Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus
Reload this Page >

Can use PremierAccess lane when flying another carrier?

Can use PremierAccess lane when flying another carrier?

Old Aug 3, 13, 9:38 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: TPA
Programs: UA Gold
Posts: 341
Can use PremierAccess lane when flying another carrier?

I'm wondering if anyone knows the policy on using the PremierAccess line at security if you are flying another carrier, but have PremierAccess privilege? JetBlue and UA shared a security checkpoint. My BP was for JetBlue. Could I have shown my PremierAccess card to use the short line? or do line dragons only accept BPs?
FTstudent is offline  
Old Aug 3, 13, 9:55 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Posts: 632
I haven't had to do this recently, but yes, you can show your MP card. The person controlling the entry into the line just wants to make sure you have a boarding pass and that you're elite. Show your MP card clearly. Once you reach the end of the line, where you show your ID, it no longer matters if you have premier access.
flyingnosh is offline  
Old Aug 4, 13, 1:26 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Between EWR & PHL
Programs: UA MileagePlus dirt (former hard-way Silver); AS Mileage Plan MVP; Hilton Honors Silver
Posts: 1,583
I'll go one step further and say that most line minders don't care about the BP, only that you can provide proof of your status. Back when UA and AC were sharing the A1 pier in EWR, I'd use my MP silver card to get into the elite line at security when flying AC, and the maroon morons wouldnt give me a second look. I think I also did the same at the D/E checkpoint in PHL prior to elite reciprocity between UA & CO.
Critic is offline  
Old Aug 4, 13, 1:33 am
  #4  
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: oth (wish I was in HNL)
Programs: UA Gold/GE
Posts: 1,623
It works at PDX if we have to fly Seaport. We show our elite card to get through. Unfortunately no PreCheck for K5
frankmu is offline  
Old Aug 4, 13, 8:31 am
  #5  
formerly known as Tad's Broiled Steaks
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: @BuildingMyBento
Programs: Metro-North Rubbish, Keisei Skinflint, KCR Headphones, Kopaja Platinum
Posts: 5,283
Originally Posted by Critic View Post
I'll go one step further and say that most line minders don't care about the BP, only that you can provide proof of your status. Back when UA and AC were sharing the A1 pier in EWR, I'd use my MP silver card to get into the elite line at security when flying AC, and the maroon morons wouldnt give me a second look. I think I also did the same at the D/E checkpoint in PHL prior to elite reciprocity between UA & CO.
As long as my BP has ***Premier Access*** printed on it (and *G for that matter), I never show my card. Never had a problem before.
BuildingMyBento is offline  
Old Aug 4, 13, 8:43 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: UK
Posts: 561
Originally Posted by BuildingMyBento View Post
As long as my BP has ***Premier Access*** printed on it (and *G for that matter), I never show my card. Never had a problem before.
The OP's situation is different. He doesn't have 'Premier Access' on his BP.
kilo is offline  
Old Aug 4, 13, 8:54 am
  #7  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Lawrence, KS | MCI
Programs: UA*G, Hyatt Globalist, Marriott Plat., NEXUS, Amex, TSA Disparager Unobtanium
Posts: 20,219
I've had no problem using my 1K card to access the DL elite lines @ LGA. Saved at least 30 minutes waiting in line, and skipped the NoS ^
FriendlySkies is offline  
Old Aug 4, 13, 8:59 am
  #8  
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: many - mostly ZRH
Posts: 232
In my experience, the line dragons will accept your Premier Access card, even if its not printed on your BP. I had this issue a couple of times, when LH (or other) didn't manage to print *G (but UAP) on my BP.
Frederik123 is offline  
Old Aug 4, 13, 12:40 pm
  #9  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: FLL/LAX/YYZ/TPE
Programs: CO Platinum 1K, United 1K, SPG LT Platinum, National Executive Elite, Platinum TSA Hater
Posts: 33,918
Originally Posted by FriendlySkies View Post
I've had no problem using my 1K card to access the DL elite lines @ LGA. Saved at least 30 minutes waiting in line, and skipped the NoS ^
I've started buying refundable tickets on DL to get access to Precheck where DL is the only checkpoint (by terminal) with the feature - works great at FLL when flying Air Canada. Saves time and simplifies screening.
bocastephen is offline  
Old Aug 4, 13, 12:44 pm
  #10  
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: SEA, SFO, NYC
Programs: United: Gold, HHonors: Gold, Marriott: Gold, AA, US, AGR
Posts: 395
I usually show my Premier Gold card when going through security at BOS Terminal C and traveling with Jetblue. They always let me use the Premier Access lane.
TakeTheATrain is offline  
Old Aug 4, 13, 2:22 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: EWR
Programs: Free agent flyer, Hyatt Globalist
Posts: 365
Originally Posted by bocastephen View Post
I've started buying refundable tickets on DL to get access to Precheck where DL is the only checkpoint (by terminal) with the feature - works great at FLL when flying Air Canada. Saves time and simplifies screening.
I once did the same to get lounge access w/ my Plat Amex when flying on United. The possibility for a screw up makes me nervous though (accidentally buying a non-refundable ticket or something).
kluever is offline  
Old Aug 4, 13, 2:36 pm
  #12  
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Location: SEA
Programs: UA 1K, HH Diamond, MR Gold, Hertz Prez Circle
Posts: 568
I do it all the time.

Like others have said, present you MP card and sail on through.
Hadrian35 is offline  
Old Aug 8, 13, 10:59 am
  #13  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2013
Location: TPA
Programs: UA Gold
Posts: 341
Thanks for the feedback everyone, and the refundable trick.
FTstudent is offline  
Old Aug 8, 13, 11:25 am
  #14  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Jersey Shore/YYZ
Programs: UA 1K, Marriott Plat, Hilton Diamond, Hertz PC
Posts: 12,407
Originally Posted by FTstudent View Post
Thanks for the feedback everyone, and the refundable trick.
Be careful with the refundable trick - as evidenced by your handle, I imagine you can't afford a single mistake there.
aacharya is online now  
Old Aug 8, 13, 11:55 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Programs: ua Gold, Marriott Gold, Hilton Silver, Hyatt Gold, National Executive, Avis First
Posts: 184
The Line Monitor at IAD specifically told me I had to be flying on the airline of credentials to use it. Not sure how often or closely they actual check.
z28lt1 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: