Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus
Reload this Page >

Have a Simple Question About United Airlines/MileagePlus? Ask Here [2014 Thread]...

Have a Simple Question About United Airlines/MileagePlus? Ask Here [2014 Thread]...

    Hide Wikipost
Old Jan 1, 15, 8:01 am   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: WineCountryUA
Wiki Link
A new thread has been started for 2015; please see: Have a Simple Question About United Airlines/MileagePlus? Ask Here [2015 Thread]

______________________________________

Welcome to this thread to ask your basic, simple questions about United Airlines, its operations, or the MileagePlus program. We know that the airline is complex and weíve created this thread for new and veteran members to ask those basic questions about United Airlines that you think must have an easy answer but just canít find it or arenít sure where to look.

These are the two rules for this thread:
1) Use this thread for a simple, basic question. Moderators may move posts to other threads if the question deserves its own thread.

2) Any member who can post a constructive, patient answer is welcome to reply.

Additional tools for members seeking information about MileagePlus:
United MileagePlus Master Wiki

"New" United Airlines Forum Glossary
Print Wikipost

Old Mar 24, 11, 1:27 pm
  #1  
Senior Moderator/Moderator: Coronavirus, United MileagePlus
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: San Francisco, CA
Programs: UA Plat/2MM [23-yr. 1K, now emeritus] WN-A List; MR LT Titanium; HY Whateverist.
Posts: 12,240
Have a Simple Question About United Airlines/MileagePlus? Ask Here [2014 Thread]...

Welcome to this thread to ask your basic, simple questions about United Airlines, its operations, or the MileagePlus program. We know that the airline is complex and we’ve created this thread for new and veteran members to ask those basic questions about United Airlines that you think must have an easy answer but just can’t find it or aren’t sure where to look.

These are the two rules for this thread:
  1. Use this thread for a simple, basic question. Moderators may move posts to other threads if the question deserves its own thread.

  2. Any member who can post a constructive, patient answer is welcome to reply.

Older posts may be found here:

http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/unite...-ask-here.html

Last edited by FlyinHawaiian; Jan 1, 14 at 10:32 am
Ocn Vw 1K is offline  
Old Dec 31, 13, 11:38 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2
Hello all,

First time posting. Question: 2014 is here and some miles didn't post yet from a recent trip that would have put me over my PQM for the next status. My PQM have just reset from the year change. Is there a grace period or something or did they have to hit before year end?
Thanks in advance!
TokyoBJJ is offline  
Old Jan 1, 14, 12:04 am
  #3  
Moderator: United Airlines; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SFO
Programs: UA Plat 1.85MM, Hyatt Discoverist, Marriott Plat/LT Gold, Hilton Silver, IHG Gold
Posts: 53,577
Welcome to FT!,TokyoBJJ
Originally Posted by TokyoBJJ View Post
..... Question: 2014 is here and some miles didn't post yet from a recent trip that would have put me over my PQM for the next status. My PQM have just reset from the year change. Is there a grace period or something or did they have to hit before year end? ....
yes, miles when posted will credit to the year they were earned. So when they post, your status will be updated.
WineCountryUA is offline  
Old Jan 1, 14, 1:50 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 2
Thank you for the reply, Happy New Year to you!
TokyoBJJ is offline  
Old Jan 1, 14, 8:44 am
  #5  
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Washington DC
Programs: P1K
Posts: 13
Question on aircraft routes

Where can I find out which aircraft are flying which routes on UA, or even code share partners? I am flying to Munich soon and wonder if I can book routing which allows me to fly in a 747. I'm not picky about connections, routing, or some marginal additional cost. If you have recommendations on where to find such information, or opinions on the best large aircraft from the Washington DC are to Europe, please let me know! The more business class seats available, the better chances of my SWU getting honored Thanks in advance
DanielS856 is offline  
Old Jan 1, 14, 9:24 am
  #6  
Moderator: Budget Travel forum & Credit Card Programs, FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: YYJ/YVR/SEA
Programs: UA lifetime MM / *A Gold
Posts: 13,541
Originally Posted by DanielS856 View Post
Where can I find out which aircraft are flying which routes on UA, or even code share partners? I am flying to Munich soon and wonder if I can book routing which allows me to fly in a 747
Well, due to some well documented problems UA was having with 747s, the only 747 flight currently NOT flying from SFO is LAX-Australia.

But, LH is flying 747-800, the new Intercontinental ex IAD IIRC, and you can call UA to have one of your SWUs converted to be used on IAD-FRA, but only certain fares apply and you only clear at the airport.

Oh, and it's called GPU post merger
EmailKid is offline  
Old Jan 1, 14, 10:36 am
  #7  
Moderator: United Airlines; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SFO
Programs: UA Plat 1.85MM, Hyatt Discoverist, Marriott Plat/LT Gold, Hilton Silver, IHG Gold
Posts: 53,577
Originally Posted by EmailKid View Post
Well, due to some well documented problems UA was having with 747s, the only 747 flight currently NOT flying from SFO is LAX-Australia. .....
747 base is SFO but there a few non-SFO 747 flights like NRT-HNL

January schedule of UA widebodies

With OZ flights going to 777s, rumors is ORD will be getting some 747s in the future.
WineCountryUA is offline  
Old Jan 1, 14, 11:22 am
  #8  
Moderator: Budget Travel forum & Credit Card Programs, FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: YYJ/YVR/SEA
Programs: UA lifetime MM / *A Gold
Posts: 13,541
Originally Posted by WineCountryUA View Post
747 base is SFO but there a few non-SFO 747 flights like NRT-HNL
Correct. As is NRT-BKK until 3/29/2014, but I was replying to question about flying to MUC.

Originally Posted by WineCountryUA View Post
With OZ flights going to 777s, rumors is ORD will be getting some 747s in the future.
Correct again. I you looked at schedules (IIRC looked around May or June), schedule reflect UA 747 ex ORD to Europe, but
Originally Posted by DanielS856
I am flying to Munich soon
EmailKid is offline  
Old Jan 1, 14, 1:07 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Washington DC
Programs: P1K
Posts: 13
Thanks All. Very helpful. I was thinking that there might have been some website out there that listed flights and routes by aircraft type. The UA widebody schedule was interesting. I wonder if other Star Alliance airlines have such a list? I'm not actually (I was loose with "soon") flying to MUC until late June, so routing through Chicago may work. I will be heading over the pond to other locations a time or two before the MUC trip and would like to go with the best chance of a GPU being honored. Then again, I may go with a Airbus A340 out of EWR on LH or a 777 out of IAD with a GPU conversion. So many choices . Thanks again
DanielS856 is offline  
Old Jan 1, 14, 1:40 pm
  #10  
Moderator: Budget Travel forum & Credit Card Programs, FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: YYJ/YVR/SEA
Programs: UA lifetime MM / *A Gold
Posts: 13,541
Originally Posted by DanielS856 View Post
would like to go with the best chance of a GPU being honored. Then again, I may go with a Airbus A340 out of EWR
Well, your best bet then would be UA flight that has R class available at time of booking for TATL flight. Your A340 would require a Paper GPU for that specific flight, and it would ONLY clear at airport, if at all @:-)

And of course no upper deck on A340
EmailKid is offline  
Old Jan 1, 14, 4:34 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: NYC
Posts: 290
Is there some kind of trick to getting 45W Macbook Air power adapters to work in Economy seating in properly-equipped planes? On a recent PS flight, my adapter (just the 2-prong portion) kept falling out since the seat cushion interfered with the adapter being flush and secure in the power outlet. On other flights where the seat cushion wasn't an issue, it's been hit or miss, working about half the time. I'm guessing using an extension cord could help for cases where the adapter isn't secure - would anyone have any recommendations on a short 2-prong extension cord?
rmannion is offline  
Old Jan 1, 14, 4:45 pm
  #12  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Posts: 10,582
Originally Posted by rmannion View Post
Is there some kind of trick to getting 45W Macbook Air power adapters to work in Economy seating in properly-equipped planes? On a recent PS flight, my adapter (just the 2-prong portion) kept falling out since the seat cushion interfered with the adapter being flush and secure in the power outlet. On other flights where the seat cushion wasn't an issue, it's been hit or miss, working about half the time. I'm guessing using an extension cord could help for cases where the adapter isn't secure - would anyone have any recommendations on a short 2-prong extension cord?
It sounds like you removed the long cord from the adapter that has 3 prongs and are just using the 2 prong one that goes right on the adapter. An easy solution is to put the long cord with 3 prongs back on then go to any hardware store and by a 3 prong to 2 prong adapter like this.
Baze is offline  
Old Jan 1, 14, 4:50 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Location: Washington DC
Programs: P1K
Posts: 13
Why no upper deck on A340? First only? Ohhh, you mean that there ISN'T an upper deck! LOL
DanielS856 is offline  
Old Jan 1, 14, 4:57 pm
  #14  
Moderator: United Airlines; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: SFO
Programs: UA Plat 1.85MM, Hyatt Discoverist, Marriott Plat/LT Gold, Hilton Silver, IHG Gold
Posts: 53,577
Originally Posted by DanielS856 View Post
Why no upper deck on A340? First only? Ohhh, you mean that there ISN'T an upper deck! LOL
Yeap, you got to go to the A380 to get UD on an Airbus (even then it isn't the same as UD 747)
WineCountryUA is offline  
Old Jan 1, 14, 4:59 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: BOS
Programs: MP,MR Silver,Avis
Posts: 848
Originally Posted by Baze View Post
It sounds like you removed the long cord from the adapter that has 3 prongs and are just using the 2 prong one that goes right on the adapter. An easy solution is to put the long cord with 3 prongs back on then go to any hardware store and by a 3 prong to 2 prong adapter.
I'd just skip the adapter, the 3rd prong should help keep the plug from falling out.
GregMM is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: