SFO-BOS in F cabin -- pricing

Old Jul 14, 14, 5:34 pm
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
Original Poster

Programs: Piggly Wiggly "Shop the Pig!" Preferred Shopper
SFO-BOS in F cabin -- pricing

Anyone else here regularly fly to/from Boston? I've been doing this for many years.

Today I saw something that really surprised me: $617 total one-way on United in F (Sept. 10th, P class). I jumped on it. I don't think I've ever seen such a reasonably-priced premium cabin fare for this route. I was hoping Virgin America was matching that, but no such luck.

Any ideas on why United was selling the F cabin for such a tempting price? I wonder if it might have something to do with JetBlue's Mint product, which I understand will be available on this route at some point.
Old Jul 15, 14, 11:34 am

Programs: UA, HH, SPG
This is not the "typical" unrestricted first class fare. It is a 14-day advance, nonrefundable fare. UA has many of these to different cities --

e.g., SFO IAD - 21-day advance nonrefundable - $578
SFO PHL - 21-day advance nonrefundable - $498
Old Jul 15, 14, 2:10 pm
Original Poster

Originally Posted by JerryFF View Post
This is not the "typical" unrestricted first class fare. It is a 14-day advance, nonrefundable fare. UA has many of these to different cities --

e.g., SFO IAD - 21-day advance nonrefundable - $578
SFO PHL - 21-day advance nonrefundable - $498
Do you see these often? Maybe I just haven't been looking closely enough.

I sure wish Virgin America would offer those prices for their F cabin.
Old Jul 15, 14, 3:25 pm

I see them in many markets but they seem to vary a lot in cost. Sometimes certain city pairs will be quite low, such as the one you picked up, and at other times the same market will be much higher. Also, availability of P class varies dramatically and the fare basis usually seems to be an upgraded coach class fare in S or V or E class. For example, the SFO-BOS fare you found has a fare basis of SAA14AGN/UPDI but booked in P class.