Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus
Reload this Page >

Do I need points in account to see award availability?

Old May 2, 13, 10:22 am
Original Poster

I am new to the mileage thing. I just signed up for the Chase Sapphire and have about 100k UR points. I wanted to see if it is possible to get an upgrade to Business class from a paid Economy seat. I am planning to go from LAX to LHR late June and return late July. I signed up for an United MileagePlus account and did the Advance search on flight with Award upgrade box checked. I could not find any availability at all.

Is it because I don't have any points in my account? Is it because it is too early? Is it because it is too late? I did a search on flight from LAX to LHR and it seems United was supposed to be the airline with the best availability on upgrades. I have not tried BA or VA. I think they both have direct flights also. I don't think 100K is enough for a business award ticket, but is it enough for upgrade for this route? Thanks for any help.
Old May 2, 13, 10:23 am
Suspended

Programs: UA 1K MM; BA Silver; Marriott Plat
You can see availability without being signed in or having miles in your account. It's very common not to see availability in advance, it frequently only opens up (if at all) closer to the departure date. You can waitlist and take your chances if the flights you're looking at don't have availability.
Old May 2, 13, 11:02 am
Original Poster

Would it let me be on a waitlist if I don't have any points? I want to transfer the points when I could use them. Thanks!
Old May 2, 13, 11:03 am

Even if there were availability, the extra cash copayment you will need to be eligible for the upgrade make it a shaky deal.