Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus
Reload this Page >

Strategy/Questions about booking an award travel at the 330-day mark.

Community
Wiki Posts
Search

Search this Thread

Old Jun 29, 2013, 1:01 pm
Original Poster

Programs: United Mileage Plus, BA Executive Club, Global Entry

I am still fairly new to the redeeming miles game and would like to know what to do in our case. We plan to fly roundtrip SFO<-->LHR next summer, outbound 6/14/2014 and inbound 7/5/2014. My question is should I book the outbound as one way first at the 330 days mark and then add the inbound segment later once it is available (assuming there are seats available). Would I be able to add the inbound segment? Or is it okay to just have two one way reservations? Does that matter in terms of fees? What do you do when you redeem your miles at the 330 days mark? Thank you!

BTW, we really enjoyed our Business First class seats for our just finished vacation and thank you for all the advice and suggestion. Now we are hooked!
Old Jun 29, 2013, 1:06 pm

Programs: UA 1k, Hertz Pres, Avis Pres, Marriott Platinum
I always book 2 one way awards or buy 2 one way tickets when ever I can as it makes it easier if you need to change something later.
Old Jun 29, 2013, 1:11 pm
FlyerTalk Evangelist

Programs: UA 1K, Marriott Plat, Hilton Diamond, Hertz PC
Two one-ways is fine, but if you have to change both, you double the fees.

This also does not allow stop-overs.
Old Jun 29, 2013, 1:14 pm
Moderator: United Airlines

Programs: UA Plat 1.995MM, Hyatt Discoverist, Marriott Plat/LT Gold, Hilton Silver, IHG Plat
Originally Posted by quanmama
.... Or is it okay to just have two one way reservations? .....
yes
....Does that matter in terms of fees? .....
this is the potential downside. It could cost 2x to cancel and deposit 2 OWs versus RTs unless you are exempt from change fees.
Old Jun 29, 2013, 1:41 pm
Original Poster