Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus
Reload this Page >

Purchasing (Cash/Award) AC Premium Economy on UA ticket stock (016)

Purchasing (Cash/Award) AC Premium Economy on UA ticket stock (016)

Old May 17, 17, 3:54 pm
  #46  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: FLL/LAX/YYZ/TPE
Programs: CO Platinum 1K, United 1K, SPG LT Platinum, National Executive Elite, Platinum TSA Hater
Posts: 33,328
Originally Posted by rflor View Post
...
You got me confused. Everything I've read shows the Premium Rouge on the A319s to be a 2x2 product vs. the 3x3 product in the rest of the aircraft. That, along with descriptions of the seats and food offerings, led me to believe it's a PE product....
Premium Rouge is the quasi-business product. I wouldn't say it's premium economy, more like domestic business seats, but that follows through on long haul flights too - i.e., you're in a domestic business seat on a 10hr flight from YVR to KIX as much as YYZ to FLL. It's probably somewhat similar to Norwegian's premium class, although with Rouge you'll get poorly trained, low paid Canadian FA's burdened with an overabundance of obnoxious passive-aggressiveness.

Rouge Plus is the first few rows of regular Rouge with extra pitch and nothing else. Just make sure you're buying the right product.
bocastephen is offline  
Old May 22, 17, 9:19 am
  #47  
 
Join Date: May 2017
Posts: 1
caught in limbo, please help

Hi guys, I am hoping your can help me with my travel dilemma

I booked an economy flight through United for a trip from MSP to Milan. The flight is operated by Air Canada. I want to upgrade my seat to Premium Economy which exists with Air Canada, but not United. I tried calling both airlines and each directs me to the other and then finally they called each other and still could not figure out how to make this happen.

Have you ever came across this problem? If so, how was it resolved?

thank you!
mntravel2017 is offline  
Old May 22, 17, 9:42 am
  #48  
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Programs: Mileage Plus 1K; Marriott Platinum; Hilton Gold
Posts: 6,187
It's not possible to upgrade a UA plated ticket to premium economy on AC, except perhaps on the day of travel at the airport.

If you're still within the 24 hour ticket purchase window, my recommendation is to cancel with United and rebook with Air Canada.
transportprof is offline  
Old May 22, 17, 12:13 pm
  #49  
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: MSP
Programs: UA 1K, DL PM, WN, Global Entry; +others wherever miles/points are found
Posts: 9,495
Originally Posted by transportprof View Post
It's not possible to upgrade a UA plated ticket to premium economy on AC, except perhaps on the day of travel at the airport.

If you're still within the 24 hour ticket purchase window, my recommendation is to cancel with United and rebook with Air Canada.
You can't "upgrade" the ticket but you can absolutely fly AC Premium Economy on a United ticket. You need to "change" the ticket to PE - if within 24 hours cancel and rebook is easier. This is something that would need to be done by calling United, and it would help to know which booking codes are needed (B on the short segments and probably E or N for the long ones).

If it's outside of the 24-hour window however you might not be able to avoid paying a change fee. Also note that it requires switching to the native AC flight number.
findark is offline  
Old May 25, 17, 12:40 pm
  #50  
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: New York City
Posts: 234
Hi all,

Not a regular UA flier, but with some MP miles.

Can someone just confirm that it is not possible to book ANY Star Alliance Premium Economy product using United miles? I am specifically looking at EVA.

Thanks!

Joe
nyjoe4 is offline  
Old May 25, 17, 12:50 pm
  #51  
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: MSP
Programs: UA 1K, DL PM, WN, Global Entry; +others wherever miles/points are found
Posts: 9,495
Originally Posted by nyjoe4 View Post
Can someone just confirm that it is not possible to book ANY Star Alliance Premium Economy product using United miles? I am specifically looking at EVA.
Correct, it is currently not possible.
findark is offline  
Old May 25, 17, 12:59 pm
  #52  
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: New York City
Posts: 234
Originally Posted by findark View Post
Correct, it is currently not possible.
Thank you!
nyjoe4 is offline  
Old Sep 5, 17, 10:35 am
  #53  
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 2
Use UA miles to book AC Premium Economy?

Hi everyone,

I have 300k Mileageplus miles and I'd like to use them to book a trip to the UK for my family next summer.

We want to travel in Premium Economy, but I checked on the UA site and it doesn't list that. Does anyone have any idea how I can make this booking? I think I should have more than enough miles - it's just that I don't know how to make the booking.

Thanks in advance!
jjw12 is offline  
Old Sep 5, 17, 10:38 am
  #54  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: SFO
Programs: UA 1K 1MM; AS MVPG75K; Marriott Titanium; Hilton Diamond (Aspire); Hyatt Refugeeist
Posts: 40,840
Not possible. Economy or business class only.

But welcome to FT!
Kacee is offline  
Old Sep 5, 17, 10:39 am
  #55  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston
Programs: UA Gold, Marriott Gold
Posts: 10,943
Nope.
mduell is offline  
Old Sep 5, 17, 11:35 am
  #56  
 
Join Date: Sep 2017
Posts: 2
Oh well.. thanks anyway!
jjw12 is offline  
Old Sep 5, 18, 10:04 am
  #57  
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: WAS
Programs: AA Ex Plt
Posts: 1,590
Data: Mixed AC outbound and LF inbound ex-WAS booked via company TA PE on 016 stock. Effortless outside of having to manually enter the lower priced AC and LH fare codes. Both airlines defaulted to high fare buckets for PE and Y fares for connecting flights (eg IAD-YUL defaulted to Y when G was available).

Cheers.
thegrailer is offline  
Old Sep 5, 18, 10:06 am
  #58  
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 9,812
Originally Posted by thegrailer View Post
Effortless outside of having to manually enter the lower priced AC and LH fare codes. Both airlines defaulted to high fare buckets for PE and Y fares for connecting flights (eg IAD-YUL defaulted to Y when G was available).
That's because the PE fares map into Y on flights without a PE cabin. That shouldn't (necessarily) have been more expensive.
jsloan is online now  
Old Sep 5, 18, 12:59 pm
  #59  
 
Join Date: Nov 2014
Location: MSP
Programs: UA 1K, DL PM, WN, Global Entry; +others wherever miles/points are found
Posts: 9,495
How does a TA ticket 016 if there are no UA segments?
findark is offline  
Old Sep 5, 18, 4:47 pm
  #60  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: CVG/YYZ
Programs: UA Gold, AC, AA, DL, Marriott Gold, SPG Gold
Posts: 11,549
Originally Posted by findark View Post
How does a TA ticket 016 if there are no UA segments?
I was wondering this too.

TAs, AFAIK, are able to do this, but itís not within IATA protocol for sure, and violates the agreement with the airline to issue tickets on their stock. Airlines especially donít like it since typically, TAs use the air carrier merchant accounts to run the charge, so not only is the airline not really getting (or at least keeping) any revenue since the fares go to the operating carrier, but they lose $ because they are paying to process the cards.

Most TAs wonít do this because, kind of like HCT, do it once and the airline probably wonít really do anything. But its probably pretty easy to find, and do it semi-regularly and there will be consequences - in this case likely fines and if it gets bad enough - flagrant and frequent, they probably will lose the ability to sell tickets using their stock.
emcampbe is online now  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread