Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus
Reload this Page >

Does LH ever upgrade UA Prem Plat Members?

Does LH ever upgrade UA Prem Plat Members?

Old Jul 8, 15, 2:11 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Fremont, CA
Programs: UA *Gold
Posts: 13
Does LH ever upgrade UA Prem Plat Members?

I have a biz class ticket on UA (operated by LH) Class C. SFO-FRA-BLR & back. Does LH ever upgrade UA Premier Plat fliers to First? I have done this route many times and LH seems to never want to even entertain the idea of upgrades. Anyone with different experience?
kmsutra is offline  
Old Jul 8, 15, 2:17 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Texas
Programs: Former 1K turned UA Kettle
Posts: 407
IME the only way to upgrade on LH is through a GPU and you won't get a chance at F until close in (T-10 days or closer)> If there was ever an oversell, they would op-up their SEN and HONs from C -> F, but on a 380 with it's half a million C seats I can't imagine they have to do very many op-ups
UTex09 is offline  
Old Jul 8, 15, 2:21 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Aug 2003
Location: Northern California
Programs: I want to be free! Free!
Posts: 2,981
Rare but it happens. Got bumped up to LH C FRA-DEL last year (pretty meaningful bump on the A388). Didn't see how full Y was so hard to tell if op-up or random act of CS kindness -- boarding gate just spit a little receipt back out at me with the new seat assignment.
aCavalierInCoach is offline  
Old Jul 8, 15, 2:39 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Feb 2002
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 693
very rarely and no rhyme or reason to it. happened to me once ever in 6 years and i had a flight that was delayed and was getting onto a flight just as it was about to leave so there was manual tweaking involved.
uthornsgo is offline  
Old Jul 8, 15, 2:48 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: Washington, DC, USA
Programs: UA-1Kmm, AA-EX Plt mm-, Hilton Diamond,
Posts: 1,048
LH is fairly firm in following rules. F cabin upgrades can occur in rare cases but they really guard the premium seats in F.
FLYDCA is offline  
Old Jul 8, 15, 2:55 pm
  #6  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: FLL/LAX/YYZ/TPE
Programs: CO Platinum 1K, United 1K, SPG LT Platinum, National Executive Elite, Platinum TSA Hater
Posts: 33,785
Did you book it yourself or through a TA? Our agency, and I'm sure we're not the only one out there, offers free Y-J and J-F upgrades on LH. Always book a premium cabin ticket through a well connected agent so you get access to better amenities and benefits vs just booking solo online....the price is almost always the same (except for some Asian carriers with web fares).

For this to work, you need to be ticketed on LH and fly LH operated flights - no codeshares. I would say an op-up is not going to happen because if the need arises, they will op-up their own FF customers before any *A partners.
bocastephen is offline  
Old Jul 8, 15, 3:00 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: DEN
Programs: UA 1P-1MM, Marriott LT Titanium
Posts: 3,654
LH only does op-ups when oversold. If you got a Y-C upgrade, you can bet that Y was oversold. I got an op-up from the automated gate in FRA last year. Scanned my BP and the glass doors didn't open right away. After a couple seconds, a piece of paper came out of the reader and told me to sit in C

I'm not clear if LH actually prioritizes their SEN or FTL members over *G when doing op-ups.
tods27 is offline  
Old Jul 8, 15, 3:12 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: AMS
Programs: UA 1K, FB, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Platinum
Posts: 130
I was upgraded last month on the BLR-FRA flight from C to F as a UA 1K (although I think LH only sees me as a *G, don't think they notice if someone is 1K, plat or gold). Was on full fare J ticket. At checkin they offered upgrade to first for 50.000 miles, which I declined (if I would have accepted, I don't think they could have taken my UA miles). At the gate I got the upgrade for free. Business was oversold I guess.
xandern is offline  
Old Jul 8, 15, 3:28 pm
  #9  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: SFO
Programs: UA 1K 1MM; AS 75K; Marriott Ambassador; Hilton Diamond (Aspire); Hyatt Explorist
Posts: 43,077
Originally Posted by UTex09 View Post
If there was ever an oversell, they would op-up their SEN and HONs from C -> F, but on a 380 with it's half a million C seats I can't imagine they have to do very many op-ups
Actually, LH gives op-ups based on fare class, not status. No status on a Y gets upgraded before Sen on a B. This is an extremely unpopular policy over on the LH forum.

For example:

Originally Posted by xandern View Post
I was upgraded last month on the BLR-FRA flight from C to F as a UA 1K (although I think LH only sees me as a *G, don't think they notice if someone is 1K, plat or gold). Was on full fare J ticket.
Kacee is offline  
Old Jul 8, 15, 3:41 pm
  #10  
TA
 
Join Date: Nov 1999
Location: if it's Thursday, this must be Belgium
Programs: UA 1K MM
Posts: 6,172
Personal anecdote: I was "upgraded" from Economy to Premium Economy on a recent FRA-JFK flight. I was on an "S" ticket. I suppose the flight was oversold. Somehow I doubt that C->F happens very often.
TA is online now  
Old Jul 8, 15, 6:05 pm
  #11  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
2020 FlyerTalk Awards
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: BOS/EAP
Programs: UA 1K, MR LTT, HH Gold, Amex Plat
Posts: 24,784
FRA-BLR has a decent chance with a GPU IMO. Whenever I fly this route I see go out w/ empty seats.
cfischer is offline  
Old Jul 8, 15, 7:01 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Tri Valley Area Northern CA
Programs: UA GS
Posts: 523
Last month, I was upgraded to Business on an inexpensive "K" class ticket, IST/FRA.

Side note- When I checked in for the flight (several hours before the flight), the Coach cabin was only 30-35% full, at least according to the seat map. I changed my seat assignment to a row near the back because it was in an area with several empty rows. I forgot that LH doesn't assign seats until the day of departure. I am used to United seat maps in which passengers are able to obtain a seat assignment.

Last edited by PBAudit; Jul 8, 15 at 7:15 pm Reason: correction
PBAudit is online now  
Old Jul 8, 15, 7:08 pm
  #13  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
2020 FlyerTalk Awards
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: BOS/EAP
Programs: UA 1K, MR LTT, HH Gold, Amex Plat
Posts: 24,784
Originally Posted by PBAudit View Post
Last month, I was upgraded to First on an inexpensive "K" class ticket, IST/FRA.

Side note- When I checked in for the flight (several hours before the flight), the Coach cabin was only 30-35% full, at least according to the seat map. I changed my seat assignment to a row near the back because it was in an area with several empty rows. I forgot that LH doesn't assign seats until the day of departure. I am used to United seat maps in which passengers are able to obtain a seat assignment.
there is no First IST-FRA AFAIK.
cfischer is offline  
Old Jul 8, 15, 7:15 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: Aug 2000
Location: Tri Valley Area Northern CA
Programs: UA GS
Posts: 523
Originally Posted by cfischer View Post
there is no First IST-FRA AFAIK.
You are correct. It is Business Class.
PBAudit is online now  
Old Jul 8, 15, 8:10 pm
  #15  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: West Coast, Best Coast
Programs: Flying whoever is most convenient
Posts: 15,485
Back when I was 1k I was upgraded many times on flights within Europe. I've never flown LH in the back cabin on long haul and never been upgraded from C to F so no data to share on that.
PV_Premier is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: