Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus
Reload this Page >

United Wifi is Unusable / Problems Connecting to United_Wi-Fi

United Wifi is Unusable / Problems Connecting to United_Wi-Fi

Old Nov 5, 14, 10:06 am
  #76  
 
Join Date: Mar 2002
Posts: 24
Anyone know how UA's doing on its promise to have wifi on all UA metal by 12/31/14 (as promised during its launch PR)?
finkie is offline  
Old Nov 5, 14, 10:41 am
  #77  
 
Join Date: May 2005
Programs: Million Miler, 1K - Basically spend a lot of time on planes
Posts: 2,194
Not a chance, but that said, I doubt they could add it any faster than they are currently doing now. They are doing something like 17 aircraft at a time. They also have a lot of aircraft.
CO_Nonrev_elite is offline  
Old Nov 5, 14, 12:45 pm
  #78  
Moderator: United Airlines; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SFO
Programs: UA Plat 1.85MM, Hyatt Discoverist, Marriott Plat/LT Gold, Hilton Silver, IHG Gold
Posts: 51,776
Originally Posted by finkie View Post
Anyone know how UA's doing on its promise to have wifi on all UA metal by 12/31/14 (as promised during its launch PR)?
Revised completion dates are shown on http://www.united.com/web/en-US/cont...i/default.aspx
Significant parts of the fleet are done but the 737-700 and some International aircraft are behind.

New target including selected UX aircraft is July 2015.
WineCountryUA is offline  
Old Nov 17, 14, 1:28 am
  #79  
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: Delaware
Programs: UA Mileage Plus, Amtrak Guest Rewards
Posts: 908
Has anyone had any experience with the pmCO 777-200ERs? Last I heard they were having problems with it.
phkc070408 is offline  
Old Dec 2, 14, 1:25 am
  #80  
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: SFO
Programs: United 1K, 1M
Posts: 248
wifi is a joke

On my last four flights with Wi-Fi available, I tried repeatedly to login. I got error messages in every case, so gave up. But I also got a bill for every attempt. I have applied for a refund, but so far (weeks later) no action. Has anyone else had similar/different experience?
mdspadeccom is offline  
Old Dec 2, 14, 1:33 am
  #81  
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Catania, Sicily/South Jersey (PHL)/Houston, Texas/airborne in-between
Programs: United Global Svcs, AA ExecPlat, WN RR, AZ Freccia Alata+, Hilton gold, SPG/Marriot Gold, Hertz Prez
Posts: 3,196
Last Sunday I flew IAH-FRA on a UA 763 with Wi-Fi (one of the few it seems) and it started out fine, but over the northeastern US it cut out the rest of the trip.

I was moderately shocked and certainly pleased that within 10 hours of landing I received an e-mail from UA noting they were automatically processing a refund of my 16.99$ due to Wi-Fi problems they detected on my flight.
FlyingHoustonian is offline  
Old Dec 2, 14, 4:24 am
  #82  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: LGA/JFK/EWR
Programs: UA 1K1.5MM, Hyatt Globalist, abandoned Marriott LTT (RIP SPG), Hertz PC
Posts: 20,109
Originally Posted by mdspadeccom View Post
On my last four flights with Wi-Fi available, I tried repeatedly to login. I got error messages in every case, so gave up. But I also got a bill for every attempt. I have applied for a refund, but so far (weeks later) no action. Has anyone else had similar/different experience?
We're still waiting on our refund for EWR-HKG a week and a half ago. Going to call the CC company to just dispute it.
UA-NYC is offline  
Old Dec 2, 14, 4:49 am
  #83  
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Programs: DL BA Amex
Posts: 909
Every time I have tried to use the wifi it has been horrible.
bajrbajr is offline  
Old Dec 2, 14, 5:48 am
  #84  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: wandering expat
Posts: 42,854
Originally Posted by bajrbajr View Post
Every time I have tried to use the wifi it has been horrible.
My experience has been mixed. Some flights it works very well. Some flights it is virtually unusable. Sort of like the entire UA experience in a nutshell - no consistency.
halls120 is offline  
Old Dec 2, 14, 8:10 am
  #85  
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: LAX
Posts: 280
Originally Posted by mdspadeccom View Post
On my last four flights with Wi-Fi available, I tried repeatedly to login. I got error messages in every case, so gave up. But I also got a bill for every attempt. I have applied for a refund, but so far (weeks later) no action. Has anyone else had similar/different experience?
Same in terms of repeated errors right after entering CC info with the next page repeatedly freezing or saying service unavailable, only to find out upon landing that I was billed for every attempt. Have been procrastinating applying for refunds. What a PITA.
meehgz is offline  
Old Dec 2, 14, 8:25 am
  #86  
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Location: Austin, TX
Programs: CoUniHound 1K 1MM, AA EXP 1MM, DL Plat, Marriott Lifetime Titanium
Posts: 1,149
What I can't fathom is the delay between reaching 10K and getting a working WiFi connection. I hear the 10K ding, the FA announces we can use large electronics and WiFi, and then there's typically a 10 minute delay until I can log in and enter my info.
Catbert10 is offline  
Old Dec 2, 14, 9:05 am
  #87  
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Nashville, TN
Programs: Marriott Lifetime Titanium.;UA 1.5MM; UA Lifetime Gold (whoppee); DL Plat
Posts: 2,038
IAH-LAS: Decmeber 1: Never came on and "Connection Error" kept coming up. Even if something is BETA, you mAke sure that it works before you test it.
boss315 is offline  
Old Dec 2, 14, 10:14 am
  #88  
A FlyerTalk Posting Legend
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: NYC
Posts: 69,198
Originally Posted by Catbert10 View Post
What I can't fathom is the delay between reaching 10K and getting a working WiFi connection.
Satellite/antenna signal acquisition.
sbm12 is offline  
Old Dec 2, 14, 12:14 pm
  #89  
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Posts: 323
Originally Posted by sbm12 View Post
Satellite/antenna signal acquisition.
If satellite TV, or GPS, worked that poorly a whole lot of companies would be outof business.
Terminalator is offline  
Old Dec 2, 14, 1:16 pm
  #90  
Moderator: United Airlines; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SFO
Programs: UA Plat 1.85MM, Hyatt Discoverist, Marriott Plat/LT Gold, Hilton Silver, IHG Gold
Posts: 51,776
Originally Posted by Terminalator View Post
If satellite TV, ..
neither the home or the satellite are moving in relationship to each other. On initial registration, home satellite TV can take a few minutes to sync up.

Originally Posted by Terminalator View Post
... or GPS, ...
GPS has 30+ satellite options and only needs 4 to be acquire and it can switch satellites dynamical, just like cellular phones while moving.

For the case of airlines using satellites, there is only 1 satellite option and the moving aircraft is twisting and turning -- a complete different situation. Additionally, due to proprietary content, the aircraft needs to be registered and acknowledged.
WineCountryUA is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: