Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus
Reload this Page >

Am I being quoted the wrong amount of miles?

Am I being quoted the wrong amount of miles?

Old Jan 30, 14, 6:48 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 24
Am I being quoted the wrong amount of miles?

OK, so here's the deal. I'm flying KUL-BKK-ORD in a few days and was looking to make a booking today. From my understanding, the rules allow for layovers (under 24 hours), and I tried doing the following booking:



The layover is just a few hours. If I do KUL-ORD directly, it quotes me 70k miles in First, but through other airlines. With the itinerary above, it quotes me 87500 miles - which i believe is incorrect?

Should I call?
DamonA is offline  
Old Jan 30, 14, 6:51 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: London, UK
Programs: BA Gold, UA Nobody, Hilton Gold
Posts: 2,310
That screenshot shows you arriving in BKK at 10pm Sunday and leaving 11:40pm Monday. This is a stopover as 26hrs is longer than 24 hrs and isn't allowed on a one way flight.
alex_b is offline  
Old Jan 30, 14, 6:51 pm
  #3  
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: LHR (sometimes CLE, SFO, BOS, LAX, SEA)
Programs: UA 1K
Posts: 5,806
In the screenshot you have shown here, the connection time is 26 hr, triggering a fare break in BKK.
mherdeg is offline  
Old Jan 30, 14, 6:52 pm
  #4  
Moderator: United Airlines; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SFO
Programs: UA Plat 1.85MM, Hyatt Discoverist, Marriott Plat/LT Gold, Hilton Silver, IHG Gold
Posts: 49,240
Originally Posted by DamonA View Post
.... The layover is just a few hours. .....
looks more like 26 hours to me -- look at the dates.
WineCountryUA is offline  
Old Jan 30, 14, 6:53 pm
  #5  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Posts: 10,582
Where are you trying to layover? I see 25 hours in Bangkok and about 5 hours in Frankfurt. I would bet it is the 25 hours in Bangkok making it more expensive as that exceeds the 24 hours.

Edit: Wow, beat by 3 people in the time it took me to type my answer. At least we all see the same thing

Last edited by Baze; Jan 30, 14 at 7:16 pm
Baze is offline  
Old Jan 30, 14, 7:12 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: MCO, DCA, IAD
Programs: UA GS 1MM, Marriott Platinum Premier, Starwood Platinum, Hilton Diamond
Posts: 2,114
Originally Posted by DamonA View Post
OK, so here's the deal. I'm flying KUL-BKK-ORD in a few days and was looking to make a booking today. From my understanding, the rules allow for layovers (under 24 hours), and I tried doing the following booking:



The layover is just a few hours. If I do KUL-ORD directly, it quotes me 70k miles in First, but through other airlines. With the itinerary above, it quotes me 87500 miles - which i believe is incorrect?

Should I call?
Do you want to have that long of a layover?
If you do then the quote you are getting is correct since it's not a layover per United's rule. Change your KUL-BKK flight to be under the 24 hour layover rule and you'll get the 70,000 miles quote you are looking for.
sammyindc is offline  
Old Jan 30, 14, 7:31 pm
  #7  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Posts: 24
Originally Posted by Baze View Post
Where are you trying to layover? I see 25 hours in Bangkok and about 5 hours in Frankfurt. I would bet it is the 25 hours in Bangkok making it more expensive as that exceeds the 24 hours.

Edit: Wow, beat by 3 people in the time it took me to type my answer. At least we all see the same thing

I updated it to another flight, still quotes me 87500 miles:s

DamonA is offline  
Old Jan 30, 14, 8:27 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: London, UK
Programs: BA Gold, UA Nobody, Hilton Gold
Posts: 2,310
Originally Posted by DamonA View Post
I updated it to another flight, still quotes me 87500 miles:s

Push all the way through to the purchase page, does it still show the incorrect price then?
alex_b is offline  
Old Jan 30, 14, 8:31 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 198
OP I was having similar issues with 23 hour layover. I called and the agent priced it correctly. Typical UA IT failures all over. Let's hope some nuggets exist after tomorrow's upgrades.
llamagatekeeper is offline  
Old Jan 31, 14, 3:20 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: BOS
Programs: MP,MR Silver,Avis
Posts: 848
It's pricing as S Asia to S Asia in Business (17.5K) + separate S Asia to US in First (70K). The note at the bottom (departing from ... arriving in ...) makes it looks like this was entered as a multi-destination route, and it's not piecing it back together into a one-way.
GregMM is offline  
Old Jan 31, 14, 4:07 pm
  #11  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Canada
Programs: UA*1K, BA Silver, Accor Plat, Marriott Gold, Carlson Gold, Hilton Gold
Posts: 20,973
try a 3 legged itinerary vs a 2 legged one - for some reason, the system works better with those

so something like
KUL-BKK
BKK-LAX
LAX-ORD

Make sure to get the dates right.
rankourabu is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: