PNR in SHARES and issue you a separate UA PNR. Betwen *A Desk hold times--no priority for Premiers--and the hassle it is for the agents, plan on 30-45 minutes to get this done. It may be simpler if you booked your Copa tickets through United.) Note that an RPU works anywhere on Copa that a GPU works, so don't waste GPUs unnecessarily.

On NH & LH, the process is completely different. See links above

I see GPUs for sale on Craigslist or eBay. May I buy them and use them? Should I offer my extra GPUs?
This is not recommended. If UA determines the GPU was sold, you risk having your M+ account terminated and loss of your miles, status, lifetime miles, etc.
Especially if you are the seller - MP Accounts Closed by UA Alleging Fraud/Misuse

If I have upgraded a flight with miles, cash, GPU, RPU, CPU, etc. from Y to J, may I upgrade to F with a GPU?
Policy does not allow this. However, once upgraded to business you may be offered a cash buy-up to F.

If I apply a GPU on a multi segment journey, what happens one or segments clear, and one or more do not?
The exact wording from united.com is:
New wording --- In most cases, the Global Premier Upgrade will be considered used if any segment of an itinerary is upgraded or flown. However, for travel which includes segments in United Polaris business class or United Polaris first class, the Global Premier Upgrade will be re-deposited if the United Polaris business class or United Polaris first class segment(s) could not be upgraded.

Old wording -- In most cases, the Global Premier Upgrade will be considered used if any segment of an itinerary is upgraded or flown. However, for travel which includes segments in United BusinessFirst or United Global First, the Global Premier Upgrade will be re-deposited if the United BusinessFirst or United Global First segment(s) could not be upgraded.
The new wording seems to remove the uncertainty on PS flights as PS flights are not considered Polaris flights.

Redeposits don't always happen automatically, and when you call, you might find agents are trained to follow the longest segment interpretation, whereby if the longest segment is upgraded, even if not BF or GF, then the GPU will not be deposited. See http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/21138703-post394.html of push back and eventual capitulation by UA.

Can I add myself to the wait list within 24 hours of departure?
The published rules do not allow waitlisting within 24 hours of departure. A helpful agent may be willing to add you to the list, but it is against the rules (and you cannot apply the GPU online within 24 hours of departure).

Do the fare class restrictions apply to domestic flights?
No, you can use a GPU on any fare on any RPU eligible flights -- this included any domestic/ any CPU eligible flight.

Is there a maximum layover between segments of a journey?
the T&Cs say
Stopovers require multiple upgrade products. A stopover for a single, one-way trip within the U.S. or between the U.S. and Canada is defined as longer than 4 hours in the connecting city. A stopover for a single, one-way trip to or from all other destinations is defined as longer than 24 hours in the connecting city.
as long as a single ticket .
However http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/20453548-post221.html is an example of 38 hours, where the 1K desk applied it on behalf of the customer. What is interesting about this case is that 38 hours is well beyond a layover, which implies that in some cases, one GPU can be used for two journeys on the same ticket even if the two journeys are beyond 24 hours apart. Note12 hours was the pmUA rule fpr international flights , some agents mayclaim that is thepresent rule.

How is the waitlist prioritized?
United.com details the process in the "Upgrade confirmation priority" section of this page.
For non-CPU flights
If an upgrade seat becomes available, waitlisted customers are confirmed automatically based on the Premier® status of the redeeming account***, then fare class, then time of request.
For CPU flights, GS and YBM fares will be handled before GPU/Miles/RPU users and finally CPU requests. Within these groups upgrades are prioritized based on Premier® status of the traveler, then fare class.
If not cleared until gate, it is believe the time factor is based on check-in time.

***On 4/15/15 travelers will no longer inherit the status of the redeeming account and will instead be prioritized by the status of the highest premier member on the PNR they are traveling on.

What is the relative waitlist priority of GPU vs Miles
Appears the use of GPU vs Miles has no impact on the waitlist priority.

May I cross two oceans with one GPU?
Yes if the entire journey is on one confirmation number and the max layover rule (above) is met.

Can I avoid upgrade lottery by booking only flights that have upgrade inventory?
Yes, see Post 3-Mar-2012:How to find upgrade inventory [+how to see fare bucket availability]. Note that you have to wait for the flight to ticket, by which time upgrade inventory can disappear. If so, cancel (within 24 hours of booking, so no penalty) and try again.

My GPU is still valid, but my journey starts after the GPU expires. Can I use the GPU for that journey?
No.

My GPU is still valid, but my journey starts before the GPU expires, and ends after the GPU expires. Can I use the GPU for that journey?
Yes if the initial flight scheduled departure is prior to expiration.

Can I let someone else use my GPU?
Yes. They will be prioritized on the waitlist based on their own status (or lack thereof).

If I let someone else use my GPU, do I have to be on the same reservation, same journey and/or same flight?
No to all.

What happens if there are multiple pax on the same reservation confirmation number and the reservation is split; will the GPU(s) that is(are) waitlisted on one or more pax stay with the new reservation?
Yes.

Why do Non-Revs get assigned seats in First/Business instead of upgrading paying customers?
UA’s policy is paying customers have priority for upgrades. However, per UA’s employee benefit package, Non-Revs can have access to unassigned seats if there are no waitlisted paying customers. This Non-Rev benefit is part of the negotiated employee compensation.

Earlier threads
Consolidated Global Premier Upgrade (GPU) Questions Thread [Archive]
United SWUs {GPUs} refunded if only domestic leg clears [policy change Sept 2011]
Specific GPU and RPU usage questions thread
Print Wikipost

Old Mar 15, 19, 10:56 am
  #1066  
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: EWR
Programs: UA GS, Marriott Gold
Posts: 393
Originally Posted by Kacee View Post
No. Not within T-24. And most agents will refuse.
I ended up pulling the RPU and doing a ToD upgrade which was $560. I requested an email receipt where it shows I am now in C fare class but the PQD did not change and upgrade is noted as additional collect.

Any luck in requesting higher PQD? Mostly concerned about them for GS requal. And will I get 2x PQM for a C fare class?
FTLexMUC is offline  
Old Mar 15, 19, 11:28 am
  #1067  
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 9,895
Originally Posted by FTLexMUC View Post
Any luck in requesting higher PQD? Mostly concerned about them for GS requal. And will I get 2x PQM for a C fare class?
PQM is hit or miss, but I've never seen any successful requests for additional PQD on a ToD.
jsloan is online now  
Old Mar 15, 19, 1:05 pm
  #1068  
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: ORF, RIC
Programs: UA 1K 2MM; Marriott Platinum; IHG Platinum
Posts: 3,079
Applying RPUs with T-24 h

Originally Posted by FTLexMUC View Post
I waitlisted an RPU for a flight on Friday with J1 currently. Upgrade chances slim to none. Do you recommend pulling it at T-24 to be able to re-apply when they level fare classes?
Originally Posted by Kacee View Post
UA doesn't regularly do that with upgrade space anymore (not for years). And if they do, good luck finding an agent to apply the RPU at T-1.
Originally Posted by FTLexMUC View Post

you can certainly do it on a de novo booking close in.
Can you not do it online if fare class is available?
Originally Posted by Kacee View Post
No. Not within T-24. And most agents will refuse.
I think that UA's policy is that you cannot use RPUs for waitlisting for PZ spaces within T-24 h. However, a SFO UC agent was able to do it for me (T-2 h), but I did not get the upgrade cleared. I saw my name on upgrade standby list right away. So, this was an exception to the policy.
If PZ spaces (PN for GS) are available within T-24 h, phone/UC agents can certainly get the upgrade cleared. The failure rate was small for me. I could not get the upgrade cleared when the gate agent had taken over the control of upgrade process (typically, within T-1 h). So, if you see PZ spaces, you should call as quickly as possible.
Happy travels.
Kmxu is offline  
Old Mar 15, 19, 3:38 pm
  #1069  
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: MRY - CNX - TXL
Programs: UA 1K / *G / Marriott PE / Expedia Gold+ / Hertz PC
Posts: 7,058
How do I buy a PE seat and apply a GPU for J?
On the site all the only options I seem to be able to do is Buy Y and upgrade to PE/J, buy Y, buy PE, buy J.

Edit: Never mind, I was searching one way fares, when I went round trip it gave me the full options.
JVPhoto is offline  
Old Mar 15, 19, 10:57 pm
  #1070  
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: TPA 50%/BKK 30%/HKG 20%
Programs: UA:1K 0.95MM – Hilton D – Marriott G – IHG P
Posts: 1,907
Originally Posted by Kmxu View Post
I think that UA's policy is that you cannot use RPUs for waitlisting for PZ spaces within T-24 h. However, a SFO UC agent was able to do it for me (T-2 h), but I did not get the upgrade cleared. I saw my name on upgrade standby list right away. So, this was an exception to the policy.
If PZ spaces (PN for GS) are available within T-24 h, phone/UC agents can certainly get the upgrade cleared. The failure rate was small for me. I could not get the upgrade cleared when the gate agent had taken over the control of upgrade process (typically, within T-1 h). So, if you see PZ spaces, you should call as quickly as possible.
Happy travels.
Me too. I've had same day GPUs clear via phone when PZ>0. In all of the cases a flight change was involved--not sure if that was the reason or not. (But it was the reason for the flight change--i.e. I changed the itinerary to get the cleared upgrade.)
TomA is offline  
Old Mar 15, 19, 11:09 pm
  #1071  
 
Join Date: Jan 2016
Location: Tel Aviv (TLV), Chicago (ORD)
Programs: United Premier Gold, Starwood/Marriott Gold
Posts: 216
Originally Posted by TomA View Post
Me too. I've had same day GPUs clear via phone when PZ>0. In all of the cases a flight change was involved--not sure if that was the reason or not. (But it was the reason for the flight change--i.e. I changed the itinerary to get the cleared upgrade.)
Ditto to this. I was booked on a flight once out of ORD. I arrived at ORD and the airport was a bigger mess than I'm used to-ended up missing the flight. Went to the United Club and the wonderful agents took care of me. There were no more flights to my destination, so they rebooked me to somewhere close to my destination. Two agents were working on it at the same time, and one noticed I was booked into PZ on the original flight. She then checked and saw PZ space on the new flight that was T-1.5. She called the help desk and cheerfully had the RPU certificate found (it had "disappeared" when I no-showed for the original flight). Once she found it she happily placed me into PZ on the new flight.
NoDestinations is offline  
Old Mar 15, 19, 11:20 pm
  #1072  
Hilton Contributor BadgeMarriott Contributor Badge
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: TOA
Programs: HH Diamond, Marriott LTPP/Platinum Premier, Hyatt Lame-ist, UA !K
Posts: 3,506
Originally Posted by Kmxu View Post
I think that UA's policy is that you cannot use RPUs for waitlisting for PZ spaces within T-24 h. However, a SFO UC agent was able to do it for me (T-2 h), but I did not get the upgrade cleared. I saw my name on upgrade standby list right away. So, this was an exception to the policy.
If PZ spaces (PN for GS) are available within T-24 h, phone/UC agents can certainly get the upgrade cleared. The failure rate was small for me. I could not get the upgrade cleared when the gate agent had taken over the control of upgrade process (typically, within T-1 h). So, if you see PZ spaces, you should call as quickly as possible.
Happy travels.
Some UC agents are willing to apply an instrument within T-24. Doesn't necessarily mean that the instrument will clear but at least you know where you stand wrt others on the list.

David
DELee is offline  
Old Mar 16, 19, 5:11 am
  #1073  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: SFO
Programs: UA 1K 1MM; AS MVPG75K; Marriott Titanium; Hilton Diamond (Aspire); Hyatt Refugeeist
Posts: 40,910
Originally Posted by Kmxu View Post
If PZ spaces (PN for GS) are available within T-24 h, phone/UC agents can certainly get the upgrade cleared. The failure rate was small for me. I could not get the upgrade cleared when the gate agent had taken over the control of upgrade process (typically, within T-1 h). So, if you see PZ spaces, you should call as quickly as possible.
I think most of us have stories of clearing into PN/R inside T-24. And most of them are at least several years old. Before UA took away the ability to apply instruments online within T-24 and instructed their agents not to do it for passengers.

Do exceptions occur? Of course. But if you're counting on (a) UA opening PN/PZ at T-1 when a flight is J1, and (b) getting an agent to clear you into it, well, good luck with that. Because the odds are very very low it's going to happen.
Kacee is offline  
Old Mar 28, 19, 10:41 pm
  #1074  
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: DEN
Programs: UA 1K 0.5MM (trying to get to 1MM!)
Posts: 932
I have an itinerary coming up that I booked on UA, AAA-BBB-CCC-DDD-EEE, all on W fare, all travel on 1 day. AAA-BBB-CCC is on LH, CCC-DDD-EEE on UA. I applied a GPU in hopes of the TATL CCC-DDD segment clearing (which it did...yay!), but I actually got an email notification from UA today saying that they could not confirm the upgrade from AAA-BBB, but that I have been added to the upgrade standby list.that is "shown online and at the airport". Seeing as this is an LH flight, is there such a thing as an upgrade standby list that is "shown online and at the airport"? Or is this just a faulty form letter email that does not apply to me? I didn't realize that a GPU could be used for a W fare on LH flights...or is that not the case?

I went to Google Flights to see if it would even bring up a fare if I were to want to buy a business class fare on the AAA-BBB flight. From what I can tell they are still selling 6 business class seats on that flight (if I try to select 7 adults, the flight no longer appears in the list). Is that a good indication of the number of seats left? Will I actually be eligible for an upgrade on that flight, if so?

Last edited by mpiotrow; Mar 28, 19 at 10:48 pm
mpiotrow is offline  
Old Mar 28, 19, 11:12 pm
  #1075  
Moderator: United Airlines; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SFO
Programs: UA Gold 1.85MM, Hyatt Discoverist, Marriott Plat/LT Gold, Hilton Silver, IHG Gold
Posts: 47,271
Originally Posted by mpiotrow View Post
I have an itinerary coming up that I booked on UA, AAA-BBB-CCC-DDD-EEE, all on W fare, all travel on 1 day. AAA-BBB-CCC is on LH, CCC-DDD-EEE on UA. I applied a GPU in hopes of the TATL CCC-DDD segment clearing (which it did...yay!), but I actually got an email notification from UA today saying that they could not confirm the upgrade from AAA-BBB, but that I have been added to the upgrade standby list.that is "shown online and at the airport". Seeing as this is an LH flight, is there such a thing as an upgrade standby list that is "shown online and at the airport"? Or is this just a faulty form letter email that does not apply to me? I didn't realize that a GPU could be used for a W fare on LH flights...or is that not the case?

I went to Google Flights to see if it would even bring up a fare if I were to want to buy a business class fare on the AAA-BBB flight. From what I can tell they are still selling 6 business class seats on that flight (if I try to select 7 adults, the flight no longer appears in the list). Is that a good indication of the number of seats left? Will I actually be eligible for an upgrade on that flight, if so?
The first flight, when you say "LH flight", is it LH operated? if so there will be no waitlisting of your present GPU. LH flights besides requiring a higher fare class, each LH flight requires its own separate GPU.
So without throwing additional GPUs at this itin, there will be no additional upgraded flights.
WineCountryUA is offline  
Old Mar 29, 19, 8:33 am
  #1076  
 
Join Date: May 2016
Location: SFO
Programs: UA 1k
Posts: 238
Originally Posted by mpiotrow View Post
I have an itinerary coming up that I booked on UA, AAA-BBB-CCC-DDD-EEE, all on W fare, all travel on 1 day. AAA-BBB-CCC is on LH, CCC-DDD-EEE on UA. I applied a GPU in hopes of the TATL CCC-DDD segment clearing (which it did...yay!), but I actually got an email notification from UA today saying that they could not confirm the upgrade from AAA-BBB, but that I have been added to the upgrade standby list.that is "shown online and at the airport". Seeing as this is an LH flight, is there such a thing as an upgrade standby list that is "shown online and at the airport"? Or is this just a faulty form letter email that does not apply to me? I didn't realize that a GPU could be used for a W fare on LH flights...or is that not the case?

I went to Google Flights to see if it would even bring up a fare if I were to want to buy a business class fare on the AAA-BBB flight. From what I can tell they are still selling 6 business class seats on that flight (if I try to select 7 adults, the flight no longer appears in the list). Is that a good indication of the number of seats left? Will I actually be eligible for an upgrade on that flight, if so?
I had this happen on a TP-operated connecting flight too when I applied a GPU on a UA TATL on the same trip. It was just the system going a bit screwy, no upgrade unfortunately
mrt88 is offline  
Old Mar 29, 19, 9:52 am
  #1077  
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Location: DEN
Programs: UA 1K 0.5MM (trying to get to 1MM!)
Posts: 932
Originally Posted by WineCountryUA View Post
The first flight, when you say "LH flight", is it LH operated? if so there will be no waitlisting of your present GPU. LH flights besides requiring a higher fare class, each LH flight requires its own separate GPU.
So without throwing additional GPUs at this itin, there will be no additional upgraded flights.
Yes, it's an LH operated flight.

Originally Posted by mrt88 View Post
I had this happen on a TP-operated connecting flight too when I applied a GPU on a UA TATL on the same trip. It was just the system going a bit screwy, no upgrade unfortunately
That's what I figured...oh well, just a couple short hops in Y until the UA TATL in J
mpiotrow is offline  
Old Apr 13, 19, 12:26 pm
  #1078  
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Programs: AC 75K, UA Gold, MR Plat , Hilton Diamond
Posts: 28
My GPU recently cleared and I can see that I am booked into PZ, but at the bottom of the website I can still see the original economy flight segment as an extra segment (Same date, flight, etc.) . I also have that message at the top of the screen '' A modification has been made to your itinerary. Please contact United Reservations to have your ticket reissued.''

Is that normal or should I just let it go?
YUL1941 is offline  
Old Apr 13, 19, 12:55 pm
  #1079  
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Posts: 4,420
Originally Posted by YUL1941 View Post
My GPU recently cleared and I can see that I am booked into PZ, but at the bottom of the website I can still see the original economy flight segment as an extra segment (Same date, flight, etc.) . I also have that message at the top of the screen '' A modification has been made to your itinerary. Please contact United Reservations to have your ticket reissued.''

Is that normal or should I just let it go?
Your reservation is out of sync, probably due to a combination of schedule change and upgrade request. In a sense, it is normal, but at some point you should call to get the unneeded segment deleted to be sure nothing gets confused with seat assignments / check in / etc.
fumje is offline  
Old Apr 13, 19, 1:00 pm
  #1080  
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Programs: AC 75K, UA Gold, MR Plat , Hilton Diamond
Posts: 28
Thanks!
YUL1941 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread