Old Oct 15, 13, 8:25 am
FlyerTalk Forums Expert How-Tos and Guides
Last edit by: J.Edward
Originally Posted by UA Insider
Hi everyone,

Weve identified an issue where customers are intentionally manipulating our website to set up award reservations and attempt to ticket with an account that does not have enough miles to complete the ticket. We will not honor these reservations.

Aaron Goldberg
Sr. Manager - Customer Experience Planning
United Airlines
Originally Posted by UA Insider
Hi everyone,

We have a quick update related to the manipulation of united.com to book award tickets with insufficient miles that occurred last month. Specifically, we are closing new MileagePlus accounts that were assumed to be set up with the express purpose of attempting to redeem award tickets without the required number of award miles.

Aaron Goldberg
Sr. Manager - Customer Experience Planning
United Airlines
Print Wikipost

UA: SFO - HI $80 return 23th/31th (Oct)

Old Oct 12, 13, 6:33 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 7
UA: SFO - HI $80 return 23th/31th (Oct)

Logged in to my milage account, started to book award flight - stopped at the page where insufficient mileage was shown.

Opened another browser and started to book a paid flight - reached the page where credit card information was required - refreshed the previous award flight page and then refreshed the paid flight page - paid flight page only had the tax displayed $80 - booked the flight.
michael0023 is offline  
Old Oct 12, 13, 6:34 pm
  #2  
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Location: Oakland, CA
Posts: 1,217
Which airport are you flying to
hamburglar is offline  
Old Oct 12, 13, 6:36 pm
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 7
to HNL
michael0023 is offline  
Old Oct 12, 13, 6:41 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: YYZ
Posts: 6,124
No love here... What's your hardware / software config?
YYZC2 is offline  
Old Oct 12, 13, 6:44 pm
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 7
using firefox - using different tabs for the two bookings.
michael0023 is offline  
Old Oct 12, 13, 6:46 pm
  #6  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: PDX
Programs: AS 75K, BW Plat, Marriott Gold, IHG Plat, Hilton Gold
Posts: 10,336
Originally Posted by michael0023
using firefox - using different tabs for the two bookings.
Did it let u purchase?
PDXPremier is offline  
Old Oct 12, 13, 6:48 pm
  #7  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 7
yes - seems to be happening with other flights too - not just that leg
michael0023 is offline  
Old Oct 12, 13, 6:55 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: YYZ
Posts: 6,124
Wow... I'm getting it too.

Also on Firefox.
YYZC2 is offline  
Old Oct 12, 13, 7:04 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: PBI/FLL/MIA/BOS/NYC/DXB
Programs: Emirates Skywards (Gold) / SPG Gold / Intercontinental Ambassador / AMEX Platinum
Posts: 196
UA: SFO - HI $80 return 23th/31th (Oct)

Yeah but trying booking it.
Doesn't work
sis22 is offline  
Old Oct 12, 13, 7:05 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: D/FW
Programs: DL MM/Silver; UA 1K ; Hilton Gold; Marriott Titanium; Avis Pref+,Hertz PC
Posts: 561
How did you do it? Do you just plug in the two cities and those two dates? Not getting it with IE
DFWFairy is offline  
Old Oct 12, 13, 7:08 pm
  #11  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 7
Lets you book it - you need to go back one page to include the passanger - happening with firefox for some reason
michael0023 is offline  
Old Oct 12, 13, 7:11 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: D/FW
Programs: DL MM/Silver; UA 1K ; Hilton Gold; Marriott Titanium; Avis Pref+,Hertz PC
Posts: 561
Originally Posted by michael0023
Lets you book it - you need to go back one page to include the passanger - happening with firefox for some reason
I'm still getting fares in the $500 range using Firefox
DFWFairy is offline  
Old Oct 12, 13, 7:11 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: PBI/FLL/MIA/BOS/NYC/DXB
Programs: Emirates Skywards (Gold) / SPG Gold / Intercontinental Ambassador / AMEX Platinum
Posts: 196
So go back one page on the regular booking page?

Do you have to choose the same flights?

Last edited by iluv2fly; Oct 12, 13 at 10:20 pm Reason: merge
sis22 is offline  
Old Oct 12, 13, 7:14 pm
  #14  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Posts: 7
once you refresh the award page then the regular booking page, the fare seems to change - had to go back one page on regular booking to add the passanger
michael0023 is offline  
Old Oct 12, 13, 7:14 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: Dec 2001
Location: YYZ
Posts: 6,124
Originally Posted by michael0023
Lets you book it - you need to go back one page to include the passanger - happening with firefox for some reason
Go back at what point?
YYZC2 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread