Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus
Reload this Page >

Significant Fare Differences Between United Site and ITA Matrix

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Jul 7, 2013, 1:47 am
Original Poster

Programs: UA: Premier Gold

First, let me preface by saying that I'm new to FlyerTalk and hope that I'm posting my question in the right location. If not, I do apologize in advance.

I am trying to book a flight on United (or its partners) from SFO to Syracuse , NY leaving Aug 18, returning on Aug 23. I visited ITA Matrix and found a flight (2 - stops - ORD/CLE) for $555 and then proceeded to the United site to match identical flights and book a ticket. To my surprise, the United ticket is $817.

I took some screen shots of both sites but can't seem to figure out just how to include in this tread. Any advice or help would be appreciated. Even understanding why such a big price difference between sites would be helpful.

As an aside, my dates are somewhat flexible in that I can leave SFO on Aug 18 or 19 and can return Aug 23 or 24.

Again, please forgive if I am posting in the wrong location.

Thank you in advance for any replies
Old Jul 7, 2013, 1:49 am

Programs: UA 1k, Hertz Pres, Avis Pres, Marriott Platinum
Are you pricing out a multi-city ticket on United?

Make sure to do it as a multi-city and list the exact routing as listed on ITA.
Old Jul 7, 2013, 1:52 am

Fare basis comes to play

Try to take a look at the fare basis and see they are the same. I can bet they are not.
Old Jul 7, 2013, 1:54 am
Moderator: United Airlines

Programs: UA Plat 1.995MM, Hyatt Discoverist, Marriott Plat/LT Gold, Hilton Silver, IHG Plat
Try the ITA command on Hipmunk and have Hipmunk sent you to united.com.

likely a fare basis issue but it could be out of sync inventory issue.
Old Jul 7, 2013, 4:32 am
In Memoriam

Programs: ua prem exec, Former hilton diamond
Second the hipmunk suggestion.