Put your bags on empty seats

Old Jan 9, 15, 5:36 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Programs: Delta Gold, Hilton Diamond, SPG Gold, IHG Plat, AMEX Plat
Posts: 220
Put your bags on empty seats

I'm at PSC, waiting for delayed Delta flight to SLC. In the meanwhile, announcement comes up re delayed UA flight to Denver. Pilot has decided not to gate check any bags (assume Canadair RJ 200). Passengers should take bags on plane and they'll be stowed in empty seats. Definitely will help if connecting, but have never heard that one before.
umustbjokim is offline  
Old Jan 9, 15, 5:44 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Programs: Amex Plat, Hilton Diamond, SPG Gold, Carlson Gold, CM Presidential / *A Gold, Hertz 5*
Posts: 1,109
Under or on?
pmarrsouth is offline  
Old Jan 9, 15, 5:45 pm
  #3  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: SJC, SFO, YYC
Programs: AA-EXP, AA-0.41MM, UA-Gold, Ex UA-1K (2006 thru 2015), PMUA-0.95MM, COUA-1.5MM-lite, AF-Silver
Posts: 13,437
Originally Posted by umustbjokim View Post
I'm at PSC, waiting for delayed Delta flight to SLC. In the meanwhile, announcement comes up re delayed UA flight to Denver. Pilot has decided not to gate check any bags (assume Canadair RJ 200). Passengers should take bags on plane and they'll be stowed in empty seats. Definitely will help if connecting, but have never heard that one before.
It happens a lot on SkyWest. As long as the seat belt can secure the bags, they allow it.

Originally Posted by pmarrsouth View Post
Under or on?
On.

Last edited by mre5765; Jan 9, 15 at 5:52 pm
mre5765 is offline  
Old Jan 9, 15, 5:48 pm
  #4  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: PHX/SFO
Programs: AA EXP; AS 75K; WN A List; UA 1K 1MM; Hyatt Globalist; Marriott AMB; Hilton Diamond (Aspire)
Posts: 45,828
That's one smart pilot. It might otherwise take hours to get them offloaded at DEN. Simplicity Debacle at DEN.
Kacee is offline  
Old Jan 9, 15, 5:48 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: What I write is my opinion alone..don't read into it anything not written.
Posts: 9,644
Seen it done on wright restricted flights, saw it the other day on not full flight but to avoid the cold at a non jetway gate in subzero temps.
fastair is offline  
Old Jan 9, 15, 5:49 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: May 2002
Location: Moreland Hills (CLE)
Programs: Over-entitled UA 1.3MM Gold, AA Gold, Hilton Diamond, Hyatt Discv, Marriott Plat, Hertz PC
Posts: 5,509
I have seen gate checked bags brought into an RJ cabin (twice, that I recall).
Reason: leaving them as gate check (in baggage hold) would have caused the RJ to be over-weight, by the metrics used for that measure.
Billiken is offline  
Old Jan 9, 15, 5:56 pm
  #7  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Programs: Delta Gold, Hilton Diamond, SPG Gold, IHG Plat, AMEX Plat
Posts: 220
Originally Posted by pmarrsouth View Post
Under or on?
Announcement said on.
umustbjokim is offline  
Old Jan 9, 15, 7:10 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: Houston Texas
Programs: AA EXP(4mm), UA Platinum (1mm), HH Diamond, Marriott Titanium
Posts: 876
I was on a UAX flight in Sept/Oct (ORD to YUL if memory serves me right) where there were only 12-15 passengers on the plane. For some reason, they decided to do no gate checking of rollerboards. Passengers were instructed to put the rollerboards in empty rows on the floor. I sat in a row on the two seat side of the ERJ with an empty seat next to me. My rollerboard was in the empty row in front of mine.
Seat 1F is offline  
Old Jan 9, 15, 7:30 pm
  #9  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: GVA (Greater Vancouver Area)
Programs: DREAD Gold; UA 1.021MM; Bonvoy Au-197; PCC Elite+; CWC Au-197; CCC Elite*; WoH Dis
Posts: 50,041
This sounds like a serious FAR violation. Seat belts are not approved for securing cargo.
mahasamatman is offline  
Old Jan 9, 15, 7:36 pm
  #10  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Between DCA and IAD
Programs: UA 1K MM; Hilton Diamond
Posts: 60,072
I've had it happen fairly frequently on Express. That makes me think it must have some sort of approval from authorities, because it's typically not just the FA involved but the pilots and ramp staff, too.
exerda is offline  
Old Jan 9, 15, 7:45 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Central Virginia
Programs: UA 2MM
Posts: 1,231
Originally Posted by mahasamatman View Post
This sounds like a serious FAR violation. Seat belts are not approved for securing cargo.
I have seen this happen many times in my 60 years of flying. I remember on a flight from iAD to London (1987) having a chello as a seat mate.
Doug 1029 is offline  
Old Jan 9, 15, 7:50 pm
  #12  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Between DCA and IAD
Programs: UA 1K MM; Hilton Diamond
Posts: 60,072
Originally Posted by Doug 1029 View Post
I have seen this happen many times in my 60 years of flying. I remember on a flight from iAD to London (1987) having a chello as a seat mate.
Technically, instruments can be booked into a seat; slightly different scenario, though you'd think that if an instrument can be belted in, so can a carry-on suitcase...
exerda is offline  
Old Jan 9, 15, 8:02 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: The views I express here are not necessarily supported by any airline or codeshare partners, nor do I represent their views and/or opinions. They are my own OPINIONS dont like them dont read them.....
Posts: 1,462
So long as the bag is secured and it isn't obstructing the passengers ability to exit in an emergency it's ok. However the policy must be in the operators manual which i only know of one express carrier that does not have it as policy.
cwe84 is offline  
Old Jan 10, 15, 10:33 am
  #14  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: SJC, SFO, YYC
Programs: AA-EXP, AA-0.41MM, UA-Gold, Ex UA-1K (2006 thru 2015), PMUA-0.95MM, COUA-1.5MM-lite, AF-Silver
Posts: 13,437
Originally Posted by mahasamatman View Post
This sounds like a serious FAR violation. Seat belts are not approved for securing cargo.
Cite?

They are for musical imsruments. And they is cargo.
mre5765 is offline  
Old Jan 10, 15, 11:39 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: LA
Posts: 1,281
I had this happen three times last year, so I can only assume pretty SOP and assume it is not in any violation of regulations. One of the three was in Delta Connection so it isn't only UAX
dank0014 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: