Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus
Reload this Page >

UA taking "ownership" / "control" of a reservation made by a TA for a ($50) fee?

UA taking "ownership" / "control" of a reservation made by a TA for a ($50) fee?

    Hide Wikipost
Old Jun 25, 20, 2:13 pm   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: WineCountryUA
Wiki Link
UA may charge a $50 fee to "take over" / "take control" of a TA issued ticket to make changes before the day of travel.

Related threads
Unable to change corporate / third party issued reservations via UA.com
Airline won't help because "ticket was issued through a travel agent"
Print Wikipost

Old Jul 1, 13, 3:26 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: SJC
Programs: AAdvantage Platinum, Hyatt GP Diamond, Starwood Gold
Posts: 162
UA taking "ownership" / "control" of a reservation made by a TA for a ($50) fee?

Is it possible to take over 'ownership' of a reservation once it has already been booked by a travel agency and a tick has been issued? I have a ticket issued by a travel agency I no longer work with and I would like to take ownership of the reservation. It's paid for already, I just no longer work with the agency that made it for me.

Does anyone have any tips to on how I could go about this?
paulj2k is offline  
Old Jul 1, 13, 3:43 pm
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: Northern Calif./Eastern Ida.
Programs: Flying whoever is most convenient
Posts: 16,351
i have done this once when i wanted to change my flight and the travel agency was quoting me a much higher price than UA.com. UA charged a $50 fee for them to take control of the ticket and make the change, but the overall cost was still much lower than what the TA was quoting me.
PV_Premier is offline  
Old Jul 1, 13, 4:10 pm
  #3  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jan 2002
Location: Canada
Programs: UA*1K, BA Silver, Accor Plat, Marriott Gold, Carlson Gold, Hilton Gold
Posts: 21,439
Its much easier for the agency to 'release' ownership to the airline.
rankourabu is offline  
Old Jul 1, 13, 4:15 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: MDE
Programs: AA-PLT, HH-GLD, PP
Posts: 1,500
It also depends on what you mean by ownership.

If you have a Mileage Plus number associated with the reservation, you can see the reservation in the "my reservations" section. From there, you should be able to select seats, apply upgrades, etc. Even if you don't have an MP number, I suspect you can get access with just your PNR and last name, though others may know better.

I have to book through my company's travel agency, but once the reservation is created and ticketed, that's the last time I work with them. I don't know if I have ever tried to change an actual flight by myself, but I always do seat selection, upgrades, and check-in through UA.com
coolcoil is offline  
Old Jul 1, 13, 5:01 pm
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: SJC
Programs: AAdvantage Platinum, Hyatt GP Diamond, Starwood Gold
Posts: 162
Originally Posted by ddrost1 View Post
i have done this once when i wanted to change my flight and the travel agency was quoting me a much higher price than UA.com. UA charged a $50 fee for them to take control of the ticket and make the change, but the overall cost was still much lower than what the TA was quoting me.
Yes, well I no longer do business with the travel agency in question and I would prefer that they be completely out of the loop on all my travel, and that 'ownership' comes to me. The ticket is in my United Account of course but I would prefer for the agency to not have any more control on the ticket. So it sounds like I can call United and for $50 take ownership of it.. cool
paulj2k is offline  
Old Jul 1, 13, 6:12 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Programs: UA 1K (1MM), AA P, Marriott PP (LT PP), SPG P (LT P), HH G, and Hertz PC
Posts: 129
Originally Posted by paulj2k View Post
Is it possible to take over 'ownership' of a reservation once it has already been booked by a travel agency and a tick has been issued? I have a ticket issued by a travel agency I no longer work with and I would like to take ownership of the reservation. It's paid for already, I just no longer work with the agency that made it for me.

Does anyone have any tips to on how I could go about this?
I am not sure fully what you mean by take "ownership" but sometimes my travel is booked by another travel agency and does not show up in my profile. I add by going under "Manage Reservations" and at the bottom, I can fill in the Confirmation Number and my Last Name. Once I find the reservation, I can add my MP number which then gives me complete control. The reservation will show up under my profile and I then have the full ability to change seats, flights, etc...
frequentjohn is offline  
Old Nov 14, 13, 1:40 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Oct 2013
Programs: UA *G, HH Diamond, National Executive Elite, Marriott Gold
Posts: 37
New fees?

I was looking at seeing what changes I could make tonight (after I already changed my flight earlier today) as a lowly Gold and I noticed that it wants $50 if I change my flight again. For some reason I think I could do unlimited SDC before with no fee. Is this a new thing? I haven't noticed it until today.

Thanks,
SFOPaul
SFOpaul is offline  
Old Nov 14, 13, 2:16 am
  #8  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: CVG
Programs: UA Silver, AA, DL, Marriott Silver
Posts: 12,055
Originally Posted by SFOpaul View Post
I was looking at seeing what changes I could make tonight (after I already changed my flight earlier today) as a lowly Gold and I noticed that it wants $50 if I change my flight again. For some reason I think I could do unlimited SDC before with no fee. Is this a new thing? I haven't noticed it until today.

Thanks,
SFOPaul
Have you done multiple SDCs before? I admit, I've never changed more than once for SDC, but they would presumably charge a new change fee each time you request an SDC. So if you make changes at two different times, you would pay two SDC fees.

For regular ticket changes (i.e. not SDC), they charge the fee each time they reissue. So if you were to make multiple changes to an itinerary at the same time (say, you change both the outbound and return by a day), you'd only be charged once. But if you change the outbound date this morning, and call back a few hours later to change the return, you'd be charged the fee a second time.
emcampbe is offline  
Old Nov 14, 13, 2:49 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: YYZ
Programs: UA1K MM, Marriott Titanium
Posts: 804
Originally Posted by SFOpaul View Post
I was looking at seeing what changes I could make tonight (after I already changed my flight earlier today) as a lowly Gold and I noticed that it wants $50 if I change my flight again. For some reason I think I could do unlimited SDC before with no fee. Is this a new thing? I haven't noticed it until today.

Thanks,
SFOPaul
Website glitch, just call premier line and agent will do it for you without charge.
gokeeper is offline  
Old Nov 14, 13, 3:15 am
  #10  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: CVG
Programs: UA Silver, AA, DL, Marriott Silver
Posts: 12,055
I apologize - didn't realize you said gold. SDC should be free. Should be able to use it multiple times. Of course, same fare class needs to be available - if not, you do have to pay the fare difference. However, I've never seen the web site or mobile app proactively offer changes to flights unless the same fare class was available - you usually need an agent to do that.

Does sound like a glitch - a call should do it.
emcampbe is offline  
Old Nov 14, 13, 3:49 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Programs: Delta Plat; UA 1MM (former 1K)
Posts: 1,234
Golden Path

I changed today's flight a few hours ago. Existing Reservations - Change Flights would only book me into a higher fare class (U) for a substantial fare difference. Expert Mode wasn't working in this view (UA's code base must be a nightmare), but ExpertFlyer.com easily confirmed that my original fare class was available. I was able to make the change for free via the change flights option as part of the Check-In sequence. (It didn't matter that I was already checked in.)

I finally learned the word for this. When Steve Jobs would demo a buggy prototype (e.g. the first iPhone) he locked into muscle memory the one sequence they were sure wouldn't crash. At Apple they called this the "golden path."
Syzygies is offline  
Old Nov 14, 13, 7:57 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: SNA
Programs: UA 1MM, Global Entry, Avis President's Club
Posts: 269
Originally Posted by SFOpaul View Post
I was looking at seeing what changes I could make tonight (after I already changed my flight earlier today) as a lowly Gold and I noticed that it wants $50 if I change my flight again. For some reason I think I could do unlimited SDC before with no fee. Is this a new thing? I haven't noticed it until today.

Thanks,
SFOPaul
Was your original ticket issued by a corporate TA?

I coincidentally encountered a $50 fee yesterday that was new to me. In changing an itinerary directly through UA that was originally issued by my corporate TA, I was told I had to pay a $50 "transfer fee" for UA to take control of the ticket from the corporate TA.

I think I have done this several times in the past with no such fee. Perhaps this is what the OP is referring to.

Anyone else aware of this fee, and if so, has it been around for very long?
sakaike is offline  
Old Nov 14, 13, 8:22 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5,793
Originally Posted by sakaike View Post
Was your original ticket issued by a corporate TA?

I coincidentally encountered a $50 fee yesterday that was new to me. In changing an itinerary directly through UA that was originally issued by my corporate TA, I was told I had to pay a $50 "transfer fee" for UA to take control of the ticket from the corporate TA.

I think I have done this several times in the past with no such fee. Perhaps this is what the OP is referring to.

Anyone else aware of this fee, and if so, has it been around for very long?
It's been around for awhile -- I don't use a TA but my coworkers will and we pay the fee if we want UA to take over. However, I don't ever remember paying for it for SDC although I rarely take over my coworkers tickets in the first place.
edcho is offline  
Old Nov 14, 13, 8:22 am
  #14  
Original Member
 
Join Date: May 1998
Location: CT/NY
Programs: UA Gold/MM, Marriott LT Titanium, Hyatt Discoverist
Posts: 4,603
Originally Posted by emcampbe View Post
I apologize - didn't realize you said gold. SDC should be free. Should be able to use it multiple times. Of course, same fare class needs to be available - if not, you do have to pay the fare difference. However, I've never seen the web site or mobile app proactively offer changes to flights unless the same fare class was available - you usually need an agent to do that.

Does sound like a glitch - a call should do it.
Fare basis is not relevant to SDC. If a seat is available and it's not oversold, then it's yours.

Originally Posted by sakaike View Post
Was your original ticket issued by a corporate TA?

I coincidentally encountered a $50 fee yesterday that was new to me. In changing an itinerary directly through UA that was originally issued by my corporate TA, I was told I had to pay a $50 "transfer fee" for UA to take control of the ticket from the corporate TA.

I think I have done this several times in the past with no such fee. Perhaps this is what the OP is referring to.

Anyone else aware of this fee, and if so, has it been around for very long?
The corporate "takeover" fee is not applicable for SDC.
PTahCha is offline  
Old Nov 14, 13, 9:05 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Programs: UA 1K
Posts: 8,634
The change flights link no longer works.

Originally Posted by PTahCha View Post
Fare basis is not relevant to SDC. If a seat is available and it's not oversold, then it's yours.
Completely false.
mgcsinc is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: