Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus
Reload this Page >

United Wifi is Unusable / Problems Connecting to United_Wi-Fi

United Wifi is Unusable / Problems Connecting to United_Wi-Fi

Old Apr 1, 14, 9:43 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 16
United Wifi is Unusable / Problems Connecting to United_Wi-Fi

Have used the wifi now twice on cross country trips and it is abysmal. The service is much worse than AA or US Air.
Alireza2018 likes this.
Jflynn64 is offline  
Old Apr 1, 14, 9:44 pm
  #2  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 69,156
Which system? UA has three different ones.
sbm12 is offline  
Old Apr 1, 14, 9:55 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 5,819
Originally Posted by Jflynn64 View Post
Have used the wifi now twice on cross country trips and it is abysmal. The service is much worse than AA or US Air.
April Fools?
LarkSFO is offline  
Old Apr 1, 14, 10:13 pm
  #4  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Mar 2012
Posts: 16
Sorry, the United sponsored one on the Airbuses.
Jflynn64 is offline  
Old Apr 1, 14, 10:30 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Chicago USA
Programs: *A Junkie, SQ PPS, Skywards Gold, 2 Million Mile Flyer;*wood LT Plat, BA MM
Posts: 1,762
I was on the last flight yesterday night LGA-ORD and the wifi was abysimal.
UrbaneGent is offline  
Old Apr 1, 14, 10:40 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: YYC
Posts: 214
Originally Posted by LarkSFO View Post
April Fools?
Pretty slow rollout of wifi...
Ahuch is offline  
Old Apr 1, 14, 11:49 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: DXB & COS
Programs: EK gold for 2020,UA 1K
Posts: 342
flew ord-hnl 2 weeks ago......all inflight entertainment was gone, wifi was a joke and had to rely on the laptop(which i swore i would not bring)and my daughter and her friend making faces at me for 9 hrs as entertainment.....get a good wifi system going or just leave it ala spirit....rediculous
cosflyer is offline  
Old Apr 2, 14, 4:25 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Posts: 91
Only one data point but I used united wifi (airbus) a couple weeks ago and was pleasantly surprised. Connection was fast, price ($7) was right.

of course, that's the only time I've even seen it offered.
nonstarter is offline  
Old Apr 2, 14, 4:48 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: ORD/MKE
Programs: UA, AA, SPG Plat; IHG Plat. Ambassador
Posts: 393
Flew BKK->NRT->SFO->ORD a few weeks back. Honestly Wifi was much better than I expected especially on the TPAC leg from NRT->SFO. Not sure if this is related since OP was refering to cross country trips but thats my 2 cents.
danhunterpost is offline  
Old Apr 2, 14, 4:52 pm
  #10  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 69,156
Originally Posted by danhunterpost View Post
Not sure if this is related
Same hardware. Probably talking to different satellites along the way, but it is the same kit.
sbm12 is offline  
Old Apr 2, 14, 4:57 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: N Charleston South Carolina
Programs: UA PM (by 2MM), DL GM (by 3.5MM), Marriott Lifetime Plat
Posts: 1,654
Originally Posted by danhunterpost View Post
Flew BKK->NRT->SFO->ORD a few weeks back. Honestly Wifi was much better than I expected especially on the TPAC leg from NRT->SFO. Not sure if this is related since OP was refering to cross country trips but thats my 2 cents.
I did the same route last week, and I thought it was acceptable. I was surprised how useful it was.

Billy
Delta3MM is offline  
Old Apr 2, 14, 4:58 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: NYC
Programs: UA-1K MM, AA-Gold, DL-Silver, AS-MVP
Posts: 1,450
Originally Posted by danhunterpost View Post
Flew BKK->NRT->SFO->ORD a few weeks back. Honestly Wifi was much better than I expected especially on the TPAC leg from NRT->SFO. Not sure if this is related since OP was refering to cross country trips but thats my 2 cents.
I agree, I did 2 TPAC on 747 recently and both had Wifi that was stable and fast enough to keep me work productive.

The wifi on 737 is also pretty good, especially at the $2/h price.
hirohito888 is offline  
Old Apr 2, 14, 5:02 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: SFO
Programs: UA 1K, Marriot, Hilton
Posts: 710
i haven't had any problems with the wifi the last couple months on several flights.
jasonp622 is offline  
Old Apr 2, 14, 5:06 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: DEN
Programs: UA 1K, once-upon-a-time NW Gold, BMI Gold, Hyatt Diamond, SPG Gold
Posts: 6,246
I had a 320 a week or so ago where I pulled out my laptop just to check out the wi-fi. Of the big 3 browsers, only Firefox could load www.united.com. I played around fixing some seat assignments, and it literally took me about 7 minutes just to change seats on a 4 segment itinerary.

Admittedly, I didn't pay anything for the service, just holy cow, that's just unbelievable. Who pays for this stuff?
hobo13 is offline  
Old Apr 2, 14, 5:20 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Fort Worth, TX
Programs: UA 1K MM, Marriott Gold
Posts: 2,372
Originally Posted by danhunterpost View Post
Flew BKK->NRT->SFO->ORD a few weeks back. Honestly Wifi was much better than I expected especially on the TPAC leg from NRT->SFO. Not sure if this is related since OP was refering to cross country trips but thats my 2 cents.
BKK-NRT-SFO Same for me. I was surprised how well it worked after hearing all the complaints.
chavala is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread