Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus
Reload this Page >

Check Your UA Itineraries for Schedule Changes and what to do after one [Archive]

Check Your UA Itineraries for Schedule Changes and what to do after one [Archive]

Old Mar 23, 16, 7:06 pm
  #796  
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 20
I have a LAX-YYZ-FCO saver award ticket on AC for this July which I booked back in September. In the meantime there have been some schedule changes and an unfortunate upgauge from an A330 to the dreaded 77W HD on the YYZ-FCO leg. The original schedule had us arrive in FCO at 10:45 am. Now we are scheduled to arrive at 8:30 am which means we're going to have to pay for a hotel room for the night before so we have a room ready when we arrive. (I've checked with 3 hotels and early checkin doesn't seem to be a thing in Italy.)

The only current one-stop availability are standard awards on United metal, with a 10:30 FCO arrival if we route through ORD. Will UA open up saver availability on their metal for me because AC changed the arrival time to be 2:15 earlier?
runchadrun is offline  
Old Mar 23, 16, 7:10 pm
  #797  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northern Calif./Eastern Ida.
Programs: Flying whoever is most convenient
Posts: 17,036
Originally Posted by runchadrun View Post
The only current one-stop availability are standard awards on United metal, with a 10:30 FCO arrival if we route through ORD. Will UA open up saver availability on their metal for me because AC changed the arrival time to be 2:15 earlier?
no guarantee, but it certainly doesn't hurt to ask. if it tightens up a layover, or also allows you to leave LAX later, use that as leverage as well.
PV_Premier is offline  
Old Mar 25, 16, 8:25 pm
  #798  
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: HNL
Programs: Au: UA, Marriott, Hilton; Ex-HA Pt (now not), GE
Posts: 6,208
MCT issue due to schedule change: Need to do something here?

I am travelling on a UA-issued international J award ticket from a US origin city with a connection in a foreign city on the way to another international destination. The operating carrier is a foreign Star Alliance member. When this ticket was originally issued, the MCT was 1 hour, and the actual connection time was 1 hour.

When I looked at the UA website today, my itinerary still shows the one-hour connect time. There is no warning issued.

When I checked the inbound and outbound flights on the foreign carrier's website, I noticed that the "connect time" is only 55 min, and additionally, the site does not show the connecting flights pairing up if I do a dummy booking from Origin-Destination. The operating carrier has not contacted me about a booking problem.

So, what would you recommend? Do I:

1. Leave as is: Nothing to worry about?
2. Contact either the Operating Carrier or UA: I will be held responsible for having a ticket with illegal connect?

FYI, here is an earlier inbound connecting flight which I would like, but according to the UA site, there are no Y or J seats available for award purchase.

Thanks for your thoughts.
747FC is offline  
Old Mar 25, 16, 8:34 pm
  #799  
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Floating around
Programs: UA 1K (1MM), DL Silver (1MM), Marriott Amb (LT Titanium)
Posts: 8,634
This is entirely UA's problem until the day of departure when you check-in with the foreign carrier.

You can call UA and ask them to check the flight times. If they realize you violate the MCT rules you might be able to convince them to get you on the earlier flight. The problem here is UA has no control over award space on the other airlines and if there is no award space UA can't magically open it up for you. So your option there would be to take UA-operated flights to your connection point in Europe or wherever it is and then keep your onward connection on the foreign carrier.

Tell us which airport you are connecting through and we can offer opinions on whether 55 minutes is doable. For example, 55 minutes in FRA is more than enough.

Are both flights operated by the same foreign carrier?

-RM
RobOnLI is offline  
Old Mar 25, 16, 8:35 pm
  #800  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: GVA (Greater Vancouver Area)
Programs: DREAD Gold; UA 1.021MM; Bonvoy Au-197; PCC Elite+; CWC Au-197; CCC Elite*; WoH Dis
Posts: 50,058
Call United, and tell them a schedule time has left you with a connection that is too short. They will open up inventory on United metal if necessary to accomodate you.
mahasamatman is offline  
Old Mar 25, 16, 8:40 pm
  #801  
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: HNL
Programs: Au: UA, Marriott, Hilton; Ex-HA Pt (now not), GE
Posts: 6,208
Originally Posted by RobOnLI View Post
This is entirely UA's problem until the day of departure when you check-in with the foreign carrier.

You can call UA and ask them to check the flight times. If they realize you violate the MCT rules you might be able to convince them to get you on the earlier flight. The problem here is UA has no control over award space on the other airlines and if there is no award space UA can't magically open it up for you. So your option there would be to take UA-operated flights to your connection point in Europe or wherever it is and then keep your onward connection on the foreign carrier.

Tell us which airport you are connecting through and we can offer opinions on whether 55 minutes is doable. For example, 55 minutes in FRA is more than enough.

Are both flights operated by the same foreign carrier?

-RM
Thank you.

There is only a very short walk without further security, so I am not worried about the 5 minutes less in connect time. Both flights are on the same carrier.

There is no UA flight to the destination.

I just am concerned that either UA or the other carrier might come back to me and say, "Hey you have an illegal ticket!" and then I'm screwed.
747FC is offline  
Old Mar 25, 16, 8:45 pm
  #802  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: GVA (Greater Vancouver Area)
Programs: DREAD Gold; UA 1.021MM; Bonvoy Au-197; PCC Elite+; CWC Au-197; CCC Elite*; WoH Dis
Posts: 50,058
Originally Posted by 747FC View Post
I just am concerned that either UA or the other carrier might come back to me and say, "Hey you have an illegal ticket!" and then I'm screwed.
They still have to get you to your destination since it was fine when you bought it. It just may take some time...
mahasamatman is offline  
Old Mar 25, 16, 9:30 pm
  #803  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston
Programs: UA Gold, Marriott Gold
Posts: 11,351
First I'd check the connect time against independently sourced schedules from the operating carrier. I've seen UA's connect times be off by tens of hours.
mduell is offline  
Old Mar 26, 16, 11:36 am
  #804  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: BOS/EAP
Programs: UA 1K, MR LTT, HH Dia, Amex Plat
Posts: 26,224
some nasty changes for my 5/7 trip. UA changing schedules 6 weeks prior to departure ... oh boy
cfischer is offline  
Old Mar 26, 16, 2:01 pm
  #805  
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: HNL
Programs: UA Nothing (Former Gold), Global Entry
Posts: 714
I thought I've seen this before but had no luck searching:

If booked in a first/business class itinerary and a 1-class regional jet gets swapped to 2-class, will they move you up after calling in?

Thanks.
Taoyuan is offline  
Old Mar 26, 16, 2:10 pm
  #806  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: GVA (Greater Vancouver Area)
Programs: DREAD Gold; UA 1.021MM; Bonvoy Au-197; PCC Elite+; CWC Au-197; CCC Elite*; WoH Dis
Posts: 50,058
Originally Posted by Taoyuan View Post
If booked in a first/business class itinerary and a 1-class regional jet gets swapped to 2-class, will they move you up after calling in?
If the inventory is there, they should. If not, you can waitlist for the front cabin.
mahasamatman is offline  
Old Mar 26, 16, 2:37 pm
  #807  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: BOS/EAP
Programs: UA 1K, MR LTT, HH Dia, Amex Plat
Posts: 26,224
Originally Posted by Taoyuan View Post
I thought I've seen this before but had no luck searching:

If booked in a first/business class itinerary and a 1-class regional jet gets swapped to 2-class, will they move you up after calling in?

Thanks.
yes, but you'll have to call. Without calling it won't happen automatically.
cfischer is offline  
Old Mar 26, 16, 9:36 pm
  #808  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: MSP
Programs: DL PM, UA Gold, WN, Global Entry; +others wherever miles/points are found
Posts: 11,346
Originally Posted by Taoyuan View Post
I thought I've seen this before but had no luck searching:

If booked in a first/business class itinerary and a 1-class regional jet gets swapped to 2-class, will they move you up after calling in?

Thanks.
It also depends how the original ticket was booked - there may be a difference in fare to pay if you had a fare break at the connection point. If a through fare they should reticket for free if you call.
findark is offline  
Old Mar 26, 16, 9:58 pm
  #809  
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: HNL
Programs: UA Nothing (Former Gold), Global Entry
Posts: 714
Thanks everyone - I was able to get my folks re-ticketed with no problems.
Taoyuan is offline  
Old Mar 28, 16, 11:28 am
  #810  
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: KCMO < PHL<DEN<SCL<EZE<CHO<PHL<ABE
Programs: UA Silver / FA
Posts: 938
Just got a call from United.. (Unknown number) VM saying "there's been a schedule change on your flight on March 31".
I went online to look and all is the same. Thoughts?
Tblack15 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: