Why is wifi not delivered with the 787s?

Old Apr 27, 14, 6:34 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: LAX
Programs: AAdvantage EXPLAT, Hilton Diamond, SPG/Marriott Gold, IHG Platinum, Citi Exec MC, Amex Plat
Posts: 1,432
Why is wifi not delivered with the 787s?

Since the dreamliners are still being delivered, wouldn't it make sense to have the wifi installed at the factory instead of having to take the planes out of service some time later to do a wifi mod?
matrixwalker2012 is offline  
Old Apr 27, 14, 6:39 pm
  #2  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2013
Location: SFO
Programs: UA 1K 1MM; AS MVPG75K; Marriott Titanium; Hilton Diamond (Aspire); Hyatt Refugeeist
Posts: 41,921
That's not a factory option
Kacee is offline  
Old Apr 27, 14, 6:39 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: New England
Programs: United 1K, Delta PM, Marriott Titanium, HH Gold, Club Carlson Gold
Posts: 6,259
Wirelessly posted (Mozilla/5.0 (iPhone; CPU iPhone OS 7_1 like Mac OS X) AppleWebKit/537.51.2 (KHTML, like Gecko) Version/7.0 Mobile/11D167 Safari/9537.53)

Wifi friendly!... In 2020 maybe
demkr is offline  
Old Apr 27, 14, 9:05 pm
  #4  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 69,156
Originally Posted by Kacee View Post
That's not a factory option
As of the first UA 787-9 deliveries it will be. Boeing only very recently approved the option from Panasonic to be line-fit on the birds. The previously delivered 787-8s will be retrofit as well.
sbm12 is offline  
Old Apr 27, 14, 9:06 pm
  #5  
Moderator: United MileagePlus
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Clinging to the edifices of a decadent past. (IAH, DEN, YKF)
Programs: (ಠ_ಠ)
Posts: 8,717
Originally Posted by sbm12 View Post
As of the first UA 787-9 deliveries it will be. Boeing only very recently approved the option from Panasonic to be line-fit on the birds. The previously delivered 787-8s will be retrofit as well.
That's good to know will be a very welcome addition should I find myself on LAX-MEL.
J.Edward is offline  
Old Apr 28, 14, 8:16 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: DEN
Programs: UA MP Gold, 1MM, Global Entry
Posts: 470
Originally Posted by sbm12 View Post
As of the first UA 787-9 deliveries it will be. Boeing only very recently approved the option from Panasonic to be line-fit on the birds. The previously delivered 787-8s will be retrofit as well.
Does the same apply to 737's? On Thurs I flew a brand, spankin' new one and the FA said they wanted to get it into service so fast that they didn't have time to install wifi yet...
azzurro is offline  
Old Feb 9, 15, 6:40 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Delaware
Programs: UA Mileage Plus, Amtrak Guest Rewards
Posts: 752
Originally Posted by azzurro View Post
Does the same apply to 737's? On Thurs I flew a brand, spankin' new one and the FA said they wanted to get it into service so fast that they didn't have time to install wifi yet...
Possibly, or it was waiting for an opening at the installation location, so they figured they would use it rather than have it sit idle.
phkc070408 is offline  
Old Feb 9, 15, 8:32 am
  #8  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Bay Area, CA
Programs: UA Plat 2MM; AS MVP Gold 75K
Posts: 34,947
Originally Posted by azzurro View Post
the FA said they wanted to get it into service so fast that they didn't have time to install wifi yet...
That's one way to spin it. It's also possible they don't give a you know what.

Delta and American don't seem to have much of a problem getting their new planes into service with amenities loaded.
channa is online now  
Old Feb 9, 15, 10:05 am
  #9  
Moderator, Trip Reports
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: 6km East of EPAYE
Programs: UA Silver, AA Platinum, AS & DL GM Marriott TE, Hilton Gold
Posts: 9,381
Factory installs must cost more than bringing each plane to Best Buy
Madone59 is offline  
Old Feb 9, 15, 10:15 am
  #10  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 69,156
Originally Posted by channa View Post
Delta and American don't seem to have much of a problem getting their new planes into service with amenities loaded.
Neither does UA these days. You're replying to a 10 month old post there.
Originally Posted by Madone59 View Post
Factory installs must cost more than bringing each plane to Best Buy
It is not possible to get these wifi kits installed at the factory; Boeing simply doesn't do it. All of the connectivity vendors are working to get line-fit certified by Boeing but it is a long, complicated process and won't happen for the current 737 lines.

For the 787s the Panasonic kit is now available as a line-fit option and UA is taking delivery with that system installed.
sbm12 is offline  
Old Feb 9, 15, 10:25 am
  #11  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Bay Area, CA
Programs: UA Plat 2MM; AS MVP Gold 75K
Posts: 34,947
Originally Posted by sbm12 View Post
Neither does UA these days.
Really?

I was on a brand new 739 the other day, and there were no TVs like DL's and AA's have.
channa is online now  
Old Feb 9, 15, 11:03 am
  #12  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: Houston
Programs: UA Gold, Marriott Gold
Posts: 11,091
Originally Posted by sbm12 View Post
Neither does UA these days. You're replying to a 10 month old post there.
Nope - I was on a year+ old 739 last week that was dark nose-to-tail - no DTV, no wifi streaming, no wifi internet.

UA is pushing planes into service for more than a year with no entertainment amenities.
mduell is offline  
Old Feb 9, 15, 11:05 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Dec 2002
Location: Washington, D.C.
Programs: UA Premier 1K: PlAAtinum; DL SM, MM; Marriott Gold; CO Plat Emeritus; NW Plat Emeritus
Posts: 4,592
Originally Posted by mduell View Post
Nope - I was on a year+ old 739 last week that was dark nose-to-tail - no DTV, no wifi streaming, no wifi internet.

UA is pushing planes into service for more than a year with no entertainment amenities.
Meditation. Friendly.
Alpha Golf is offline  
Old Feb 9, 15, 11:51 am
  #14  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 69,156
Originally Posted by channa View Post
I was on a brand new 739 the other day, and there were no TVs like DL's and AA's have.
And it will not get those. But it should have been inducted at SEA and immediately flown to INT where it got the wifi kit installed and then really entered service. You might not like which systems are installed as part of the configuration but they are no longer entering passenger service without being configured to the company's spec.
Originally Posted by mduell View Post
Nope - I was on a year+ old 739 last week that was dark nose-to-tail - no DTV, no wifi streaming, no wifi internet.

UA is pushing planes into service for more than a year with no entertainment amenities.
The new deliveries taken today are fitted before flying passengers. Ones from a year ago were not. I thought I made that pretty clear in my previous post vis a vis the "10 month old post" bit.

And, FWIW, the fleet tracking site suggests we're down to only three 739s without wifi installed. That should be finished pretty quickly.
sbm12 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread