Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus
Reload this Page >

How do I get seat assignment on an Air Canada Flight booked with United?

How do I get seat assignment on an Air Canada Flight booked with United?

    Hide Wikipost
Old Jun 2, 19, 2:19 pm   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: WineCountryUA
Wiki Link
Summary: Call Air Canada.

Originally Posted by rankourabu View Post
For future reference, this is the backdoor AC site that allows seat selection on tickets booked elsewhere:
https://services.aircanada.com/Servi...method=english
Print Wikipost

Old May 28, 14, 8:56 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Programs: GS, Hilton Gold, Marriott Gold, *gold
Posts: 121
Seat Assignments/Upgrade Options for UA Codeshare on Air Canada Metal?

I have an upcoming UA flight (operated by Air Canada) which is a Boeing 777-200LR, but since it will not let me get seats assigned (booked in BF) on this leg I cannot tell if it is 2 cabin or 3 cabin and don't know how to identify which it would be.

Anyone have tips on how to do that? Also, if it is 3 cabin can I call them and try and apply a GPU, since it also will not let me do that online?

Last edited by FlyinHawaiian; May 28, 14 at 5:23 pm Reason: retitled thread
micmcguire is offline  
Old May 28, 14, 9:09 am
  #2  
Used to be MBS PremExec
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Saginaw, MI USA (MBS)
Programs: UA 1K 1.9MM, Marriott Plat w/Lifetime Gold, Hilton LT ♢, National Exec, Sixt Plat
Posts: 5,265
If it's Air Canada metal, it's only a 2-class flight--they do not offer an international first class product. Also note that GPUs cannot be used on Air Canada.

You should be able to call Air Canada to get seat assignments...And perhaps do through their website if you have the AC confirmation number--should be listed at the top of your itinerary when viewing it on united.com.
MBS MillionMiler is offline  
Old May 28, 14, 9:12 am
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Programs: GS, Hilton Gold, Marriott Gold, *gold
Posts: 121
Thank you. I appreciate the education.
micmcguire is offline  
Old May 28, 14, 9:12 am
  #4  
Moderator: Smoking Lounge; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: SFO, CDG, PBI
Programs: Lifetime (for now) Gold MM, HH Gold, Giving Tootsie Pops to UA employees, & a retired hockey goalie
Posts: 28,458
As to the version/variant of the AC 777, you could try doing a dummy booking on the AC website for the AC flight operating as UA and look at the seat map there. Also, if you look at your UA reservation, up near the top, you should see a link saying something like "view additional confirmation numbers" where you will find the AC PNR and perhaps you can assign yourself seats using the AC website or calling AC using that PNR?
goalie is offline  
Old May 28, 14, 9:17 am
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Programs: GS, Hilton Gold, Marriott Gold, *gold
Posts: 121
Originally Posted by goalie View Post
As to the version/variant of the AC 777, you could try doing a dummy booking on the AC website for the AC flight operating as UA and look at the seat map there. Also, if you look at your UA reservation, up near the top, you should see a link saying something like "view additional confirmation numbers" where you will find the AC PNR and perhaps you can assign yourself seats using the AC website or calling AC using that PNR?
Great tips, I always love the creative ideas I get by listening to the pros!
micmcguire is offline  
Old May 28, 14, 9:27 am
  #6  
Moderator: Smoking Lounge; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: SFO, CDG, PBI
Programs: Lifetime (for now) Gold MM, HH Gold, Giving Tootsie Pops to UA employees, & a retired hockey goalie
Posts: 28,458
Originally Posted by micmcguire View Post
Great tips, I always love the creative ideas I get by listening to the pros!
We all aim to please and let us know how it works out
goalie is offline  
Old May 28, 14, 9:30 am
  #7  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: SFO
Programs: AA EXP; AS 75K; UA 1K 1MM; Marriott Ambassador; Hilton Diamond (Aspire); Hyatt Explorist
Posts: 43,854
You may be able to see a seat map on the AC website, but you will not be able to assign seats. Have to call AC for that. And likely wait forever on hold.

AC does have three-class flights, but that's business, premium economy, and economy. Never F.
Kacee is offline  
Old May 28, 14, 9:36 am
  #8  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Programs: GS, Hilton Gold, Marriott Gold, *gold
Posts: 121
Originally Posted by goalie View Post
We all aim to please and let us know how it works out
I was able to log into air canada with PNR and it has a seat assigned (8k) but when I go to the seat selection tool the link for change seats is not clickable!
micmcguire is offline  
Old May 28, 14, 3:37 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: LAX
Posts: 1,958
Originally Posted by micmcguire View Post
I was able to log into air canada with PNR and it has a seat assigned (8k) but when I go to the seat selection tool the link for change seats is not clickable!
That's generally the case for AC flights not booked by AC
steveman518 is offline  
Old May 28, 14, 5:25 pm
  #10  
Moderator: Hawaii-based airlines & Hawai'i forums
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: Ka ʻĀpala Nui, Niuoka
Programs: NEXUS/Global Entry, Delta, United, Hyatt, IHG, Marriott, and Hertz
Posts: 16,180
Yes, I think you will have to call Air Canada with the Air Canada PNR and they should be able to get your seat assignments. I had to do this for some AC flights booked as award travel on UA's website.
FlyinHawaiian is offline  
Old May 28, 14, 7:34 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Programs: UA 1K
Posts: 8,634
The best way to get AC seat assignments, by leaps and bounds, is to contact them on Twitter.
mgcsinc is offline  
Old May 31, 14, 10:25 am
  #12  
BTA
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: MKE
Programs: Fly: AA EXP UA Gold MM Stay:Hyatt Globalist, Marriott LT Plat Drive:National Exec, Hertz PC
Posts: 699
Originally Posted by mgcsinc View Post
The best way to get AC seat assignments, by leaps and bounds, is to contact them on Twitter.
^

Thanks for the tip. Much easier than calling.
BTA is offline  
Old May 31, 14, 11:30 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: NorCal - 1K 2MM
Posts: 2,011
Originally Posted by mgcsinc View Post
The best way to get AC seat assignments, by leaps and bounds, is to contact them on Twitter.
+1. Had the identical problem to solve this week, and phoning them is just an exercise in frustration. I tried multiple times, day and night, weekday and weekend, and was always quoted phone hold times of more than one hour. Makes UA phone res look absolutely fabulous. I don't see how they can do business this way without being embarrassed in the media, but obviously they get away with it somehow. (There is an option to leave your number for an automated call back one hour later, so you don't have to hold.) I'd say this was a third-world airline, but I've dealt with Uzbekistan Airways and they are far better on the phone.

Last edited by Starman; May 31, 14 at 11:38 am
Starman is offline  
Old May 31, 14, 12:28 pm
  #14  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Canada
Programs: UA*1K, BA Silver, Accor Plat, Marriott Gold, Carlson Gold, Hilton Gold
Posts: 21,057
You can pick your seat here if you have the AC PNR (they worked nearly 2 years to get this link up - and it only works sometimes)

https://services.aircanada.com/Servi...method=english

Depending on your booking class, a seat assignment may cost money.

An hour on hold with AC is standard operating procedures for this joke of an airline.
rankourabu is offline  
Old May 31, 14, 12:29 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Programs: UA 1K
Posts: 8,634
Originally Posted by rankourabu View Post
You can pick your seat here if you have the AC PNR

https://services.aircanada.com/Servi...method=english

Depending on your booking class, a seat assignment may cost money.

An hour on hold with AC is standard operating procedures for this joke of an airline.
I've never actually gotten the external-booked seat selector site to work. But YMMV.
mgcsinc is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: