Contacting UA by phone outside USA

    Hide Wikipost
Old Feb 4, 18, 3:49 pm   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: flyerbjorn
Wiki Link
To reach the 1K line for free from most countries:
1. Use this page to find the local number: http://business.att.com/bt/dial_guide.jsp
2. Call the AT&T number of the country you're in.
3. Then dial the US United number you'd like to reach, as in the 1K line.

List of local numbers:
United WW phone numbers
Print Wikipost

Old Aug 26, 15, 8:51 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: San Francisco
Programs: UA 1K, Citi Prestige, AMEX Platinum, SPG Gold
Posts: 677
Contacting UA by phone outside USA

I got stranded in Mexico last night when my flight home was canceled. There was a huge line to get rebooked. Often, I can deal with this by calling to get rebooked. Unfortunately, somehow my US cell phone could not call US toll-free numbers from Mexico. In the end, I remembered I had some old calling card and was able to call a US access number from which I could then call the 1K line. They rebooked me instantly and got me great seats. I was glad I didn't have to wait in the other line, which was a complete mess, with no shortcuts for F pax or elites. (First-class is a total waste of money to Mexico.)

Is there a better way to deal with this, like a non-800 number one can call? I looked at united.com/wwcontacts, but could not find a non-800 number. There are numbers in other countries, but I didn't know if these were weird toll free numbers also (which can flat out not work internationally or paradoxically be expensive to call). Also, I didn't know the level of service, language, etc. I just wanted to speak to the usual US agents I get on the toll-free line.

Note, I'm aware that forum rules prohibit posting elite dial-in numbers. However, I'd be glad for even a non-elite number I could dial, or for instructions on how to figure out the non-800 elite number rather than the number itself.
ftweb is offline  
Old Aug 26, 15, 8:59 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Posts: 987
Originally Posted by ftweb View Post
I got stranded in Mexico last night when my flight home was canceled. There was a huge line to get rebooked. Often, I can deal with this by calling to get rebooked. Unfortunately, somehow my US cell phone could not call US toll-free numbers from Mexico. In the end, I remembered I had some old calling card and was able to call a US access number from which I could then call the 1K line. They rebooked me instantly and got me great seats. I was glad I didn't have to wait in the other line, which was a complete mess, with no shortcuts for F pax or elites. (First-class is a total waste of money to Mexico.)

Is there a better way to deal with this, like a non-800 number one can call? I looked at united.com/wwcontacts, but could not find a non-800 number. There are numbers in other countries, but I didn't know if these were weird toll free numbers also (which can flat out not work internationally or paradoxically be expensive to call). Also, I didn't know the level of service, language, etc. I just wanted to speak to the usual US agents I get on the toll-free line.

Note, I'm aware that forum rules prohibit posting elite dial-in numbers. However, I'd be glad for even a non-elite number I could dial, or for instructions on how to figure out the non-800 elite number rather than the number itself.
I've called UA's 800 number from Mexico several times when I've needed to change plans for my return flight on my annual trip to the Yucatan. You have to dial the country's prefix first. In this case you have to dial 00 THEN 1-800-xxx-xxxx. (00 being the international code for the U.S.)
Kensterfly is offline  
Old Aug 26, 15, 9:04 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: SF Bay Area
Programs: UA MileagePlus (Premier Gold); Hilton HHonors (Gold); Chase Ultimate Rewards; Amex Plat
Posts: 2,712
Originally Posted by Kensterfly View Post
I've called UA's 800 number from Mexico several times when I've needed to change plans for my return flight on my annual trip to the Yucatan. You have to dial the country's prefix first. In this case you have to dial 00 THEN 1-800-xxx-xxxx. (00 being the international code for the U.S.)
No need to dial (or memorize) the international prefix at every destination. That's why the "+" key was invented, so just dial +1 (the US country code is 1) then the number.
STS-134 is offline  
Old Aug 26, 15, 9:32 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Jun 2002
Location: Potomac MD
Programs: UA MP 1K
Posts: 7,166
If you have Skype, you can call an 800 number in the US without charge from anywhere in the world.
euslaner is offline  
Old Aug 26, 15, 9:44 am
  #5  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Los Angeles / Basel
Programs: UA 1K MM, AA EXP, Hyatt Globalist
Posts: 24,827
Originally Posted by euslaner View Post
If you have Skype, you can call an 800 number in the US without charge from anywhere in the world.
+1
MatthewLAX is online now  
Old Aug 26, 15, 9:49 am
  #6  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: SFO
Programs: AA EXP; AS 75K; UA 1K 1MM; Marriott Ambassador; Hilton Diamond (Aspire); Hyatt Explorist
Posts: 43,854
Originally Posted by euslaner View Post
If you have Skype, you can call an 800 number in the US without charge from anywhere in the world.
Yes. In this age, any international traveler should have a VOIP App installed on their phone. I personally use Vonage, but there are many alternatives.
Kacee is offline  
Old Aug 26, 15, 10:58 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: EWR
Programs: UA .5M, SPG Gold Lifetime
Posts: 987
UA hasn't provided a non-800 number since years pm (pre-merger) & the ones I had from that era all don't work anymore. For a profit-obsessed corporation, I'm surprised they don't only use a non-800 number to avoid paying the connection charge on each call & dissuade callers.
Richard Chen is offline  
Old Aug 26, 15, 11:31 am
  #8  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston
Programs: UA Gold, Marriott Gold
Posts: 11,254
UA publishes phone contact info for all regions they serve, including Mexico.
mduell is offline  
Old Aug 26, 15, 12:22 pm
  #9  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: San Francisco
Programs: UA 1K, Citi Prestige, AMEX Platinum, SPG Gold
Posts: 677
Originally Posted by STS-134 View Post
No need to dial (or memorize) the international prefix at every destination. That's why the "+" key was invented, so just dial +1 (the US country code is 1) then the number.
So to clarify, what I mean by not being able to call US 800 numbers is that when I dial "+1800XXXXXXX" or "001800XXXXXXX" from my T-mobile phone in Mexico I get a recording saying, "Servicio no disponible." When I dial +1YYYXXXXXXX for any US area code YYY that is not toll-free, it works. So that may have been why the + key was invented, but in Mexico it only seems to work for non-toll-free area codes.

And to those telling me to get a VOIP app, I do indeed have one (CSipSimple), but there was no wifi at the airport and the mobile data rate was too slow to make phone calls. Fortunately, I remembered that my VOIP provider (future-nine) also provides a free calling card service. So I was able to call a special future-nine access number in the US, and from there use my SIP account number as a calling card number to make the call to the 1K number.

I'm just kind of shocked that this is what one has to do. I mean would it cost UA anything to advertise a non-toll-free number?
ftweb is offline  
Old Aug 26, 15, 12:26 pm
  #10  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: SFO
Programs: AA EXP; AS 75K; UA 1K 1MM; Marriott Ambassador; Hilton Diamond (Aspire); Hyatt Explorist
Posts: 43,854
Originally Posted by ftweb View Post
I'm just kind of shocked that this is what one has to do. I mean would it cost UA anything to advertise a non-toll-free number?
They do:

Originally Posted by mduell View Post
Kacee is offline  
Old Aug 26, 15, 1:25 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Programs: UA 1K MM, HH Gold
Posts: 1,449
Originally Posted by ftweb View Post
So to clarify, what I mean by not being able to call US 800 numbers is that when I dial "+1800XXXXXXX" or "001800XXXXXXX" from my T-mobile phone in Mexico I get a recording saying, "Servicio no disponible." When I dial +1YYYXXXXXXX for any US area code YYY that is not toll-free, it works. So that may have been why the + key was invented, but in Mexico it only seems to work for non-toll-free area codes.
Most toll free numbers are limited to calling from the country of origin. From the US, I can't call an European toll free number on a cell phone nor landline.
I always use SKYPE to call US toll free numbers when traveling overseas.
CAPT Tee is offline  
Old Aug 26, 15, 1:31 pm
  #12  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Posts: 10,582
http://www.united.com/web/en-US/cont...ns/mexico.aspx
Baze is offline  
Old Oct 15, 15, 9:08 am
  #13  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Frisco, TX
Programs: The Airline Run by Doug P
Posts: 18,667
Calling UA from the UK

Is there a UK 0800 number to call while I'm staying in England? I ask as I'll want to possibly change my return routing. Wasn't sure what number to call.

Thanks
enviroian is offline  
Old Oct 15, 15, 10:18 am
  #14  
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Houston
Programs: UA Gold, IHG Plat AMB, HHonors Diamond, Hertz Pres. Circle, Avis Presidents Club
Posts: 564
Originally Posted by enviroian View Post
Is there a UK 0800 number to call while I'm staying in England? I ask as I'll want to possibly change my return routing. Wasn't sure what number to call.

Thanks
I have the following for the UK. Have never actually used them, though:

MP Service Centre 02073651859
or 08456076760

Last edited by WineCountryUA; Oct 15, 15 at 10:36 pm Reason: split post
lindaiah is offline  
Old Oct 15, 15, 10:19 am
  #15  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Frisco, TX
Programs: The Airline Run by Doug P
Posts: 18,667
Originally Posted by lindaiah View Post
I have the following for the UK. Have never actually used them, though:

MP Service Centre 02073651859
or 08456076760
good to know--thanks
enviroian is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: