Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus
Reload this Page >

Missing "eligible for complimentary premier upgrade" icon?

Missing "eligible for complimentary premier upgrade" icon?

    Hide Wikipost
Old Jul 10, 19, 6:25 am   -   Wikipost
Please read: This is a community-maintained wiki post containing the most important information from this thread. You may edit the Wiki once you have been on FT for 90 days and have made 90 posts.
 
Last edit by: WineCountryUA
Wiki Link
Old IT issues appear to have been resolved. May still happen if a segment is not full synced such as after a change.

Some suggestions that have worked in the past are
-- try changing seat assignment
-- try emailing the itin to your self
-- try removing and re-entering FF account ( cannot do online, need to call or do at the airport)
-- remove / re-entering TTN on the reservation
The intent of all of these is to cause a refresh of the reservation, restoring the missing CPU flag

Some other reasons for no CPU flag or eligibility are
-- Two or more non-elites on the PNR
-- Lapchild on PNR, see United Website Not Showing Upgrade Option for Booked Itineraries (with lap child)
-- Basic Economy fare
-- Not an eligible flight - see MileagePlus upgrade regions and eligible fares
Print Wikipost

Old Feb 5, 13, 2:34 pm
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Chicago
Programs: UA Gold, Marriott Gold, Priority Club/Intercontinental Platinum Ambassador
Posts: 68
Missing "eligible for complimentary premier upgrade" icon?

I have a handful of upcoming trips and just noticed that around half of them have one leg missing the "eligible for complimentary premier upgrade" icon -- and the icon was there previously. These are all U.S. flights so there's no reason they shouldn't be there, and when I called United to ask about it, they said no one else has had that issue and that I should be on the upgrade lists as I normally would even though it's not there. Has anyone else experienced this today or recently? I know there have been other posts that say the icon is somewhat meaningless, but I was curious and found it rather odd.
kengstrom is offline  
Old Feb 5, 13, 2:35 pm
  #2  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Jersey Shore/YYZ
Programs: UA 1K, Marriott Plat, Hilton Diamond, Hertz PC
Posts: 12,441
Are you flying to or from JFK or HNL?
aacharya is offline  
Old Feb 5, 13, 2:36 pm
  #3  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Location: Chicago
Programs: UA Gold, Marriott Gold, Priority Club/Intercontinental Platinum Ambassador
Posts: 68
Nope. MIA, BOS, LAX and some others..
kengstrom is offline  
Old Feb 5, 13, 2:39 pm
  #4  
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: New York
Programs: UA GS, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Gold
Posts: 2,297
Originally Posted by kengstrom View Post
I have a handful of upcoming trips and just noticed that around half of them have one leg missing the "eligible for complimentary premier upgrade" icon -- and the icon was there previously. These are all U.S. flights so there's no reason they shouldn't be there, and when I called United to ask about it, they said no one else has had that issue and that I should be on the upgrade lists as I normally would even though it's not there. Has anyone else experienced this today or recently? I know there have been other posts that say the icon is somewhat meaningless, but I was curious and found it rather odd.
I just checked and some of mine are also missing. Looks like a glitch that hopefully doesn't mean anything.

And funny cause I just started a thread yesterday asking if this arrow was accurate. Doh.

Originally Posted by villox View Post
I just checked and some of mine are also missing. Looks like a glitch that hopefully doesn't mean anything.

And funny cause I just started a thread yesterday asking if this arrow was accurate. Doh.
Aaaand just like that the one that was missing came back.

Last edited by iluv2fly; Feb 5, 13 at 4:43 pm Reason: merge
villox is offline  
Old Feb 5, 13, 2:42 pm
  #5  
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: gggrrrovvveee (ORD)
Programs: UA silver, Marriott Gold, Hilton Gold
Posts: 6,034
I have one for later this week that is missing. The ones for next week are there.
gobluetwo is offline  
Old Feb 5, 13, 2:47 pm
  #6  
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: US
Programs: AA/UA/DL
Posts: 2,652
I have a 3 segments domestic booking and one of the segment doesn't show the
CPU eligible sign as well. I called and the agent said everything is fine.
pigx5 is offline  
Old Feb 5, 13, 5:48 pm
  #7  
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: DFW from PDX - UA 1K 2MM,Lifetime HHonnors Diamond, Bonvoy AMB/LT Tit, National Exec Elite, Hertz PC
Posts: 457
CPU Upgrade Arrows now Missing?

I just booked 4 tickets. Some tickets have no upgrade arrow on routes with F, others have 1 segment and the rest blank.

All domestic with F booked in Q, W , H , U.

Broken?

Today also I checked in on an upgraded flight in R and my boarding pass shows United Economy 2B, when I go to change my seat it show the FC cabin as Economy. Go figure. A320 and 739.
dshafiee is offline  
Old Feb 5, 13, 6:07 pm
  #8  
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 5,797
Seems like an issue that started today:

http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/unite...hlight=upgrade
edcho is offline  
Old Feb 5, 13, 6:28 pm
  #9  
 
Join Date: Oct 2012
Location: SNA
Programs: UA Gold, Marriott Gold
Posts: 239
Gotta love that IT department.
Have 5 eligible UA flights booked. Last night all had the arrow. Tonight, 2 of them show it.
mrjay is offline  
Old Feb 5, 13, 6:32 pm
  #10  
Moderator: Smoking Lounge; FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: SFO, CDG, PBI
Programs: Lifetime (for now) Gold MM, HH Gold, Giving Tootsie Pops to UA employees, & a retired hockey goalie
Posts: 28,580
Chalk it up to another PSS snafu glitch as all of mine are missing as well
goalie is offline  
Old Feb 5, 13, 7:08 pm
  #11  
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Location: PDX
Programs: AS MVPG, BW Plat, Marriott Gold, IHG Plat, Hilton Gold
Posts: 8,660
It might have had something to do with all the schedule changes last weekend...two of my arrows disappeared as well....maybe we'll get our arrows back next week (from Cupid of course ).
PDXPremier is offline  
Old Feb 5, 13, 7:11 pm
  #12  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: BOS/ORH
Programs: AS MVPG
Posts: 18,084
I have a 5 segment trip this coming weekend. All segments had a ton of F and R space available. They have been clearing in a weird order. Sometimes when i check the blue arrow is there and sometimes it isn't.
CDKing is offline  
Old Feb 5, 13, 7:46 pm
  #13  
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: San Francisco Bay Area
Posts: 210
Mine are missing as well. They were there a couple of days ago.
syzygy is offline  
Old Feb 5, 13, 8:30 pm
  #14  
 
Join Date: Jan 2013
Location: SNA/LAX
Programs: UA Gold, Star Alliance Gold, Asia Miles, Hyatt Platinum, Hilton HHonors Gold, Emerald Club.
Posts: 258
Just checked my account... Funny... I have 2 arrows that shouldn't be there: NRT --> HKG and HKG --> NRT. I thought CPU's are not available on int'l flights. Not that it matters -- as a silver I'm usually around number 45 on the upgrade list anyways.
mathgeek1978 is offline  
Old Feb 5, 13, 8:48 pm
  #15  
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: SEA
Programs: UA Plat (former 1K)
Posts: 296
Originally Posted by mathgeek1978 View Post
Just checked my account... Funny... I have 2 arrows that shouldn't be there: --> and --> . I thought 's are not available on int'l flights. Not that it matters -- as a silver I'm usually around number 45 on the upgrade list anyways.
CPU is avail on intra-asia except NRT-SIN, NRT-BKK
(also not on HNL-GUM, though that's not intra-asia)
poverty.jet.set is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: