Change in international upgrades?

Old Apr 28, 14, 1:54 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2011
Programs: MP - 1K, Hyatt - Platt, SPG - Gold
Posts: 270
Change in international upgrades?

This might be wishful thinking, but has there been any change in the upgrade policy on international flights?

Let me give some background - I was flying coach from the EU to EWR last week. Coach was full and biz 1st was 2/3rds full (per the flight status). About 45 minutes before departure, me and 14 other elites were upgraded all at once. Further, when I looked at the coach cabin mid-flight, there were a bunch of seats open. Has this happened to anyone? Is this a change in policy allowing CPU's on international flights?

Obviously very grateful for the upgrade but just curious if we are seeing a change.
nyr2299 is offline  
Old Apr 28, 14, 1:56 pm
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Jersey Shore/YYZ
Programs: UA 1K, Marriott Plat, Hilton Diamond, Hertz PC
Posts: 12,408
Let's be very clear on this:

You were not upgraded. You were the recipient of the "op-up". Tons of threads on the nuanced difference.

It is odd that there were empty coach seats -and perhaps you were "op-up"'ed in anticipation of a full flight/cargo/broken seats?

Last edited by aacharya; Apr 28, 14 at 2:36 pm
aacharya is offline  
Old Apr 28, 14, 2:02 pm
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: May 2011
Programs: MP - 1K, Hyatt - Platt, SPG - Gold
Posts: 270
Ok, that makes sense. Happy for the op-up, hoping it's more than a one time event!
nyr2299 is offline  
Old Apr 28, 14, 2:34 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Location: South Wales, UK
Programs: UA 1k
Posts: 693
Change in international upgrades?

possibly weight and balance.

I've been pulled from econ and sat in bus while taxiing at IAD on a flight to LHR along with five others. A bit of cargo was loaded late and they needed more weight towards the sharp end to compensate.
Richym99 is offline  
Old Apr 28, 14, 3:14 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: SFO
Programs: UA GS / MM
Posts: 208
Has it ever happened that pax are pulled from biz to econ for weight balance? Just asking...
GS8101 is offline  
Old Apr 28, 14, 3:16 pm
  #6  
Moderator: United Airlines; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SFO
Programs: UA Plat 1.85MM, Hyatt Discoverist, Marriott Plat/LT Gold, Hilton Silver, IHG Gold
Posts: 49,370
Originally Posted by GS8101 View Post
Has it ever happened that pax are pulled from biz to econ for weight balance? Just asking...
while possible it is only an issue at takeoff.
WineCountryUA is offline  
Old Apr 28, 14, 3:31 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Port St Lucie, FL, UA1K since 1994 and 3mm
Programs: Marriott Titanium Life, Hilton Gold
Posts: 559
I have only seen this on ex-Con. Flights.

Lots of empty seat is BF on flights from TLV and FRA to EWR recently. 1K's were all op up to BF.
PaulMCO is offline  
Old Apr 28, 14, 3:58 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: DCA/IAD
Programs: United Premier Gold, AirBerlin Gold, Starwood Gold, Avis Preferred, CBP Global Entry
Posts: 497
Originally Posted by GS8101 View Post
Has it ever happened that pax are pulled from biz to econ for weight balance? Just asking...
Happened to a friend of mine on a flight to SYD a few years ago, though I believe he got the SWU back as well as some compensation.
glasnost7 is offline  
Old Apr 28, 14, 4:03 pm
  #9  
Moderator: United Airlines; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SFO
Programs: UA Plat 1.85MM, Hyatt Discoverist, Marriott Plat/LT Gold, Hilton Silver, IHG Gold
Posts: 49,370
Originally Posted by glasnost7 View Post
Happened to a friend of mine on a flight to SYD a few years ago, though I believe he got the SWU back as well as some compensation.
If the downgrade is for the full flight (which usually is not true for W&B) then see http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/unite...ation-etc.html
WineCountryUA is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: