Go Back  FlyerTalk Forums > Miles&Points > Airlines and Mileage Programs > United Airlines | MileagePlus
Reload this Page >

Consolidated CDG connection time/logistics/lounge - UA returned Jan 2023 to Term 1

Old Aug 16, 21, 10:40 am
FlyerTalk Forums Expert How-Tos and Guides
Last edit by: WineCountryUA
Print Wikipost

Consolidated CDG connection time/logistics/lounge - UA returned Jan 2023 to Term 1

Old Mar 5, 17, 10:01 am
  #196  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Bay Area
Programs: DL SM, UA MP.
Posts: 12,729
Ah thanks for the advice.

Do they recommend 2-hour advance check-in for intra-Europe flight even if it's technically an international flight?
wco81 is offline  
Old Mar 5, 17, 12:18 pm
  #197  
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Programs: UA 1K, BA Gold
Posts: 2,007
The Star Alliance lounge at T1 is much better than the iCare one. The LH lounges are after security at the LH satellite gates, so unless you are flying out of one of those gates, not accessible. What T1 needs is an arrivals lounge.
Artpen100 is offline  
Old Mar 5, 17, 12:20 pm
  #198  
Suspended
 
Join Date: Oct 2004
Location: Bay Area
Programs: DL SM, UA MP.
Posts: 12,729
I will be flying LH to FRA next month.

May not have a lot of time for a lounge, but presumably the LH flight will board from one of those gates?
wco81 is offline  
Old Mar 6, 17, 1:00 am
  #199  
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Francisco/Sydney
Programs: UA 1K/MM, Hilton Diamond, Marriott Something, IHG Gold, Hertz PC, Avis PC
Posts: 7,745
Originally Posted by wco81
I will be flying LH to FRA next month.

May not have a lot of time for a lounge, but presumably the LH flight will board from one of those gates?
The flight will board from one of the 60 gates. The LH lounge is located right next to these gates. You go through security right before entering the gates area, so the walk from the lounge to the gate is no more than about 1 minute, probably less depending on which gate.
docbert is offline  
Old Jun 7, 17, 1:44 pm
  #200  
 
Join Date: Jun 2017
Posts: 2
UA to CDG and then KLM to AMS - Connection time worries

Hello,

First time poster. Great forum!

Family of 5 flying UA from NJ to Paris and then catching a flight on KLM. We land, if all goes as planned, at 10:55 in Paris. UAL is terminal 1. KLM flight is at 14:30. And it apparently departs from Terminal 2F.

I made the flight arrangements and am so, so very worried that we will not have enough time to go through immigration and then head over to catch flight. Any thoughts and suggestions?

TIA,
cfonline
cfonline2010 is offline  
Old Jun 7, 17, 2:03 pm
  #201  
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: Brussels
Programs: DL Gold / Accor Gold
Posts: 102
Wait,

With this time (3.30hrs) you can take a train and arrive in AMS

Unlike US immigration, the EU is quite simple and fast, even in Paris (but, for sure, it's not a good time to stop on the free-shop).

Have a safe trip.
pmichelazzo is offline  
Old Jun 7, 17, 2:05 pm
  #202  
 
Join Date: Dec 2015
Location: STL
Programs: United Global Services
Posts: 46
i think you will be fine. I recently went from Chicago to Brussels and had just 50 mins to make connection to Frankfurt. Ended up waiting to board for 20 mins. Not sure about Paris (especially now a days with the heightened security) but most airports have a different immigration for connections which is usually a lot faster. If i were you i would be more worried about where the lounge is Let us know how it goes when you have all the extra time on your hands in Paris !!!
gopony is offline  
Old Jun 7, 17, 2:13 pm
  #203  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Programs: DL 1 million, AA 1 mil, HH lapsed Diamond, Marriott Plat
Posts: 28,189
Do you have a single ticket, so UA will check your bag thru to AMS? If not, you need time to collect your bag at CDG and present it for recheck at KLM. Still, 3 1/2 hours should be adequate.
3Cforme is offline  
Old Jun 7, 17, 2:31 pm
  #204  
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Woodside, CA, USA
Programs: United Platinum
Posts: 515
You'll be fine. You can stay airside, and there's a shuttle bus airside between terminals. You should have plenty of time for lunch.
bpratt is offline  
Old Jun 7, 17, 2:35 pm
  #205  
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Los Angeles, CA, USA
Programs: United, Delta, AA, southwest
Posts: 150
Last month I flew into CDG on United and had to collect my bag and take the transfer to Air France to continue to Munich. I had allowed 4 hours just in case. I ended up having 2:30 hours to kill. The process was very fast.

I think you will have plenty of time.
tapeguy is offline  
Old Jun 7, 17, 2:35 pm
  #206  
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: San Francisco
Programs: 1K 2.2MM
Posts: 2,296
You should be fine unless you hit a big flight delay. I just did UA to easyjet at cdg in an hour. That was with the fact that I was solo and know cdg very well. But still, don't stress over it.
1k-all-the-way is online now  
Old Jun 8, 17, 6:09 am
  #207  
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: France
Programs: UA 1K, 1MM
Posts: 452
My two words : no worries!
grenouille is offline  
Old Jun 8, 17, 6:47 am
  #208  
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Programs: UA 1K, BA Gold
Posts: 2,007
Originally Posted by 1k-all-the-way
You should be fine unless you hit a big flight delay. I just did UA to easyjet at cdg in an hour. That was with the fact that I was solo and know cdg very well. But still, don't stress over it.
I would agree, even though since these are not in the same alliance, so you will have to get and recheck bags and go from terminal 1 to 2F, so there will be a lot of waiting and walking and shuttling and lines, and you definitely want to know where you are going - it is not an intuitive airport. But 3 and a half hours should be sufficient - if your UA flight is on time.

As others have noted, I would not have flown CDG to AMS, but get on the Thalys to AMS. Both airports have train stations in them. In fact, that is what I did in reverse just a couple of months ago when the tickets to AMS were much cheaper than to CDG. And that would be my plan B if the flight is delayed. There is a Thalys app you can put on your phone for info on next trains.
Artpen100 is offline  
Old Jun 8, 17, 7:55 am
  #209  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Programs: AA
Posts: 13,618
Originally Posted by Artpen100
I would agree, even though since these are not in the same alliance, so you will have to get and recheck bags.
Just because they are a different alliance doesn't necessarily mean the OP will have to reclaim and check bags. If it's all one ticket, then UA should be able to tag the bags all the way through.
wrp96 is online now  
Old Jun 8, 17, 10:07 am
  #210  
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Programs: UA 1K, BA Gold
Posts: 2,007
I was not aware you could do that if you can get it on one ticket (through priceline or another online or other travel agency, presumably), but that is in part because I quit buying tickets through OTAs years ago because if you want to see how things can really go wrong, have an IRROPs on a single ticket with airlines that don't talk to each other.
Artpen100 is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread