Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus
Reload this Page >

North TATL 757 fuel stops / diversion delays [2015]

North TATL 757 fuel stops / diversion delays [2015]

    Hide Wikipost
Old Jul 15, 17, 1:19 pm   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: WineCountryUA
Wiki Link
Due to winter (most common Dec/Jan) weather/jetstream conditions for northern TATL flights, the 757-200's UA uses for the thin european routes need to make fuel stop / diversions. Typically at Bangor (BGR) / Goose Bay(YYR) / Gander (YQX) /St. John's (YYT), ....
The most commonly affected European routes are Barcelona (BCN), Berlin (TXL), Hamburg (HAM), Madrid (MAD), Oslo (OSL), Stockholm (ARN)

Interesting maps
Weather Model - North Atlantic Jet Stream Wind
North Atlantic Jet Stream Forecasts

Related / previous threads
Why does United put 757s on certain flights from EWR to europe

[757-200 diversions] CO starting hubs at Gander, Goose Bay, etc. [threads merged] pmCO

UA69 (ARN-EWR): Wrong plane, wrong fuel calculations, or bad weather?

2013 Westbound TATL 757 "Short Stops"

Consolidated "United 757 TATL Fuel Stop" Thread [Merged] 2012
Print Wikipost

Old Mar 30, 15, 2:01 pm
  #166  
RNE
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: AKC
Programs: UA Electrum, Crown&Anchor Diamond, CaptainsCircle Platinum
Posts: 8,444
Anecdotally, aren't some fares on TATL 757s less costly than on wide bodies? I know this was the case on my last jaunt across the pond. If so, then isn't that "compensation" for the risk of a fuel stop?
RNE is offline  
Old Mar 30, 15, 2:06 pm
  #167  
 
Join Date: May 2005
Programs: Million Miler, 1K - Basically spend a lot of time on planes
Posts: 2,194
Originally Posted by RNE View Post
Anecdotally, aren't some fares on TATL 757s less costly than on wide bodies? I know this was the case on my last jaunt across the pond. If so, then isn't that "compensation" for the risk of a fuel stop?
Usually nonstops price higher than 1-stops
CO_Nonrev_elite is offline  
Old Mar 30, 15, 2:24 pm
  #168  
RNE
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: AKC
Programs: UA Electrum, Crown&Anchor Diamond, CaptainsCircle Platinum
Posts: 8,444
Originally Posted by CO_Nonrev_elite View Post
Usually nonstops price higher than 1-stops
Agreed. But I meant 757 nonstops cost less than 767 and 777 nonstops on the same route. And I was speaking anecdotally, of course.
RNE is offline  
Old Mar 30, 15, 2:56 pm
  #169  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: SMF, IDA
Programs: Flying whoever is most convenient
Posts: 16,248
Originally Posted by RNE View Post
Agreed. But I meant 757 nonstops cost less than 767 and 777 nonstops on the same route. And I was speaking anecdotally, of course.
there aren't too many routes where you can have the option between 752 and a widebody... only a few come to mind...

EWR-CDG
EWR-LHR
IAD-LHR

in my very non-scientific sampling of a few random 4 day trips in the near future, the pricing is the same for all outbound and return flights regardless of equipment on those routes. certainly, YMMV as always.
PV_Premier is offline  
Old Mar 30, 15, 3:58 pm
  #170  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: wandering expat
Posts: 42,848
Originally Posted by PV_Premier View Post
there aren't too many routes where you can have the option between 752 and a widebody... only a few come to mind...

EWR-CDG
EWR-LHR
IAD-LHR

in my very non-scientific sampling of a few random 4 day trips in the near future, the pricing is the same for all outbound and return flights regardless of equipment on those routes. certainly, YMMV as always.
I just booked an IAD-LHR r/t, and the fare was the same for all three flights. Upgrades with GPU were available for all three departures and returns, but I chose one of the 777 flights, because I'm not interested in seeing Goose Bay.
halls120 is offline  
Old Mar 30, 15, 4:35 pm
  #171  
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: DMV
Posts: 2,023
Originally Posted by BearX220 View Post
Because the 752s are all they've got, and UA has taken a good CO idea (752s on short TATLs to secondary stations like DUB / BRS / BFS) and turned it into a bad idea (752s on longer TATLs on the edge of their range capability to primary markets).
Most of the "new" UA top brass are simply the CO execs with new signs on their office doors. So really when you talk about "UA" doing this or that you're still talking essentially about CO.
Ber2dca is offline  
Old Mar 30, 15, 4:48 pm
  #172  
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: EWR, BDL
Posts: 4,469
Originally Posted by LASUA1K View Post
Are they still retiring 11 767's this year?

If they move all the 767's to EWR what will ORD be left with? 787?

We have 3 x LHR, 1 CDG, 1 AMS. I'm sure I'm missing another.

It does seem like UA has some extra slack in the 67 fleet. I had 2 cancel the same day and they still found a 3rd.
All 3-cabin 763s will be getting converted to the 2-cabin 76E standard. Most likely they will route throughout the hubs and some domestic markets instead of being dedicated to a certain hub. No plans at this time to route the 787s thru ORD.
JOSECONLSCREW28 is offline  
Old Mar 30, 15, 4:52 pm
  #173  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Posts: 88
Originally Posted by JOSECONLSCREW28 View Post
All 3-cabin 763s will be getting converted to the 2-cabin 76E standard. Most likely they will route throughout the hubs and some domestic markets instead of being dedicated to a certain hub. No plans at this time to route the 787s thru ORD.
Sounds like a great plan. And with this change, the urge to order the A321LR will be a lot less. Perhaps UA can wait for the later batches with PIPs included before jumping onto it.
VickyKing is offline  
Old Jun 10, 15, 6:26 am
  #174  
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 47
TXL-EWR diverted to LGA

TXL-EWR was diverted to LGA, a couple days ago. I wonder how they handle Immigration clearance in such a case given the fact that LGA doesn't have CBP facilities?
Schneestarre is offline  
Old Jun 10, 15, 6:58 am
  #175  
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: MRY - CNX - TXL
Programs: UA 1K / *G / Marriott PE / Expedia Gold+ / Hertz PC
Posts: 7,060
Originally Posted by Schneestarre View Post
TXL-EWR was diverted to LGA, a couple days ago. I wonder how they handle Immigration clearance in such a case given the fact that LGA doesn't have CBP facilities?
That's a 15 mile difference according to GCMap. Was it because of traffic/wx at EWR? I was gone the past few days but I saw on the weather app some cloud/thunderbolt days in NYC.
Did they deplane there or fly back to EWR? I've had the opposite happen twice where we were meant for LGA but ended up at EWR. One time the plane took off and landed at LGA and the other time it terminated at EWR.
JVPhoto is offline  
Old Jun 10, 15, 10:06 am
  #176  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: ORD
Programs: UA 1K
Posts: 16,388
Originally Posted by JVPhoto View Post
That's a 15 mile difference according to GCMap. Was it because of traffic/wx at EWR? I was gone the past few days but I saw on the weather app some cloud/thunderbolt days in NYC.
Did they deplane there or fly back to EWR? I've had the opposite happen twice where we were meant for LGA but ended up at EWR. One time the plane took off and landed at LGA and the other time it terminated at EWR.
When I've been in a similar situation, in my case weather-related combined with running low on fuel. We landed at a near-by airport, they put more fuel on board and then held us there on the plane until we had clearance to proceed to the original destination.
milepig is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: