Why Did My CPU (Upgrade) Not Clear?

Old Jan 17, 13, 2:53 am
  #1  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Programs: UA 1K , SPG Platinum , Hyatt Diamond , Marriot Gold , BW Diamond , Hertz PC
Posts: 63
Unhappy Why Did My CPU (Upgrade) Not Clear?

I have a flight coming up on Sunday from ORD to DEN. I was expecting CPU to clear by now as I am a 1K and its past 96 hour mark and there are 9 seats available for upgrade. On the upgrade it says "Upgrade Requested". Also this is my first trip this year.

Is something wrong with United or I am not eligible?
dumdum is offline  
Old Jan 17, 13, 3:21 am
  #2  
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: SJC/SFO
Programs: SPG Plat
Posts: 1,010
Originally Posted by dumdum View Post
Is something wrong with United.....?
Hmmm, that's a loaded question if I ever heard one

You may want to take a little time and check out this thread for an answer:
http://www.flyertalk.com/forum/unite...-upgrades.html
AZjohns is offline  
Old Jan 17, 13, 4:11 am
  #3  
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Location: WAS
Programs: UA 1K MM | Marriott LTT | National Car EE
Posts: 689
R availability or seat map availability does not mean that they will release seats for CPU. rev / inventory management will release when they think they can't sell the inventory.

if you are seeing "UG Requested" you're in the queue. no need for you to do anything else.
eleeut is offline  
Old Jan 17, 13, 4:59 am
  #4  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: SJC, SFO, YYC
Programs: AA-EXP, AA-0.41MM, UA-Gold, Ex UA-1K (2006 thru 2015), PMUA-0.95MM, COUA-1.5MM-lite, AF-Silver
Posts: 13,437
Hub to hub CPUs on a Sunday are difficult to clear even for a 1K. As others have noted, the selling of upgrades for cash does not help.

Also just because there are 9 unassigned seats or 9 seats of F and or A fare inventory left is not an indication of how many unsold seats there are. UA can and will over sell F.
mre5765 is offline  
Old Jan 17, 13, 5:56 am
  #5  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Programs: UA 1K , SPG Platinum , Hyatt Diamond , Marriot Gold , BW Diamond , Hertz PC
Posts: 63
Why CPU does not clear

They are showing 9 available for RPU. I had multiple experiences with such upgrades clearing but I dont know much about how they do it.
dumdum is offline  
Old Jan 17, 13, 6:04 am
  #6  
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Midwest
Programs: Lifetime Platinum
Posts: 261
I have an afternoon flight next Friday from ORD to BOS. I applied RPU over a month ago and am still waitlisted, and I'm Global Services. First class cabin shows only 3 seats assigned out of 16. I'm sure they'll release a seat to me by flight time, but in my experience this is quite abnormal.
Chevelter is offline  
Old Jan 17, 13, 7:09 am
  #7  
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Montrose, CO
Programs: United Gold MM, Marriott LTPP
Posts: 523
I am on a flight in 8 hours with 2 free seats on the seat map. i am top of the list but not yet upgraded. its just that those seats are not yet available for CPU's. Nothing new there.
AirMiles2001 is offline  
Old Jan 17, 13, 7:13 am
  #8  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Location: SJC, SFO, YYC
Programs: AA-EXP, AA-0.41MM, UA-Gold, Ex UA-1K (2006 thru 2015), PMUA-0.95MM, COUA-1.5MM-lite, AF-Silver
Posts: 13,437
Originally Posted by dumdum View Post
They are showing 9 available for RPU. I had multiple experiences with such upgrades clearing but I dont know much about how they do it.
In that case it went to R9 after 96 hours or it is yet another SHARES bug. If you are still not cleared at 72 hours, call.
mre5765 is offline  
Old Jan 17, 13, 7:22 am
  #9  
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2,933
Originally Posted by mre5765 View Post
In that case it went to R9 after 96 hours or it is yet another SHARES bug. If you are still not cleared at 72 hours, call.

"R" inventory DOES NOT get anyone a "CPU"!
This has been explained many, many times.
The OP needs to wait for the sweep.

Calling may get something done, but attempting to trump other on the list only pisses off res agents when they continually receive these calls, and in fact for a while they eliminated the availability to even see "R" inventory because of this.
LilAbner is offline  
Old Jan 17, 13, 7:52 am
  #10  
Original Poster
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Programs: UA 1K , SPG Platinum , Hyatt Diamond , Marriot Gold , BW Diamond , Hertz PC
Posts: 63
Originally Posted by LilAbner View Post
"R" inventory DOES NOT get anyone a "CPU"!
This has been explained many, many times.
The OP needs to wait for the sweep.

Calling may get something done, but attempting to trump other on the list only pisses off res agents when they continually receive these calls, and in fact for a while they eliminated the availability to even see "R" inventory because of this.
I was just going by previous experience where the upgrades would clear around T-96 for me when there were around 9 RPU seats available. I thought I knew how these work I guess I am left clueless
dumdum is offline  
Old Jan 17, 13, 7:58 am
  #11  
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Programs: UA 1K
Posts: 355
They will wait till the very last minute to squeeze revenue from the seats, and only then release the seats. Welcome to the new United.
alexperi is offline  
Old Jan 17, 13, 7:58 am
  #12  
 
Join Date: May 2011
Programs: UA GS 1.75M lifetime
Posts: 1,030
Originally Posted by dumdum View Post
I was just going by previous experience where the upgrades would clear around T-96 for me when there were around 9 RPU seats available. I thought I knew how these work I guess I am left clueless
Same here. I can't remember the last time I got one at T-96. My experience has been seeing plenty of open F seats at t-96 and then watching them dwindle to Zero by boarding. I usually sit at #1-5 on the list and watch the seats evaporate. I guess there are a ton of people taking them up on the buy-up offers.
limey1K is offline  
Old Jan 17, 13, 8:34 am
  #13  
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Posts: 2,933
Originally Posted by alexperi View Post
They will wait till the very last minute to squeeze revenue from the seats, and only then release the seats. Welcome to the new United.
Can you blame them??? After all they are kind-a in business to make money & not give away the farm!
LilAbner is offline  
Old Jan 17, 13, 8:36 am
  #14  
FlyerTalk Evangelist
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: LGA/JFK/EWR
Programs: UA 1K1.5MM, Hyatt Globalist, abandoned Marriott LTT (RIP SPG), Hertz PC
Posts: 20,406
Originally Posted by LilAbner View Post
"R" inventory DOES NOT get anyone a "CPU"!
This has been explained many, many times.
The OP needs to wait for the sweep.

Calling may get something done, but attempting to trump other on the list only pisses off res agents when they continually receive these calls, and in fact for a while they eliminated the availability to even see "R" inventory because of this.
Shannon also explained if R>2 and CPUs aren't processing at an UG window, there's likely an out of sync res screwing everything up.

Call and see what happens. It's a broken system.
UA-NYC is offline  
Old Jan 17, 13, 8:46 am
  #15  
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: SF Bay Area
Programs: None - previously UA
Posts: 3,528
Originally Posted by UA-NYC View Post
Shannon also explained if R>2 and CPUs aren't processing at an UG window, there's likely an out of sync res screwing everything up.

Call and see what happens. It's a broken system.
Is this a fact? Can anyone point to the post, I see R>2 many times inside the UG window.
escapefromphl is offline  

Thread Tools
Search this Thread
Search Engine: